Skip to content

Colleges › Virginia › Washington University of Science and Technology

Washington University of Science and Technology

Washington University of Science and Technology is a for-profit campus in Alexandria proper — federal locale codes class it as urban. International students are a visible presence at Washington University of Science and Technology — 92% of its 400 undergraduates come from outside the U.S.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2020–21
family-income band
$20,242
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only one of the five income brackets was filed for the same year at Washington University of Science and Technology — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$20,2422020–21Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$19k$20k$20k$21k201720202017: $20,5852018: $19,9872019: $19,1022020: $20,242$20,242
$19k$20k$20k$21k201720202017: $20,5852018: $19,9872019: $19,1022020: $20,242$20,242

Average net price at Washington University of Science and Technology has held near $20,242 from 2017 to 2020.

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2017$20,585
2018$19,987
2019$19,102
2020$20,242
IPEDS 4 federal reports, 2017–2020

Total cost of attendance

$23,2422021–22Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$23k$23k$23k201820212018: $23,3202019: $22,7222020: $23,1022021: $23,242$23,242
$23k$23k$23k201820212018: $23,3202019: $22,7222020: $23,1022021: $23,242$23,242

Total cost at Washington University of Science and Technology has held near $23,242 from 2018 to 2021.

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2018$23,320
2019$22,722
2020$23,102
2021$23,242
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2018–2021

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$13k$13k$14k$14k$14k201420232014: $13,8202015: $13,8202016: $13,8202017: $13,8202018: $13,8202019: $14,0002020: $14,0002021: $14,0002023: $13,178$13,178
$13k$14k$14k$14k201420232014: $13,8202015: $13,8202016: $13,8202017: $13,8202018: $13,8202019: $14,0002020: $14,0002021: $14,0002023: $13,178$13,178

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2014$13,820
2015$13,820
2016$13,820
2017$13,820
2018$13,820
2019$14,000
2020$14,000
2021$14,000
2023$13,178
IPEDS Published price 2014–15 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Washington University of Science and Technology reports published tuition of $13,785 in this record. Washington University of Science and Technology's $13,785 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Washington University of Science and Technology reports 400 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

66.7% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Washington University of Science and Technology within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
66.7%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

50%60%70%80%90%entered 2014entered 2018entered 2014: 93.3%entered 2016: 78%entered 2017: 54.5%entered 2018: 66.7%66.7%entered 2015: entered 2015: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years
60%80%entered 2014entered 2018entered 2014: 93.3%entered 2016: 78%entered 2017: 54.5%entered 2018: 66.7%66.7%entered 2015: entered 2015: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years

The six-year graduation rate at Washington University of Science and Technology fell from 78% (entered 2016) to 66.7% (entered 2018).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
2014 cohort93.3%
2015 cohort—
2016 cohort78%
2017 cohort54.5%
2018 cohort66.7%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 2014–2018

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Washington University of Science and Technology admitted 30 of 413 applicants in Fall 2024. The 7.3% rate describes that application pool.

7.3%
acceptance rate · Fall 2024 admissions cycle
Tests not considered · Fall 2024

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

Washington University of Science and Technology did not consider scores in the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. No score range is displayed for Washington University of Science and Technology under that historical policy.

Check current requirements with admissions.

In the Fall 2024 cycle, Washington University of Science and Technology received 413 applications and admitted 30 (7.3%), with 20 enrolling.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

400Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

0100200300400201420242014: 392015: 1512016: 1992017: 642018: 722019: 712020: 462021: 952022: 1762023: 3022024: 400400
0200400201420242014: 392015: 1512016: 1992017: 642018: 722019: 712020: 462021: 952022: 1762023: 3022024: 400400

Undergraduate enrollment at Washington University of Science and Technology rose from 39 (Fall 2014) to 400 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 201439
Fall 2015151
Fall 2016199
Fall 201764
Fall 201872
Fall 201971
Fall 202046
Fall 202195
Fall 2022176
Fall 2023302
Fall 2024400
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2014–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

75%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

40%60%80%100%201420232014: 91%2015: 100%2016: 78%2017: 80%2018: 100%2019: 88%2020: 50%2021: 44%2022: 60%2023: 75%75%
40%60%80%100%201420232014: 91%2015: 100%2016: 78%2017: 80%2018: 100%2019: 88%2020: 50%2021: 44%2022: 60%2023: 75%75%

First-year retention at Washington University of Science and Technology fell from 91% (Fall 2014) to 75% (Fall 2023).

Washington University of Science and Technology's first-year cohorts run about 2 students, so one or two moves Washington University of Science and Technology's line by whole percentage points.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2014 cohort91%
Fall 2015 cohort100%
Fall 2016 cohort78%
Fall 2017 cohort80%
Fall 2018 cohort100%
Fall 2019 cohort88%
Fall 2020 cohort50%
Fall 2021 cohort44%
Fall 2022 cohort60%
Fall 2023 cohort75%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2014–2023
More about Washington University of Science and Technology

Faculty pay at Washington University of Science and Technology averages $72,000 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes Washington University of Science and Technology as a primarily nonresidential campus — most of its 400 undergraduates live off campus, and 75% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

Washington University of Science and Technology reported not considering test scores in Fall 2024, when its admission rate was 7.3%. Review Washington University of Science and Technology's current requirements before applying; use the GPA calculator for your semester numbers.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Washington University of Science and Technology compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Acceptance rate

Fall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS

Washington University of Science and Technology7.3%
Virginia median79.8%
National median76.8%

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Washington University of Science and Technology$13,785
Virginia median$21,650
National median$19,591
View comparison data & dates
Washington University of Science and Technology, Virginia and national reference values
Metric & basisWashington University of Science and TechnologyVirginia medianNational median
Acceptance rateFall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS7.3%79.8%76.8%
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$13,785$21,650$19,591

Frequently asked questions

What test-score data does Washington University of Science and Technology report?

Washington University of Science and Technology did not consider scores in Fall 2024: 7.3% admitted. Check current requirements.

What is Washington University of Science and Technology's acceptance rate?

7.3% in the Fall 2024 cycle — 30 admitted from 413 applicants.

How much does Washington University of Science and Technology cost?

At Washington University of Science and Technology, tuition is $13,785. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

Similar colleges in Virginia

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →