Skip to content

Colleges › Virginia › South University-Virginia Beach

South University-Virginia Beach

South University-Virginia Beach reports 240 undergraduates in Virginia Beach, VA. Its federal reporting group is labeled South University.

Check the campus and reporting scope

South University-Virginia Beach · Virginia Beach, Virginia · Federal institution ID (UNITID): 459268.

Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (South University).

Shared outcomes cannot rank campuses. Reporting-group definitions.

Compare Virginia Beach, VA with Glen Allen, VA. Other profile: South University-Richmond · Glen Allen, VA (UNITID: 459259).

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$25,182
family income
under $30k
$23,513
$30–48k
$26,139
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only three of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at South University-Virginia Beach — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$27,8432023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$20k$25k$30k201020232010: $29,8942011: $24,9452012: $24,8562013: $24,7502014: $25,1762015: $22,4982016: $23,6782017: $19,2112018: $20,3952019: $24,2002020: $22,7142021: $29,2372022: $24,3722023: $27,843$27,843
$20k$25k$30k201020232010: $29,8942011: $24,9452012: $24,8562013: $24,7502014: $25,1762015: $22,4982016: $23,6782017: $19,2112018: $20,3952019: $24,2002020: $22,7142021: $29,2372022: $24,3722023: $27,843$27,843

Average net price at South University-Virginia Beach has wandered from 2010 to 2023 — up to $29,894 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at $27,843.

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2010$29,894
2011$24,945
2012$24,856
2013$24,750
2014$25,176
2015$22,498
2016$23,678
2017$19,211
2018$20,395
2019$24,200
2020$22,714
2021$29,237
2022$24,372
2023$27,843
IPEDS 14 federal reports, 2010–2023

Total cost of attendance

$36,5772024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$28k$30k$32k$34k$36k201120242011: $34,2262012: $28,9412013: $28,8812014: $29,5442015: $29,1072016: $28,3412017: $30,6402018: $30,4542019: $31,0652020: $31,6742021: $32,1842022: $33,0882023: $33,8752024: $36,577$36,577
$28k$30k$33k$35k201120242011: $34,2262012: $28,9412013: $28,8812014: $29,5442015: $29,1072016: $28,3412017: $30,6402018: $30,4542019: $31,0652020: $31,6742021: $32,1842022: $33,0882023: $33,8752024: $36,577$36,577

Total cost at South University-Virginia Beach has wandered from 2011 to 2024 — up to $36,577 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at $36,577.

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2011$34,226
2012$28,941
2013$28,881
2014$29,544
2015$29,107
2016$28,341
2017$30,640
2018$30,454
2019$31,065
2020$31,674
2021$32,184
2022$33,088
2023$33,875
2024$36,577
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2011–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$17k$17k$18k$18k201320232013: $16,3602014: $16,3602015: $16,7612016: $17,3302017: $17,0142018: $17,0142019: $17,0142020: $17,0142021: $17,0142022: $17,0142023: $18,238$18,238
$17k$18k201320232013: $16,3602014: $16,3602015: $16,7612016: $17,3302017: $17,0142018: $17,0142019: $17,0142020: $17,0142021: $17,0142022: $17,0142023: $18,238$18,238

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2013$16,360
2014$16,360
2015$16,761
2016$17,330
2017$17,014
2018$17,014
2019$17,014
2020$17,014
2021$17,014
2022$17,014
2023$18,238
IPEDS Published price 2013–14 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

South University-Virginia Beach reports published tuition of $18,145 in this record. South University-Virginia Beach's $18,145 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

South University-Virginia Beach reports 240 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

8.3% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at South University-Virginia Beach within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
8.3%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

10%20%30%40%entered 2010entered 2018entered 2010: 16.7%entered 2011: 16%entered 2012: 17.4%entered 2013: 20%entered 2014: 40%entered 2016: 33.3%entered 2017: 13.6%entered 2018: 8.3%8.3%
10%20%30%40%entered 2010entered 2018entered 2010: 16.7%entered 2011: 16%entered 2012: 17.4%entered 2013: 20%entered 2014: 40%entered 2016: 33.3%entered 2017: 13.6%entered 2018: 8.3%8.3%

The six-year graduation rate at South University-Virginia Beach rose from 16.7% (entered 2010) to 40% (entered 2014).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Cohorts at South University-Virginia Beach run small — a few students either way swings South University-Virginia Beach's percentages hard.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
2010 cohort16.7%
2011 cohort16%
2012 cohort17.4%
2013 cohort20%
2014 cohort40%
2016 cohort33.3%
2017 cohort13.6%
2018 cohort8.3%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 2010–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$10k$20kLeft school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $24,627Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $25,720Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $24,667Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $24,667Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $25,084Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $25,166Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $25,379Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $26,123$26,123 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $4,934Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $7,000Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $9,500$9,500 left
$10k$20kLeft school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $24,627Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $25,720Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $24,667Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $24,667Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $25,084Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $25,166Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $25,379Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $26,123$26,123 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $4,934Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $7,000Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $9,500$9,500 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (South University).

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$24,627$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$25,000$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$25,720$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$25,000$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$24,667$4,934
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$24,667$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$25,000$7,000
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$25,084$9,500
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$25,166$9,500
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$25,379$9,500
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$26,123$9,500
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$34,115
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$32,897
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$34,421
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years. Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (South University).

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

South University-Virginia Beach reported open admission for Fall 2024. No selective rate is shown; check South University-Virginia Beach's current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

240Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

200400600201020242010: 1562011: 2952012: 5252013: 6852014: 7242015: 5672016: 5202017: 4522018: 3692019: 3112020: 3242021: 2542022: 2052023: 2522024: 240240
200400600201020242010: 1562011: 2952012: 5252013: 6852014: 7242015: 5672016: 5202017: 4522018: 3692019: 3112020: 3242021: 2542022: 2052023: 2522024: 240240

Undergraduate enrollment at South University-Virginia Beach rose from 156 (Fall 2010) to 240 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 2010156
Fall 2011295
Fall 2012525
Fall 2013685
Fall 2014724
Fall 2015567
Fall 2016520
Fall 2017452
Fall 2018369
Fall 2019311
Fall 2020324
Fall 2021254
Fall 2022205
Fall 2023252
Fall 2024240
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2010–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

100%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

0%25%50%75%100%201020232010: 100%2011: 41%2012: 53%2013: 46%2014: 58%2015: 0%2016: 29%2017: 25%2018: 25%2019: 50%2020: 100%2021: 33%2022: 25%2023: 100%100%
0%50%100%201020232010: 100%2011: 41%2012: 53%2013: 46%2014: 58%2015: 0%2016: 29%2017: 25%2018: 25%2019: 50%2020: 100%2021: 33%2022: 25%2023: 100%100%

First-year retention at South University-Virginia Beach has wandered from Fall 2010 to Fall 2023 — up to 100% at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 100%.

Cohorts at South University-Virginia Beach run small — a few students either way swings South University-Virginia Beach's percentages hard.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2010 cohort100%
Fall 2011 cohort41%
Fall 2012 cohort53%
Fall 2013 cohort46%
Fall 2014 cohort58%
Fall 2015 cohort0%
Fall 2016 cohort29%
Fall 2017 cohort25%
Fall 2018 cohort25%
Fall 2019 cohort50%
Fall 2020 cohort100%
Fall 2021 cohort33%
Fall 2022 cohort25%
Fall 2023 cohort100%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2010–2023
More about South University-Virginia Beach

Faculty pay at South University-Virginia Beach averages $79,968 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes South University-Virginia Beach as a primarily nonresidential campus — most of its 240 undergraduates live off campus, and 100% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

In Virginia Beach, VA, South University-Virginia Beach enrolls 240 students. This institution reported open admission in Fall 2024; its policy is not inferred for other campuses in the South University reporting group.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How South University-Virginia Beach compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

South University-Virginia Beach$18,145
Virginia median$21,650
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

South University-Virginia Beach's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (South University).

South University reporting group (shared)$34,421
Virginia median$53,453
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
South University-Virginia Beach, Virginia and national reference values
Metric & basisSouth University-Virginia BeachVirginia medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$18,145$21,650$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$34,421Shared group value$53,453$53,781

Published earnings by bachelor's field of study

For South University-Virginia Beach, these are federal subject groups (CIP), not departments. Median is the middle annual income.

South University-Virginia Beach federal-aid recipients · graduated 2017–18 or 2018–19 · income measured 2022 or 2023 · inflation-adjusted to 2024 dollars. Definitions and limits.

View 8 fields & earnings
Bachelor's field of study (CIP category)Median earnings, 4 yrs after completion
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$91,363
Information Science/Studies$58,915
Business Administration, Management and Operations$53,445
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$47,390
Health and Medical Administrative Services$46,885
Criminal Justice and Corrections$46,322
Public Health$45,993
Psychology, General$39,694

These 8 fields listed for South University-Virginia Beach measure earnings after completion. The $34,421 institution-level snapshot above measures earnings after entry; it is not the same cohort or a total for these fields. Debt and earnings figures are shared across campuses in the federal reporting group (South University).

Frequently asked questions

How much does South University-Virginia Beach cost?

At South University-Virginia Beach, tuition is $18,145. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does South University-Virginia Beach report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $34,421. Major figures measure four years after completion. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Virginia

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Field-of-study cohort dates are shown with the table. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →