Skip to content

Colleges › New York › Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater

Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater

Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater is a private campus in New York City proper — federal locale codes class it as urban. International students are a visible presence at Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater — 22.4% of its 67 undergraduates come from outside the U.S.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
not reported
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
$29,636
$48–75k
$36,556
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only two of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$40,0232023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$10k$20k$30k$40k201020232010: $9,0032011: $8,6932012: $9,9782013: $25,7462014: $21,0972015: $27,4902016: $25,8522017: $29,0052018: $30,3582019: $33,6272020: $19,5802021: $33,8652022: $33,0962023: $40,023$40,023
$10k$20k$30k$40k201020232010: $9,0032011: $8,6932012: $9,9782013: $25,7462014: $21,0972015: $27,4902016: $25,8522017: $29,0052018: $30,3582019: $33,6272020: $19,5802021: $33,8652022: $33,0962023: $40,023$40,023

Average net price at Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater rose from $9,003 (2010) to $40,023 (2023).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2010$9,003
2011$8,693
2012$9,978
2013$25,746
2014$21,097
2015$27,490
2016$25,852
2017$29,005
2018$30,358
2019$33,627
2020$19,580
2021$33,865
2022$33,096
2023$40,023
IPEDS 14 federal reports, 2010–2023

Total cost of attendance

$44,7152024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$25k$30k$35k$40k$45k201420242014: $28,1652015: $25,5082016: $30,3742017: $28,4072018: $33,5282019: $33,6242020: $34,6602021: $26,9752022: $37,1592023: $39,5562024: $44,715$44,715
$30k$40k201420242014: $28,1652015: $25,5082016: $30,3742017: $28,4072018: $33,5282019: $33,6242020: $34,6602021: $26,9752022: $37,1592023: $39,5562024: $44,715$44,715

Total cost at Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater rose from $28,165 (2014) to $44,715 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2014$28,165
2015$25,508
2016$30,374
2017$28,407
2018$33,528
2019$33,624
2020$34,660
2021$26,975
2022$37,159
2023$39,556
2024$44,715
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2014–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$10k$13k$15k$18k200020232000: $9,7802014: $15,8002015: $15,8002016: $16,2002017: $16,2002018: $16,2002019: $16,2002020: $17,2002021: $17,2002022: $18,1002023: $18,400$18,400
$10k$13k$15k$18k200020232000: $9,7802014: $15,8002015: $15,8002016: $16,2002017: $16,2002018: $16,2002019: $16,2002020: $17,2002021: $17,2002022: $18,1002023: $18,400$18,400

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2000$9,780
2014$15,800
2015$15,800
2016$16,200
2017$16,200
2018$16,200
2019$16,200
2020$17,200
2021$17,200
2022$18,100
2023$18,400
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Reported tuition is $19,000 before grants and other attendance costs. At Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater, aid and other costs change the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Enrollment sits at 67 — Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater is one of the smaller campuses on this site.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$4k$6k$8k$10kLeft school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $10,125$10,125 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $3,005$3,005 left
$3k$5k$8k$10kLeft school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $10,125$10,125 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $3,005$3,005 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)——
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)—$6,625
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)—$6,625
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)—$6,625
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)——
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)—$6,625
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)—$3,005
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$10,125—
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$19,272
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$29,382
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies
Tests not considered · Fall 2024

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

In the Fall 2024 cycle, Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater received 15 applications and admitted 8, with 3 enrolling.

Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater did not consider scores in the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. No score range is displayed for Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater under that historical policy.

Check current requirements with admissions.

With an applicant pool this small, a percentage would be noise — Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater's numbers are reported as plain counts.

Acceptance rate

53.3%Fall 2024Skip to data table

The share of applicants offered a spot — lower means more selective; read it alongside the score ranges below.

60%80%100%201420242014: 64.3%2015: 77.4%2016: 66.1%2017: 80.2%2018: 54.5%2019: 54%2020: 100%2021: 60%2022: 72.2%2023: 70.6%2024: 53.3%53.3%
60%80%100%201420242014: 64.3%2015: 77.4%2016: 66.1%2017: 80.2%2018: 54.5%2019: 54%2020: 100%2021: 60%2022: 72.2%2023: 70.6%2024: 53.3%53.3%

The share admitted at Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater declined from 64.3% to 53.3%; this does not establish why. This describes Fall 2014 to Fall 2024.

Acceptance rate — data
YearAcceptance rate
Fall 201464.3%
Fall 201577.4%
Fall 201666.1%
Fall 201780.2%
Fall 201854.5%
Fall 201954%
Fall 2020100%
Fall 202160%
Fall 202272.2%
Fall 202370.6%
Fall 202453.3%
IPEDS Fall cycles 2014–2024

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

67Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

406080100200220242002: 952003: 832004: 872005: 852006: 832007: 692008: 962009: 912010: 642011: 852012: 582013: 872014: 802015: 812016: 762017: 982018: 832019: 702020: 442021: 812022: 642023: 712024: 6767
406080100200220242002: 952003: 832004: 872005: 852006: 832007: 692008: 962009: 912010: 642011: 852012: 582013: 872014: 802015: 812016: 762017: 982018: 832019: 702020: 442021: 812022: 642023: 712024: 6767

Undergraduate enrollment at Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater fell from 95 (Fall 2002) to 67 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 200295
Fall 200383
Fall 200487
Fall 200585
Fall 200683
Fall 200769
Fall 200896
Fall 200991
Fall 201064
Fall 201185
Fall 201258
Fall 201387
Fall 201480
Fall 201581
Fall 201676
Fall 201798
Fall 201883
Fall 201970
Fall 202044
Fall 202181
Fall 202264
Fall 202371
Fall 202467
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

40%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

20%40%60%80%100%200220232002: 40%2003: 50%2004: 50%2005: 50%2006: 50%2007: 61%2008: 42%2009: 39%2010: 55%2011: 21%2012: 100%2013: 94%2014: 95%2015: 95%2016: 51%2017: 70%2018: 53%2019: 25%2020: 100%2021: 44%2022: 60%2023: 40%40%
25%50%75%100%200220232002: 40%2003: 50%2004: 50%2005: 50%2006: 50%2007: 61%2008: 42%2009: 39%2010: 55%2011: 21%2012: 100%2013: 94%2014: 95%2015: 95%2016: 51%2017: 70%2018: 53%2019: 25%2020: 100%2021: 44%2022: 60%2023: 40%40%

First-year retention at Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater has wandered from Fall 2002 to Fall 2023 — up to 100% at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 40%.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2002 cohort40%
Fall 2003 cohort50%
Fall 2004 cohort50%
Fall 2005 cohort50%
Fall 2006 cohort50%
Fall 2007 cohort61%
Fall 2008 cohort42%
Fall 2009 cohort39%
Fall 2010 cohort55%
Fall 2011 cohort21%
Fall 2012 cohort100%
Fall 2013 cohort94%
Fall 2014 cohort95%
Fall 2015 cohort95%
Fall 2016 cohort51%
Fall 2017 cohort70%
Fall 2018 cohort53%
Fall 2019 cohort25%
Fall 2020 cohort100%
Fall 2021 cohort44%
Fall 2022 cohort60%
Fall 2023 cohort40%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2002–2023
More about Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater

16.9% of Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment.

Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater reported not considering test scores in Fall 2024. Review Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater's current requirements before applying; use the GPA calculator for your semester numbers.

Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater is a two-year institution — degrees run to the associate level — and Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater's page reads accordingly: admissions, cost, and outcomes.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater$19,000
New York median$17,408
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater$29,382
New York median$60,236
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater, New York and national reference values
Metric & basisNeighborhood Playhouse School of the TheaterNew York medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$19,000$17,408$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$29,382$60,236$53,781

Frequently asked questions

What is Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater's acceptance rate?

We don't compute a rate from numbers this small. Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater's Fall 2024 filing: 15 applications, 8 offers, 3 enrolled.

How much does Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater cost?

At Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater, tuition is $19,000. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theater report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $29,382. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in New York

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →