Skip to content

Colleges › California › University of the West

University of the West

University of the West is a private campus in suburban Rosemead, CA. International students are a visible presence at University of the West — 59.4% of its 32 undergraduates come from outside the U.S.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$6,601
family income
under $30k
$11,639
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
$24,245
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only three of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at University of the West — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$6,8452023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$5k$10k$15k$20k$25k200920232009: $17,0912010: $8,2792011: $25,6762012: $8,2702013: $13,8752014: $12,4662015: $11,7402016: $12,4142017: $8,8332018: $14,8352019: $8,9682020: $13,2252021: $18,2982022: $11,1372023: $6,845$6,845
$10k$20k200920232009: $17,0912010: $8,2792011: $25,6762012: $8,2702013: $13,8752014: $12,4662015: $11,7402016: $12,4142017: $8,8332018: $14,8352019: $8,9682020: $13,2252021: $18,2982022: $11,1372023: $6,845$6,845

Average net price at University of the West fell from $17,091 (2009) to $6,845 (2023).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2009$17,091
2010$8,279
2011$25,676
2012$8,270
2013$13,875
2014$12,466
2015$11,740
2016$12,414
2017$8,833
2018$14,835
2019$8,968
2020$13,225
2021$18,298
2022$11,137
2023$6,845
IPEDS 15 federal reports, 2009–2023

Total cost of attendance

$21,2782024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$15k$20k$25k201020242010: $19,9942011: $14,5642012: $25,6762013: $19,0822014: $20,0752015: $20,5962016: $20,2502017: $20,2802018: $20,6342019: $22,5952020: $24,2362021: $19,2002022: $27,2182023: $24,9442024: $21,278$21,278
$15k$20k$25k201020242010: $19,9942011: $14,5642012: $25,6762013: $19,0822014: $20,0752015: $20,5962016: $20,2502017: $20,2802018: $20,6342019: $22,5952020: $24,2362021: $19,2002022: $27,2182023: $24,9442024: $21,278$21,278

Total cost at University of the West has wandered from 2010 to 2024 — up to $27,218 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at $21,278.

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2010$19,994
2011$14,564
2012$25,676
2013$19,082
2014$20,075
2015$20,596
2016$20,250
2017$20,280
2018$20,634
2019$22,595
2020$24,236
2021$19,200
2022$27,218
2023$24,944
2024$21,278
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2010–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$8k$10k$12k$14k200720232007: $7,2002008: $7,5602013: $9,4862014: $9,9682015: $10,6562016: $11,4122017: $11,9402018: $12,5922019: $12,9562020: $13,5562021: $13,6042022: $14,0182023: $14,718$14,718
$8k$10k$13k$15k200720232007: $7,2002008: $7,5602013: $9,4862014: $9,9682015: $10,6562016: $11,4122017: $11,9402018: $12,5922019: $12,9562020: $13,5562021: $13,6042022: $14,0182023: $14,718$14,718

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2007$7,200
2008$7,560
2013$9,486
2014$9,968
2015$10,656
2016$11,412
2017$11,940
2018$12,592
2019$12,956
2020$13,556
2021$13,604
2022$14,018
2023$14,718
IPEDS Published price 2007–08 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

University of the West reports published tuition of $15,446 in this record. University of the West's $15,446 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

University of the West reports 32 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

37.5% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at University of the West within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
37.5%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

25%50%75%100%entered 2001entered 2018entered 2001: 33.3%entered 2002: 33.3%entered 2003: 22.7%entered 2004: 75%entered 2006: 50%entered 2007: 33.3%entered 2008: 100%entered 2009: 50%entered 2010: 50%entered 2011: 50%entered 2012: 48.1%entered 2013: 11.1%entered 2014: 27.6%entered 2015: 50%entered 2016: 20%entered 2017: 31.1%entered 2018: 37.5%37.5%
50%100%entered 2001entered 2018entered 2001: 33.3%entered 2002: 33.3%entered 2003: 22.7%entered 2004: 75%entered 2006: 50%entered 2007: 33.3%entered 2008: 100%entered 2009: 50%entered 2010: 50%entered 2011: 50%entered 2012: 48.1%entered 2013: 11.1%entered 2014: 27.6%entered 2015: 50%entered 2016: 20%entered 2017: 31.1%entered 2018: 37.5%37.5%

The six-year graduation rate at University of the West fell from 50% (entered 2006) to 37.5% (entered 2018).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

University of the West's entering classes are small — single students move the line, so read University of the West's swings gently.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
2001 cohort33.3%
2002 cohort33.3%
2003 cohort22.7%
2004 cohort75%
2006 cohort50%
2007 cohort33.3%
2008 cohort100%
2009 cohort50%
2010 cohort50%
2011 cohort50%
2012 cohort48.1%
2013 cohort11.1%
2014 cohort27.6%
2015 cohort50%
2016 cohort20%
2017 cohort31.1%
2018 cohort37.5%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 2001–2018

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$33,856
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$33,522
8 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies
Tests not considered · Fall 2024

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

University of the West did not consider scores in the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. No score range is displayed for University of the West under that historical policy.

Check current requirements with admissions.

In the Fall 2024 cycle, University of the West received 4 applications and admitted 4, with 1 enrolling.

Numbers this small don't make a rate — University of the West's Fall 2024 filing is reported as counts, not a percentage.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

32Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

50100150200720242007: 322008: 552009: 692010: 602011: 402012: 752013: 782014: 1162015: 992016: 1062017: 1462018: 1362019: 1412020: 1082021: 772022: 592023: 412024: 3232
50100150200720242007: 322008: 552009: 692010: 602011: 402012: 752013: 782014: 1162015: 992016: 1062017: 1462018: 1362019: 1412020: 1082021: 772022: 592023: 412024: 3232

Undergraduate enrollment at University of the West has wandered from Fall 2007 to Fall 2024 — up to 146 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 32.

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 200732
Fall 200855
Fall 200969
Fall 201060
Fall 201140
Fall 201275
Fall 201378
Fall 2014116
Fall 201599
Fall 2016106
Fall 2017146
Fall 2018136
Fall 2019141
Fall 2020108
Fall 202177
Fall 202259
Fall 202341
Fall 202432
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2007–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

50%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

20%40%60%80%100%200620232006: 100%2007: 86%2008: 55%2009: 55%2010: 100%2011: 67%2012: 80%2013: 58%2014: 54%2015: 83%2016: 55%2017: 18%2018: 94%2019: 75%2020: 67%2021: 60%2022: 40%2023: 50%50%
25%50%75%100%200620232006: 100%2007: 86%2008: 55%2009: 55%2010: 100%2011: 67%2012: 80%2013: 58%2014: 54%2015: 83%2016: 55%2017: 18%2018: 94%2019: 75%2020: 67%2021: 60%2022: 40%2023: 50%50%

First-year retention at University of the West fell from 100% (Fall 2006) to 50% (Fall 2023).

University of the West's entering classes are small — single students move the line, so read University of the West's swings gently.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2006 cohort100%
Fall 2007 cohort86%
Fall 2008 cohort55%
Fall 2009 cohort55%
Fall 2010 cohort100%
Fall 2011 cohort67%
Fall 2012 cohort80%
Fall 2013 cohort58%
Fall 2014 cohort54%
Fall 2015 cohort83%
Fall 2016 cohort55%
Fall 2017 cohort18%
Fall 2018 cohort94%
Fall 2019 cohort75%
Fall 2020 cohort67%
Fall 2021 cohort60%
Fall 2022 cohort40%
Fall 2023 cohort50%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2006–2023
More about University of the West

Faculty pay at University of the West averages $70,104 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes University of the West as a primarily residential campus of 32 undergraduates — and 50% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

University of the West reported not considering test scores in Fall 2024. Review University of the West's current requirements before applying; use the GPA calculator for your semester numbers.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How University of the West compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

University of the West$15,446
California median$23,000
National median$19,591
View comparison data & dates
University of the West, California and national reference values
Metric & basisUniversity of the WestCalifornia medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$15,446$23,000$19,591

Frequently asked questions

What is University of the West's acceptance rate?

University of the West's applicant pool is too small to carry a meaningful rate. Fall 2024 as filed: 4 applied, 4 admitted, 1 enrolled.

How much does University of the West cost?

At University of the West, tuition is $15,446. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

Similar colleges in California

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →