Skip to content

Colleges › Texas › Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service

Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service

Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service is a private campus in Houston proper — federal locale codes class it as urban.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$42,862
family income
under $30k
$43,890
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only two of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$44,0472023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$20k$30k$40k200820232008: $13,9712009: $26,6452010: $23,4312011: $26,2442012: $25,1632013: $21,7802014: $21,6832015: $22,5852016: $22,4182017: $25,8392018: $26,7672019: $30,1592020: $33,2992021: $33,9822022: $42,9382023: $44,047$44,047
$20k$30k$40k200820232008: $13,9712009: $26,6452010: $23,4312011: $26,2442012: $25,1632013: $21,7802014: $21,6832015: $22,5852016: $22,4182017: $25,8392018: $26,7672019: $30,1592020: $33,2992021: $33,9822022: $42,9382023: $44,047$44,047

Average net price at Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service rose from $13,971 (2008) to $44,047 (2023).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$13,971
2009$26,645
2010$23,431
2011$26,244
2012$25,163
2013$21,780
2014$21,683
2015$22,585
2016$22,418
2017$25,839
2018$26,767
2019$30,159
2020$33,299
2021$33,982
2022$42,938
2023$44,047
IPEDS 16 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$45,2442024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$20k$30k$40k200920242009: $17,4922010: $28,5122011: $27,1832012: $28,7782013: $28,9292014: $26,6622015: $26,6092016: $27,4022017: $27,8372018: $29,4502019: $28,5772020: $31,5392021: $34,3222022: $35,2302023: $43,8902024: $45,244$45,244
$20k$30k$40k200920242009: $17,4922010: $28,5122011: $27,1832012: $28,7782013: $28,9292014: $26,6622015: $26,6092016: $27,4022017: $27,8372018: $29,4502019: $28,5772020: $31,5392021: $34,3222022: $35,2302023: $43,8902024: $45,244$45,244

Total cost at Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service rose from $17,492 (2009) to $45,244 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$17,492
2010$28,512
2011$27,183
2012$28,778
2013$28,929
2014$26,662
2015$26,609
2016$27,402
2017$27,837
2018$29,450
2019$28,577
2020$31,539
2021$34,322
2022$35,230
2023$43,890
2024$45,244
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$8k$10k$13k$15k200120232001: $6,5002002: $6,5002003: $7,6202004: $7,6202005: $7,6202006: $7,6202007: $8,4202008: $8,4202013: $10,9042014: $10,9042015: $12,4952016: $12,4952017: $12,4952018: $13,3632019: $13,3632020: $13,3632021: $13,3632022: $15,3132023: $15,313$15,313
$10k$15k200120232001: $6,5002002: $6,5002003: $7,6202004: $7,6202005: $7,6202006: $7,6202007: $8,4202008: $8,4202013: $10,9042014: $10,9042015: $12,4952016: $12,4952017: $12,4952018: $13,3632019: $13,3632020: $13,3632021: $13,3632022: $15,3132023: $15,313$15,313

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2001$6,500
2002$6,500
2003$7,620
2004$7,620
2005$7,620
2006$7,620
2007$8,420
2008$8,420
2013$10,904
2014$10,904
2015$12,495
2016$12,495
2017$12,495
2018$13,363
2019$13,363
2020$13,363
2021$13,363
2022$15,313
2023$15,313
IPEDS Published price 2001–02 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Reported tuition is $15,313 before grants and other attendance costs. At Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service, aid and other costs change the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Enrollment sits at 254 — Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service is one of the smaller campuses on this site.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$2k$4k$6k$8k$10kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $8,024Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $9,500$9,500 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $1,657Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $1,969Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $1,969Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $3,313Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $3,313Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $2,483Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $2,466Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $1,944Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $2,657Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $2,657Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $3,750Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,742Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $4,181Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $3,404Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $2,750Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $4,068Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $4,216Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $4,750$4,750 left
$3k$5k$8k$10kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $8,024Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $9,500$9,500 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $1,657Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $1,969Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $1,969Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $3,313Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $3,313Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $2,483Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $2,466Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $1,944Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $2,657Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $2,657Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $3,750Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,742Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $4,181Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $3,404Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $2,750Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $4,068Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $4,216Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $4,750$4,750 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)$6,625—
Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)$6,625$1,657
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)$6,625$1,969
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)$6,625$1,969
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)$6,625$3,313
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)$6,625$3,313
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)$6,625$2,483
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)$6,625$2,466
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)$6,625$1,944
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)$6,625$2,657
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$6,625$2,657
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$6,625$3,750
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$8,024$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$9,500$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$9,500$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$9,500$4,742
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$9,500$4,181
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$9,500$3,404
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$9,500$2,750
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$9,500$4,068
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$9,500$4,216
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$9,500$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$9,500$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$9,500$4,750
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$44,813
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$41,098
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$37,786
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service admitted 70 of 81 applicants in Fall 2024. The 86.4% rate describes that application pool.

86.4%
acceptance rate · Fall 2024 admissions cycle
Test-optional (considered) · Fall 2024
400SAT range (section 25th/75th sums): 996–12711600

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

In the Fall 2024 cycle, Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service received 81 applications and admitted 70 (86.4%), with 70 enrolling.

Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service reported scores as considered but not required for the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. For Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service’s enrolled SAT submitters, Reading and Writing was 498–678 and Math was 498–593 (25th–75th percentiles). The section-percentile sums 996–1271 are not composite-score percentiles. These are not admission cutoffs.

Check current requirements with admissions.

Score25th50th75th
SAT Reading & Writing498565678
SAT Math498545593

25th / 75th: a quarter of enrolled submitters scored below the first number, a quarter above the second. These are not cutoffs.

Only students who submitted scores are counted — at test-optional schools, many enrolled students aren't in this table.

Percentiles are among enrolled students who submitted scores (Fall 2024 admissions cycle).

Acceptance rate

86.4%Fall 2024Skip to data table

The share of applicants offered a spot — lower means more selective; read it alongside the score ranges below.

70%80%90%100%200220242002: 100%2003: 95.1%2004: 70.9%2005: 100%2006: 94%2007: 100%2008: 100%2009: 100%2024: 86.4%86.4%
70%80%90%100%200220242002: 100%2003: 95.1%2004: 70.9%2005: 100%2006: 94%2007: 100%2008: 100%2009: 100%2024: 86.4%86.4%

Acceptance rate — data
YearAcceptance rate
Fall 2002100%
Fall 200395.1%
Fall 200470.9%
Fall 2005100%
Fall 200694%
Fall 2007100%
Fall 2008100%
Fall 2009100%
Fall 202486.4%
IPEDS Fall cycles 2002–2024

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

254Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

100200300400200220242002: 1342003: 1522004: 1642005: 1432006: 1632007: 1222008: 1212009: 1542010: 1532011: 2112012: 2372013: 2192014: 2282015: 2282016: 2582017: 2152018: 2052019: 2862020: 2562021: 2722022: 2752023: 3822024: 254254
100200300400200220242002: 1342003: 1522004: 1642005: 1432006: 1632007: 1222008: 1212009: 1542010: 1532011: 2112012: 2372013: 2192014: 2282015: 2282016: 2582017: 2152018: 2052019: 2862020: 2562021: 2722022: 2752023: 3822024: 254254

Undergraduate enrollment at Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service rose from 134 (Fall 2002) to 254 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 2002134
Fall 2003152
Fall 2004164
Fall 2005143
Fall 2006163
Fall 2007122
Fall 2008121
Fall 2009154
Fall 2010153
Fall 2011211
Fall 2012237
Fall 2013219
Fall 2014228
Fall 2015228
Fall 2016258
Fall 2017215
Fall 2018205
Fall 2019286
Fall 2020256
Fall 2021272
Fall 2022275
Fall 2023382
Fall 2024254
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

35%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

40%60%80%100%200320232003: 63%2004: 64%2005: 66%2006: 44%2007: 50%2008: 53%2009: 61%2010: 71%2011: 65%2012: 72%2013: 95%2014: 83%2015: 64%2016: 73%2017: 47%2018: 67%2019: 39%2020: 53%2021: 43%2022: 47%2023: 35%35%
40%60%80%100%200320232003: 63%2004: 64%2005: 66%2006: 44%2007: 50%2008: 53%2009: 61%2010: 71%2011: 65%2012: 72%2013: 95%2014: 83%2015: 64%2016: 73%2017: 47%2018: 67%2019: 39%2020: 53%2021: 43%2022: 47%2023: 35%35%

First-year retention at Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service fell from 63% (Fall 2003) to 35% (Fall 2023).

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2003 cohort63%
Fall 2004 cohort64%
Fall 2005 cohort66%
Fall 2006 cohort44%
Fall 2007 cohort50%
Fall 2008 cohort53%
Fall 2009 cohort61%
Fall 2010 cohort71%
Fall 2011 cohort65%
Fall 2012 cohort72%
Fall 2013 cohort95%
Fall 2014 cohort83%
Fall 2015 cohort64%
Fall 2016 cohort73%
Fall 2017 cohort47%
Fall 2018 cohort67%
Fall 2019 cohort39%
Fall 2020 cohort53%
Fall 2021 cohort43%
Fall 2022 cohort47%
Fall 2023 cohort35%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2003–2023
More about Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service

40.6% of Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment.

Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service's SAT section-percentile sums are 996–1271 — their midpoint is above the TX four-year benchmark. These are not total-score percentiles. Put your own practice estimate on Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service's range with the SAT calculator, or bring a saved GPA from the grade tools.

Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service is a two-year institution — degrees run to the associate level — and Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service's page reads accordingly: admissions, cost, and outcomes.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Acceptance rate

Fall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS

Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service86.4%
Texas median84.5%
National median76.8%

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service$15,313
Texas median$13,498
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service$37,786
Texas median$54,132
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service, Texas and national reference values
Metric & basisCommonwealth Institute of Funeral ServiceTexas medianNational median
Acceptance rateFall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS86.4%84.5%76.8%
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$15,313$13,498$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$37,786$54,132$53,781

Frequently asked questions

What test-score data does Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service report?

Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service's enrolled submitters had SAT section-percentile sums of 996–1271 in Fall 2024. These are not total-score percentiles or a GPA requirement.

What is Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service's acceptance rate?

86.4% in the Fall 2024 cycle — 70 admitted from 81 applicants.

How much does Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service cost?

At Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service, tuition is $15,313. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Commonwealth Institute of Funeral Service report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $37,786. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Texas

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →