Skip to content

Colleges › Florida › South University-Tampa

South University-Tampa

South University-Tampa reports 388 undergraduates in Tampa, FL. Its federal reporting group is labeled South University.

Check the campus and reporting scope

South University-Tampa · Tampa, Florida · Federal institution ID (UNITID): 449898.

Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (South University).

Shared outcomes cannot rank campuses. Reporting-group definitions.

Compare Tampa, FL with Royal Palm Beach, FL. Other profile: South University-West Palm Beach · Royal Palm Beach, FL (UNITID: 133465).

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$23,538
family income
under $30k
$27,919
$30–48k
$28,071
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only three of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at South University-Tampa — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$20,4342023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$15k$20k$25k$30k200820232008: $16,0172009: $22,2742010: $30,8292011: $24,3852012: $22,7302013: $23,1682014: $23,2212015: $23,5712016: $24,7662017: $20,3942018: $15,6762019: $21,6232020: $20,7642021: $22,1462022: $24,2802023: $20,434$20,434
$15k$20k$25k$30k200820232008: $16,0172009: $22,2742010: $30,8292011: $24,3852012: $22,7302013: $23,1682014: $23,2212015: $23,5712016: $24,7662017: $20,3942018: $15,6762019: $21,6232020: $20,7642021: $22,1462022: $24,2802023: $20,434$20,434

Average net price at South University-Tampa rose from $16,017 (2008) to $20,434 (2023).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$16,017
2009$22,274
2010$30,829
2011$24,385
2012$22,730
2013$23,168
2014$23,221
2015$23,571
2016$24,766
2017$20,394
2018$15,676
2019$21,623
2020$20,764
2021$22,146
2022$24,280
2023$20,434
IPEDS 16 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$30,4142024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$25k$30k$35k200920242009: $22,2302010: $27,2772011: $34,1352012: $28,6222013: $28,6392014: $27,6022015: $28,9602016: $29,9222017: $28,5052018: $27,0202019: $24,9822020: $28,3972021: $29,1582022: $29,8122023: $33,0162024: $30,414$30,414
$25k$30k$35k200920242009: $22,2302010: $27,2772011: $34,1352012: $28,6222013: $28,6392014: $27,6022015: $28,9602016: $29,9222017: $28,5052018: $27,0202019: $24,9822020: $28,3972021: $29,1582022: $29,8122023: $33,0162024: $30,414$30,414

Total cost at South University-Tampa rose from $22,230 (2009) to $30,414 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$22,230
2010$27,277
2011$34,135
2012$28,622
2013$28,639
2014$27,602
2015$28,960
2016$29,922
2017$28,505
2018$27,020
2019$24,982
2020$28,397
2021$29,158
2022$29,812
2023$33,016
2024$30,414
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$17k$17k$18k$18k200720232007: $16,6702008: $17,3802013: $16,3602014: $16,3602015: $16,7612016: $17,3302017: $17,0142018: $17,0142019: $17,0142020: $17,0142021: $17,0142022: $17,0142023: $18,238$18,238
$17k$18k200720232007: $16,6702008: $17,3802013: $16,3602014: $16,3602015: $16,7612016: $17,3302017: $17,0142018: $17,0142019: $17,0142020: $17,0142021: $17,0142022: $17,0142023: $18,238$18,238

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2007$16,670
2008$17,380
2013$16,360
2014$16,360
2015$16,761
2016$17,330
2017$17,014
2018$17,014
2019$17,014
2020$17,014
2021$17,014
2022$17,014
2023$18,238
IPEDS Published price 2007–08 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

South University-Tampa reports published tuition of $18,145 in this record. South University-Tampa's $18,145 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

South University-Tampa reports 388 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

23.3% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at South University-Tampa within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
23.3%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

5%10%15%20%25%entered 2007entered 2018entered 2007: 4.2%entered 2008: 14.3%entered 2009: 14.3%entered 2010: 12.2%entered 2011: 21.4%entered 2012: 23.5%entered 2013: 18.8%entered 2014: 13%entered 2015: 20%entered 2016: 11.8%entered 2017: 4.5%entered 2018: 23.3%23.3%
10%20%entered 2007entered 2018entered 2007: 4.2%entered 2008: 14.3%entered 2009: 14.3%entered 2010: 12.2%entered 2011: 21.4%entered 2012: 23.5%entered 2013: 18.8%entered 2014: 13%entered 2015: 20%entered 2016: 11.8%entered 2017: 4.5%entered 2018: 23.3%23.3%

The six-year graduation rate at South University-Tampa rose from 4.2% (entered 2007) to 23.3% (entered 2018).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
2007 cohort4.2%
2008 cohort14.3%
2009 cohort14.3%
2010 cohort12.2%
2011 cohort21.4%
2012 cohort23.5%
2013 cohort18.8%
2014 cohort13%
2015 cohort20%
2016 cohort11.8%
2017 cohort4.5%
2018 cohort23.3%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 2007–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$10k$20kLeft school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $18,739Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $21,167Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $23,861Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $24,627Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $25,720Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $24,667Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $24,667Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $25,084Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $25,166Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $25,379Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $26,123$26,123 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $5,001Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $6,334Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $4,934Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $7,000Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $9,500$9,500 left
$10k$20kLeft school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $18,739Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $21,167Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $23,861Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $24,627Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $25,720Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $24,667Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $24,667Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $25,084Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $25,166Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $25,379Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $26,123$26,123 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $5,001Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $6,334Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $4,934Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $7,000Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $9,500$9,500 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (South University).

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$18,739$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$21,167$5,001
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$23,861$6,334
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$24,627$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$25,000$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$25,720$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$25,000$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$24,667$4,934
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$24,667$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$25,000$7,000
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$25,084$9,500
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$25,166$9,500
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$25,379$9,500
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$26,123$9,500
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$34,115
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$32,897
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$34,421
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years. Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (South University).

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

South University-Tampa reported open admission for Fall 2024. No selective rate is shown; check South University-Tampa's current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

388Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

300400500600200720242007: 2972008: 4262009: 5282010: 6162011: 6492012: 6102013: 6542014: 5932015: 5852016: 5082017: 5432018: 5412019: 5352020: 5482021: 4912022: 4212023: 3902024: 388388
400600200720242007: 2972008: 4262009: 5282010: 6162011: 6492012: 6102013: 6542014: 5932015: 5852016: 5082017: 5432018: 5412019: 5352020: 5482021: 4912022: 4212023: 3902024: 388388

Undergraduate enrollment at South University-Tampa rose from 297 (Fall 2007) to 388 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 2007297
Fall 2008426
Fall 2009528
Fall 2010616
Fall 2011649
Fall 2012610
Fall 2013654
Fall 2014593
Fall 2015585
Fall 2016508
Fall 2017543
Fall 2018541
Fall 2019535
Fall 2020548
Fall 2021491
Fall 2022421
Fall 2023390
Fall 2024388
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2007–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

50%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

25%50%75%100%200620232006: 82%2007: 100%2008: 100%2009: 100%2010: 44%2011: 27%2012: 80%2013: 83%2014: 58%2015: 40%2016: 80%2017: 14%2018: 38%2019: 50%2020: 33%2021: 33%2022: 11%2023: 50%50%
50%100%200620232006: 82%2007: 100%2008: 100%2009: 100%2010: 44%2011: 27%2012: 80%2013: 83%2014: 58%2015: 40%2016: 80%2017: 14%2018: 38%2019: 50%2020: 33%2021: 33%2022: 11%2023: 50%50%

First-year retention at South University-Tampa fell from 82% (Fall 2006) to 50% (Fall 2023).

South University-Tampa's first-year cohorts run about 2 students, so one or two moves South University-Tampa's line by whole percentage points.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2006 cohort82%
Fall 2007 cohort100%
Fall 2008 cohort100%
Fall 2009 cohort100%
Fall 2010 cohort44%
Fall 2011 cohort27%
Fall 2012 cohort80%
Fall 2013 cohort83%
Fall 2014 cohort58%
Fall 2015 cohort40%
Fall 2016 cohort80%
Fall 2017 cohort14%
Fall 2018 cohort38%
Fall 2019 cohort50%
Fall 2020 cohort33%
Fall 2021 cohort33%
Fall 2022 cohort11%
Fall 2023 cohort50%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2006–2023
More about South University-Tampa

Faculty pay at South University-Tampa averages $94,596 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes South University-Tampa as a primarily nonresidential campus — most of its 388 undergraduates live off campus, and 50% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

In Tampa, FL, South University-Tampa enrolls 388 students. This institution reported open admission in Fall 2024; its policy is not inferred for other campuses in the South University reporting group.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How South University-Tampa compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

South University-Tampa$18,145
Florida median$19,975
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

South University-Tampa's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (South University).

South University reporting group (shared)$34,421
Florida median$48,082
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
South University-Tampa, Florida and national reference values
Metric & basisSouth University-TampaFlorida medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$18,145$19,975$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$34,421Shared group value$48,082$53,781

Published earnings by bachelor's field of study

For South University-Tampa, these are federal subject groups (CIP), not departments. Median is the middle annual income.

South University-Tampa federal-aid recipients · graduated 2017–18 or 2018–19 · income measured 2022 or 2023 · inflation-adjusted to 2024 dollars. Definitions and limits.

View 7 fields & earnings
Bachelor's field of study (CIP category)Median earnings, 4 yrs after completion
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$91,363
Information Science/Studies$58,915
Business Administration, Management and Operations$53,445
Health and Medical Administrative Services$46,885
Criminal Justice and Corrections$46,322
Public Health$45,993
Psychology, General$39,694

These 7 fields listed for South University-Tampa measure earnings after completion. The $34,421 institution-level snapshot above measures earnings after entry; it is not the same cohort or a total for these fields. Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (South University).

Frequently asked questions

How much does South University-Tampa cost?

At South University-Tampa, tuition is $18,145. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does South University-Tampa report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $34,421. Major figures measure four years after completion. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Florida

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Field-of-study cohort dates are shown with the table. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →