Skip to content

Colleges › Virginia › Strayer University-Virginia

Strayer University-Virginia

Strayer University-Virginia reports 1,668 undergraduates in Arlington, VA. Its federal reporting group is labeled Strayer University.

Check the campus and reporting scope

Strayer University-Virginia · Arlington, Virginia · Federal institution ID (UNITID): 233684.

Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (Strayer University).

Shared outcomes cannot rank campuses. Reporting-group definitions.

Compare Arlington, VA with Washington, DC. Other profile: Strayer University-District of Columbia · Washington, DC (UNITID: 131803).

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2020–21
family-income band
$20,047
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
$25,041
over $110k

Only two of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Strayer University-Virginia — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$19,5782023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$20k$25k$30k200920232009: $32,0002010: $28,6912011: $30,0632012: $29,0932013: $29,6162014: $25,8022015: $25,9982016: $24,2892017: $25,5122018: $24,0412019: $23,1892020: $22,5442023: $19,578$19,578
$20k$25k$30k200920232009: $32,0002010: $28,6912011: $30,0632012: $29,0932013: $29,6162014: $25,8022015: $25,9982016: $24,2892017: $25,5122018: $24,0412019: $23,1892020: $22,5442023: $19,578$19,578

Average net price at Strayer University-Virginia fell from $32,000 (2009) to $22,544 (2020).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2009$32,000
2010$28,691
2011$30,063
2012$29,093
2013$29,616
2014$25,802
2015$25,998
2016$24,289
2017$25,512
2018$24,041
2019$23,189
2020$22,544
2023$19,578
IPEDS 13 federal reports, 2009–2023

Total cost of attendance

$25,1582024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$25k$28k$30k$33k$35k201020242010: $34,7522011: $31,3292012: $31,3742013: $32,5542014: $32,0642015: $29,5442016: $29,5442017: $27,7442018: $27,8792019: $28,1492020: $28,2842021: $25,0412024: $25,158$25,158
$25k$30k$35k201020242010: $34,7522011: $31,3292012: $31,3742013: $32,5542014: $32,0642015: $29,5442016: $29,5442017: $27,7442018: $27,8792019: $28,1492020: $28,2842021: $25,0412024: $25,158$25,158

Total cost at Strayer University-Virginia fell from $34,752 (2010) to $25,041 (2021).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2010$34,752
2011$31,329
2012$31,374
2013$32,554
2014$32,064
2015$29,544
2016$29,544
2017$27,744
2018$27,879
2019$28,149
2020$28,284
2021$25,041
2024$25,158
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2010–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$8k$10k$12k$14k$16k200020232000: $8,5052001: $8,7892002: $8,9302003: $9,3962013: $15,4952014: $12,9752015: $12,9752016: $12,9752017: $13,8572018: $13,3802019: $13,5152020: $13,5152021: $13,5152022: $13,5152023: $13,920$13,920
$10k$13k$15k200020232000: $8,5052001: $8,7892002: $8,9302003: $9,3962013: $15,4952014: $12,9752015: $12,9752016: $12,9752017: $13,8572018: $13,3802019: $13,5152020: $13,5152021: $13,5152022: $13,5152023: $13,920$13,920

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2000$8,505
2001$8,789
2002$8,930
2003$9,396
2013$15,495
2014$12,975
2015$12,975
2016$12,975
2017$13,857
2018$13,380
2019$13,515
2020$13,515
2021$13,515
2022$13,515
2023$13,920
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Strayer University-Virginia reports published tuition of $13,920 in this record. Strayer University-Virginia's $13,920 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Strayer University-Virginia reports 1,668 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

36.4% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Strayer University-Virginia within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
36.4%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

20%40%60%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 45.5%entered 1992: 37.5%entered 1993: 41.9%entered 1994: 16.7%entered 2004: 24.2%entered 2005: 18.6%entered 2006: 53.4%entered 2007: 30.9%entered 2008: 18.5%entered 2009: 20%entered 2010: 37%entered 2011: 11.4%entered 2012: 70.6%entered 2013: 48%entered 2014: 12.5%entered 2015: 24%entered 2016: 28.1%entered 2017: 13.3%entered 2018: 36.4%36.4%
20%40%60%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 45.5%entered 1992: 37.5%entered 1993: 41.9%entered 1994: 16.7%entered 2004: 24.2%entered 2005: 18.6%entered 2006: 53.4%entered 2007: 30.9%entered 2008: 18.5%entered 2009: 20%entered 2010: 37%entered 2011: 11.4%entered 2012: 70.6%entered 2013: 48%entered 2014: 12.5%entered 2015: 24%entered 2016: 28.1%entered 2017: 13.3%entered 2018: 36.4%36.4%

The six-year graduation rate at Strayer University-Virginia rose from 24.2% (entered 2004) to 36.4% (entered 2018).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1991 cohort45.5%
1992 cohort37.5%
1993 cohort41.9%
1994 cohort16.7%
2004 cohort24.2%
2005 cohort18.6%
2006 cohort53.4%
2007 cohort30.9%
2008 cohort18.5%
2009 cohort20%
2010 cohort37%
2011 cohort11.4%
2012 cohort70.6%
2013 cohort48%
2014 cohort12.5%
2015 cohort24%
2016 cohort28.1%
2017 cohort13.3%
2018 cohort36.4%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1991–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$0$10k$20k$30k$40kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $11,416Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $17,465Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $17,322Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $17,125Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $21,945Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $26,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $30,306Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $33,093Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $34,120Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $34,242Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $34,240Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $37,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $39,000Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $40,023Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $40,621$40,621 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $3,354Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $4,000Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $6,334Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $6,331Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $6,000Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $6,000Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $6,334Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $6,546Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $7,920Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $10,130Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $12,592$12,592 left
$0$20k$40kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $11,416Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $17,465Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $17,322Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $17,125Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $21,945Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $26,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $30,306Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $33,093Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $34,120Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $34,242Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $34,240Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $37,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $39,000Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $40,023Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $40,621$40,621 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $3,354Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $4,000Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $6,334Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $6,331Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $6,000Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $6,000Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $6,334Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $6,546Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $7,920Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $10,130Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $12,592$12,592 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (Strayer University).

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)$3,500$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)$5,500$3,354
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)$11,416$4,000
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)$17,465$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)$17,322$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)$17,125$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$21,945$6,334
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$26,500$6,331
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$30,306$6,000
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$33,093$6,000
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$34,120$6,334
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$34,242$6,546
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$34,240$7,920
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$37,500$9,500
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$39,000$9,500
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$40,023$10,130
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$40,621$12,592
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$36,582
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$37,064
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$40,092
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years. Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (Strayer University).

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

Strayer University-Virginia reported open admission for Fall 2024. No selective rate is shown; check Strayer University-Virginia's current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

1,668Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

2k4k6k8k201020242010: 8,9302011: 7,6162012: 5,9232013: 4,8372014: 4,4482015: 4,3232016: 4,4602017: 4,2562018: 4,1112019: 4,3192020: 3,8012021: 2,5942022: 2,1972023: 2,0102024: 1,6681,668
3k5k8k201020242010: 8,9302011: 7,6162012: 5,9232013: 4,8372014: 4,4482015: 4,3232016: 4,4602017: 4,2562018: 4,1112019: 4,3192020: 3,8012021: 2,5942022: 2,1972023: 2,0102024: 1,6681,668

Undergraduate enrollment at Strayer University-Virginia fell from 8,930 (Fall 2010) to 1,668 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 20108,930
Fall 20117,616
Fall 20125,923
Fall 20134,837
Fall 20144,448
Fall 20154,323
Fall 20164,460
Fall 20174,256
Fall 20184,111
Fall 20194,319
Fall 20203,801
Fall 20212,594
Fall 20222,197
Fall 20232,010
Fall 20241,668
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2010–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

75%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

0%20%40%60%80%200920232009: 49%2010: 52%2011: 30%2012: 52%2013: 43%2014: 47%2015: 54%2016: 48%2017: 33%2018: 43%2019: 43%2020: 13%2021: 0%2022: 50%2023: 75%75%
0%25%50%75%200920232009: 49%2010: 52%2011: 30%2012: 52%2013: 43%2014: 47%2015: 54%2016: 48%2017: 33%2018: 43%2019: 43%2020: 13%2021: 0%2022: 50%2023: 75%75%

First-year retention at Strayer University-Virginia rose from 49% (Fall 2009) to 75% (Fall 2023).

Strayer University-Virginia's entering classes are small — single students move the line, so read Strayer University-Virginia's swings gently.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2009 cohort49%
Fall 2010 cohort52%
Fall 2011 cohort30%
Fall 2012 cohort52%
Fall 2013 cohort43%
Fall 2014 cohort47%
Fall 2015 cohort54%
Fall 2016 cohort48%
Fall 2017 cohort33%
Fall 2018 cohort43%
Fall 2019 cohort43%
Fall 2020 cohort13%
Fall 2021 cohort0%
Fall 2022 cohort50%
Fall 2023 cohort75%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2009–2023
More about Strayer University-Virginia

59.4% of Strayer University-Virginia's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment. Carnegie classes Strayer University-Virginia as a primarily nonresidential campus — most of its 1,668 undergraduates live off campus, and 75% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

In Arlington, VA, Strayer University-Virginia enrolls 1,668 students. This institution reported open admission in Fall 2024; its policy is not inferred for other campuses in the Strayer University reporting group.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Strayer University-Virginia compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Strayer University-Virginia$13,920
Virginia median$21,650
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Strayer University-Virginia's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (Strayer University).

Strayer University reporting group (shared)$40,092
Virginia median$53,453
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Strayer University-Virginia, Virginia and national reference values
Metric & basisStrayer University-VirginiaVirginia medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$13,920$21,650$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$40,092Shared group value$53,453$53,781

Published earnings by bachelor's field of study

For Strayer University-Virginia, these are federal subject groups (CIP), not departments. Median is the middle annual income.

Strayer University-Virginia federal-aid recipients · graduated 2017–18 or 2018–19 · income measured 2022 or 2023 · inflation-adjusted to 2024 dollars. Definitions and limits.

View 6 fields & earnings
Bachelor's field of study (CIP category)Median earnings, 4 yrs after completion
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$105,703
Information Science/Studies$87,413
Computer and Information Sciences, General$82,304
Accounting and Related Services$66,108
Business/Commerce, General$64,016
Criminal Justice and Corrections$53,916

These 6 fields listed for Strayer University-Virginia measure earnings after completion. The $40,092 institution-level snapshot above measures earnings after entry; it is not the same cohort or a total for these fields. 4 additional Strayer University-Virginia fields have earnings withheld under federal privacy rules. Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (Strayer University).

Frequently asked questions

How much does Strayer University-Virginia cost?

At Strayer University-Virginia, tuition is $13,920. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Strayer University-Virginia report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $40,092. Major figures measure four years after completion. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Virginia

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Field-of-study cohort dates are shown with the table. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →