Skip to content

Colleges › Ohio › Pontifical College Josephinum

Pontifical College Josephinum

Pontifical College Josephinum is a private campus in Columbus proper — federal locale codes class it as urban. The federal record classifies Pontifical College Josephinum as a men-only institution; check current eligibility with admissions. The school reports a Roman Catholic affiliation in its federal filings.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2019–20
family-income band
$36,821
family income
under $30k
$39,196
$30–48k
$43,542
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only three of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Pontifical College Josephinum — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$38,4602019–20Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$30k$35k200820192008: $27,8222009: $30,5752010: $28,4922011: $32,1902012: $33,9042013: $34,9772014: $35,9482015: $33,4402016: $34,5572017: $37,2172018: $37,2122019: $38,460$38,460
$30k$35k200820192008: $27,8222009: $30,5752010: $28,4922011: $32,1902012: $33,9042013: $34,9772014: $35,9482015: $33,4402016: $34,5572017: $37,2172018: $37,2122019: $38,460$38,460

Average net price at Pontifical College Josephinum rose from $27,822 (2008) to $38,460 (2019).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$27,822
2009$30,575
2010$28,492
2011$32,190
2012$33,904
2013$34,977
2014$35,948
2015$33,440
2016$34,557
2017$37,217
2018$37,212
2019$38,460
IPEDS 12 federal reports, 2008–2019

Total cost of attendance

$43,5422020–21Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$30k$35k$40k200920202009: $28,6522010: $30,5752011: $31,9852012: $34,6732013: $35,7482014: $36,5982015: $37,6382016: $38,8482017: $39,7422018: $39,7422019: $40,0502020: $43,542$43,542
$30k$35k$40k200920202009: $28,6522010: $30,5752011: $31,9852012: $34,6732013: $35,7482014: $36,5982015: $37,6382016: $38,8482017: $39,7422018: $39,7422019: $40,0502020: $43,542$43,542

Total cost at Pontifical College Josephinum rose from $28,652 (2009) to $43,542 (2020).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$28,652
2010$30,575
2011$31,985
2012$34,673
2013$35,748
2014$36,598
2015$37,638
2016$38,848
2017$39,742
2018$39,742
2019$40,050
2020$43,542
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2020

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$10k$15k$20k$25k200020232000: $8,2762001: $8,8542002: $9,6402003: $10,2202004: $14,0002005: $14,0002006: $14,5602007: $15,6772008: $15,5972013: $20,6142014: $21,0382015: $21,7482016: $22,0922017: $22,0922018: $22,3002019: $24,1822020: $25,2622021: $27,9002022: $26,7632023: $27,829$27,829
$10k$20k200020232000: $8,2762001: $8,8542002: $9,6402003: $10,2202004: $14,0002005: $14,0002006: $14,5602007: $15,6772008: $15,5972013: $20,6142014: $21,0382015: $21,7482016: $22,0922017: $22,0922018: $22,3002019: $24,1822020: $25,2622021: $27,9002022: $26,7632023: $27,829$27,829

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2000$8,276
2001$8,854
2002$9,640
2003$10,220
2004$14,000
2005$14,000
2006$14,560
2007$15,677
2008$15,597
2013$20,614
2014$21,038
2015$21,748
2016$22,092
2017$22,092
2018$22,300
2019$24,182
2020$25,262
2021$27,900
2022$26,763
2023$27,829
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Reported tuition is $28,691 before grants and other attendance costs. At Pontifical College Josephinum, aid and other costs change the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Enrollment sits at 60 — Pontifical College Josephinum is one of the smaller campuses on this site.

31.6% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Pontifical College Josephinum within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
31.6%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

20%40%60%80%100%entered 1992entered 2018entered 1992: 53.8%entered 1994: 75%entered 1995: 25%entered 1996: 25%entered 1997: 75%entered 1998: 50%entered 1999: 100%entered 2000: 33.3%entered 2001: 66.7%entered 2002: 55.6%entered 2004: 62.5%entered 2005: 100%entered 2006: 35.7%entered 2007: 77.3%entered 2008: 90.9%entered 2009: 66.7%entered 2010: 86.4%entered 2011: 50%entered 2012: 30.4%entered 2013: 61.5%entered 2014: 57.9%entered 2015: 18.8%entered 2016: 30.8%entered 2017: 27.3%entered 2018: 31.6%31.6%entered 2003: entered 2003: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years
25%50%75%100%entered 1992entered 2018entered 1992: 53.8%entered 1994: 75%entered 1995: 25%entered 1996: 25%entered 1997: 75%entered 1998: 50%entered 1999: 100%entered 2000: 33.3%entered 2001: 66.7%entered 2002: 55.6%entered 2004: 62.5%entered 2005: 100%entered 2006: 35.7%entered 2007: 77.3%entered 2008: 90.9%entered 2009: 66.7%entered 2010: 86.4%entered 2011: 50%entered 2012: 30.4%entered 2013: 61.5%entered 2014: 57.9%entered 2015: 18.8%entered 2016: 30.8%entered 2017: 27.3%entered 2018: 31.6%31.6%entered 2003: entered 2003: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years

The six-year graduation rate at Pontifical College Josephinum fell from 62.5% (entered 2004) to 31.6% (entered 2018).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Cohorts at Pontifical College Josephinum run small — a few students either way swings Pontifical College Josephinum's percentages hard.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1992 cohort53.8%
1994 cohort75%
1995 cohort25%
1996 cohort25%
1997 cohort75%
1998 cohort50%
1999 cohort100%
2000 cohort33.3%
2001 cohort66.7%
2002 cohort55.6%
2003 cohort—
2004 cohort62.5%
2005 cohort100%
2006 cohort35.7%
2007 cohort77.3%
2008 cohort90.9%
2009 cohort66.7%
2010 cohort86.4%
2011 cohort50%
2012 cohort30.4%
2013 cohort61.5%
2014 cohort57.9%
2015 cohort18.8%
2016 cohort30.8%
2017 cohort27.3%
2018 cohort31.6%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1992–2018

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies
Test-optional (considered) · Fall 2024

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

In the Fall 2024 cycle, Pontifical College Josephinum received 24 applications and admitted 23, with 23 enrolling.

Pontifical College Josephinum: scores were considered but optional in the Fall 2024 admissions cycle.

Check current requirements with admissions.

With an applicant pool this small, a percentage would be noise — Pontifical College Josephinum's numbers are reported as plain counts.

SAT range (section sums, 25th–75th)

1217–1378Fall 2014 · submittersSkip to data table

Sums of the reading/writing and math percentiles among enrolled submitters — not percentiles of total SAT scores or admission cutoffs.

800100012001400200620142006: 10902007: 8502008: 10452010: 9302011: 10252014: 121712172006: 11702007: 13702008: 12902010: 14002011: 14132014: 13781378
800100012001400200620142006: 10902007: 8502008: 10452010: 9302011: 10252014: 121712172006: 11702007: 13702008: 12902010: 14002011: 14132014: 13781378

SAT range (section sums) — data
Year25th75th
Fall 200610901170
Fall 20078501370
Fall 200810451290
Fall 20109301400
Fall 201110251413
Fall 201412171378
IPEDS Fall 2006–2014, submitters only

ACT middle 50%

24–31Fall 2014 · submittersSkip to data table

The middle half of enrolled ACT submitters, using published composite-score percentiles — not admission cutoffs.

15202530200620142006: 202007: 172008: 192009: 162010: 202011: 202014: 24242006: 242007: 312008: 262009: 252010: 272011: 272014: 3131
15202530200620142006: 202007: 172008: 192009: 162010: 202011: 202014: 24242006: 242007: 312008: 262009: 252010: 272011: 272014: 3131

ACT middle 50% — data
Year25th75th
Fall 20062024
Fall 20071731
Fall 20081926
Fall 20091625
Fall 20102027
Fall 20112027
Fall 20142431
IPEDS Fall 2006–2014, submitters only

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

60Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

255075100125200220242002: 572003: 682004: 742005: 762006: 1042007: 1192008: 1152009: 782010: 852011: 1052012: 1322013: 1352014: 1292015: 1112016: 902017: 902018: 902019: 632020: 502021: 322022: 342023: 452024: 6060
50100200220242002: 572003: 682004: 742005: 762006: 1042007: 1192008: 1152009: 782010: 852011: 1052012: 1322013: 1352014: 1292015: 1112016: 902017: 902018: 902019: 632020: 502021: 322022: 342023: 452024: 6060

Undergraduate enrollment at Pontifical College Josephinum has wandered from Fall 2002 to Fall 2024 — up to 135 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 60.

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 200257
Fall 200368
Fall 200474
Fall 200576
Fall 2006104
Fall 2007119
Fall 2008115
Fall 200978
Fall 201085
Fall 2011105
Fall 2012132
Fall 2013135
Fall 2014129
Fall 2015111
Fall 201690
Fall 201790
Fall 201890
Fall 201963
Fall 202050
Fall 202132
Fall 202234
Fall 202345
Fall 202460
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

100%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

20%40%60%80%100%200220232002: 75%2003: 80%2004: 78%2005: 50%2006: 64%2007: 55%2008: 27%2009: 67%2010: 67%2011: 100%2012: 84%2013: 100%2014: 89%2015: 94%2016: 77%2017: 91%2019: 86%2020: 75%2021: 100%2022: 100%2023: 100%100%2018: Fall 2018: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years
25%50%75%100%200220232002: 75%2003: 80%2004: 78%2005: 50%2006: 64%2007: 55%2008: 27%2009: 67%2010: 67%2011: 100%2012: 84%2013: 100%2014: 89%2015: 94%2016: 77%2017: 91%2019: 86%2020: 75%2021: 100%2022: 100%2023: 100%100%2018: Fall 2018: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years

First-year retention at Pontifical College Josephinum rose from 75% (Fall 2002) to 91% (Fall 2017).

Cohorts at Pontifical College Josephinum run small — a few students either way swings Pontifical College Josephinum's percentages hard.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2002 cohort75%
Fall 2003 cohort80%
Fall 2004 cohort78%
Fall 2005 cohort50%
Fall 2006 cohort64%
Fall 2007 cohort55%
Fall 2008 cohort27%
Fall 2009 cohort67%
Fall 2010 cohort67%
Fall 2011 cohort100%
Fall 2012 cohort84%
Fall 2013 cohort100%
Fall 2014 cohort89%
Fall 2015 cohort94%
Fall 2016 cohort77%
Fall 2017 cohort91%
Fall 2018 cohort—
Fall 2019 cohort86%
Fall 2020 cohort75%
Fall 2021 cohort100%
Fall 2022 cohort100%
Fall 2023 cohort100%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2002–2023
More about Pontifical College Josephinum

6.7% of Pontifical College Josephinum's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment. Carnegie classes Pontifical College Josephinum as a primarily residential campus of 60 undergraduates — and 100% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

Pontifical College Josephinum's Fall 2024 filing has no usable score range. Pontifical College Josephinum considered scores then; check today’s requirements.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Pontifical College Josephinum compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Pontifical College Josephinum$28,691
Ohio median$29,500
National median$19,591
View comparison data & dates
Pontifical College Josephinum, Ohio and national reference values
Metric & basisPontifical College JosephinumOhio medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$28,691$29,500$19,591

Frequently asked questions

What is Pontifical College Josephinum's acceptance rate?

We don't compute a rate from numbers this small. Pontifical College Josephinum's Fall 2024 filing: 24 applications, 23 offers, 23 enrolled.

How much does Pontifical College Josephinum cost?

At Pontifical College Josephinum, tuition is $28,691. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

Similar colleges in Ohio

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →