Skip to content

Colleges › California › Lionel University

Lionel University

Lionel University is a for-profit campus in suburban Carpinteria, CA. The federal record classifies this institution as distance-education-only. Check its official site for teaching locations, visits and any in-person requirements.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$29,845
family income
under $30k
$28,013
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only two of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Lionel University — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$29,4532023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$15k$20k$25k$30k201920232019: $17,1762020: $13,2132021: $23,5122022: $29,5392023: $29,453$29,453
$15k$20k$25k$30k201920232019: $17,1762020: $13,2132021: $23,5122022: $29,5392023: $29,453$29,453

Average net price at Lionel University rose from $17,176 (2019) to $29,453 (2023).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2019$17,176
2020$13,213
2021$23,512
2022$29,539
2023$29,453
IPEDS 5 federal reports, 2019–2023

Total cost of attendance

$31,8122024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$20k$25k$30k202020242020: $21,9002021: $17,7992022: $26,6312023: $31,8122024: $31,812$31,812
$20k$25k$30k202020242020: $21,9002021: $17,7992022: $26,6312023: $31,8122024: $31,812$31,812

Total cost at Lionel University rose from $21,900 (2020) to $31,812 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2020$21,900
2021$17,799
2022$26,631
2023$31,812
2024$31,812
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2020–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$8k$10k$12k$14k201520232015: $8,5282020: $10,1072021: $10,1072022: $15,2882023: $15,288$15,288
$8k$10k$12k$14k201520232015: $8,5282020: $10,1072021: $10,1072022: $15,2882023: $15,288$15,288

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2015$8,528
2020$10,107
2021$10,107
2022$15,288
2023$15,288
IPEDS Published price 2015–16 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Reported tuition is $15,265 before grants and other attendance costs. At Lionel University, aid and other costs change the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Enrollment sits at 370 — Lionel University is one of the smaller campuses on this site.

67.1% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Lionel University within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
67.1%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

40%60%80%100%entered 2015entered 2018entered 2015: 100%entered 2016: 79%entered 2017: 38.4%entered 2018: 67.1%67.1%
40%60%80%100%entered 2015entered 2018entered 2015: 100%entered 2016: 79%entered 2017: 38.4%entered 2018: 67.1%67.1%

The six-year graduation rate at Lionel University fell from 100% (entered 2015) to 67.1% (entered 2018).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Lionel University's entering classes are small — single students move the line, so read Lionel University's swings gently.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
2015 cohort100%
2016 cohort79%
2017 cohort38.4%
2018 cohort67.1%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 2015–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$3k$5k$8k$10k$13kLeft school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $11,910Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $13,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $12,668$12,668 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $7,000Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $7,167Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $6,334Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $5,000$5,000 left
$5k$10kLeft school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $11,910Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $13,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $12,668$12,668 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $7,000Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $7,167Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $6,334Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $5,000$5,000 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)—$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$10,500$7,000
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$11,910$7,167
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$13,000$6,334
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$12,668$5,000
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

Lionel University’s Fall 2024 filing reports open admission. No selective rate is shown; check Lionel University’s current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

370Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

300350400450500201520242015: 3682016: 3442017: 3212018: 3102019: 3792020: 4312021: 3902022: 5102023: 4802024: 370370
300400500201520242015: 3682016: 3442017: 3212018: 3102019: 3792020: 4312021: 3902022: 5102023: 4802024: 370370

Undergraduate enrollment at Lionel University has wandered from Fall 2015 to Fall 2024 — up to 510 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 370.

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 2015368
Fall 2016344
Fall 2017321
Fall 2018310
Fall 2019379
Fall 2020431
Fall 2021390
Fall 2022510
Fall 2023480
Fall 2024370
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2015–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

75%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

70%80%90%100%201420232014: 67%2019: 100%2020: 100%2021: 67%2022: 67%2023: 75%75%2015: Fall 2015: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years
70%80%90%100%201420232014: 67%2019: 100%2020: 100%2021: 67%2022: 67%2023: 75%75%2015: Fall 2015: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years

First-year retention at Lionel University fell from 100% (Fall 2019) to 75% (Fall 2023).

Lionel University's entering classes are small — single students move the line, so read Lionel University's swings gently.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2014 cohort67%
Fall 2015 cohort—
Fall 2019 cohort100%
Fall 2020 cohort100%
Fall 2021 cohort67%
Fall 2022 cohort67%
Fall 2023 cohort75%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2014–2023
More about Lionel University

44.7% of Lionel University's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment.

The Fall 2024 record classifies Lionel University as open admission. Review current entry requirements and the cost and outcome measures separately.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Lionel University compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Lionel University$15,265
California median$23,000
National median$19,591
View comparison data & dates
Lionel University, California and national reference values
Metric & basisLionel UniversityCalifornia medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$15,265$23,000$19,591

Frequently asked questions

How much does Lionel University cost?

At Lionel University, tuition is $15,265. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

Similar colleges in California

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →