Skip to content

Colleges › Illinois › Hebrew Theological College

Hebrew Theological College

Hebrew Theological College is a private campus in Skokie proper — federal locale codes class it as urban. The school reports a Jewish affiliation in its federal filings.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
not reported
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
$11,197
over $110k

Only one of the five income brackets was filed for the same year at Hebrew Theological College — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$26,8612023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$10k$15k$20k$25k$30k200820232008: $27,4902009: $27,1322010: $27,9522011: $29,2952012: $28,6862013: $28,8292014: $31,1882016: $25,0952017: $26,1912018: $15,2812019: $19,4852020: $14,0412021: $13,4512022: $11,1972023: $26,861$26,861
$10k$20k$30k200820232008: $27,4902009: $27,1322010: $27,9522011: $29,2952012: $28,6862013: $28,8292014: $31,1882016: $25,0952017: $26,1912018: $15,2812019: $19,4852020: $14,0412021: $13,4512022: $11,1972023: $26,861$26,861

Average net price at Hebrew Theological College has wandered from 2016 to 2023 — up to $26,861 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at $26,861.

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$27,490
2009$27,132
2010$27,952
2011$29,295
2012$28,686
2013$28,829
2014$31,188
2016$25,095
2017$26,191
2018$15,281
2019$19,485
2020$14,041
2021$13,451
2022$11,197
2023$26,861
IPEDS 15 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$35,5592024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$20k$25k$30k$35k200920242009: $32,3602010: $32,0902011: $33,5682012: $34,3722013: $33,9662014: $34,5582015: $36,6122017: $28,9942018: $33,3442019: $26,0042020: $28,1452021: $21,0302022: $21,1962023: $21,7422024: $35,559$35,559
$20k$25k$30k$35k200920242009: $32,3602010: $32,0902011: $33,5682012: $34,3722013: $33,9662014: $34,5582015: $36,6122017: $28,9942018: $33,3442019: $26,0042020: $28,1452021: $21,0302022: $21,1962023: $21,7422024: $35,559$35,559

Total cost at Hebrew Theological College rose from $28,994 (2017) to $35,559 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$32,360
2010$32,090
2011$33,568
2012$34,372
2013$33,966
2014$34,558
2015$36,612
2017$28,994
2018$33,344
2019$26,004
2020$28,145
2021$21,030
2022$21,196
2023$21,742
2024$35,559
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$14k$16k$18k$20k200020232000: $14,2002001: $14,5502002: $14,5502003: $15,1602004: $15,1602005: $15,1602006: $16,0202007: $16,9352008: $17,6052013: $18,6052014: $19,1902015: $19,9002016: $16,8602017: $17,6302018: $12,9202019: $13,3002020: $13,7602021: $13,7602022: $14,2002023: $14,700$14,700
$13k$15k$18k$20k200020232000: $14,2002001: $14,5502002: $14,5502003: $15,1602004: $15,1602005: $15,1602006: $16,0202007: $16,9352008: $17,6052013: $18,6052014: $19,1902015: $19,9002016: $16,8602017: $17,6302018: $12,9202019: $13,3002020: $13,7602021: $13,7602022: $14,2002023: $14,700$14,700

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2000$14,200
2001$14,550
2002$14,550
2003$15,160
2004$15,160
2005$15,160
2006$16,020
2007$16,935
2008$17,605
2013$18,605
2014$19,190
2015$19,900
2016$16,860
2017$17,630
2018$12,920
2019$13,300
2020$13,760
2021$13,760
2022$14,200
2023$14,700
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Reported tuition is $15,150 before grants and other attendance costs. At Hebrew Theological College, aid and other costs change the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Enrollment sits at 90 — Hebrew Theological College is one of the smaller campuses on this site.

50% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Hebrew Theological College within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
50%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

0%20%40%60%entered 1993entered 2018entered 1993: 16.7%entered 1994: 56.3%entered 1995: 51.7%entered 1996: 34.6%entered 1997: 20%entered 1998: 14.8%entered 1999: 15.7%entered 2000: 8.5%entered 2001: 9.9%entered 2002: 10.1%entered 2003: 5.8%entered 2004: 5.5%entered 2005: 5.7%entered 2006: 8.8%entered 2007: 4.8%entered 2008: 6.1%entered 2009: 13.6%entered 2010: 5.3%entered 2011: 7.1%entered 2012: 4.8%entered 2013: 4.2%entered 2014: 6.9%entered 2015: 5.5%entered 2016: 20.4%entered 2017: 73.1%entered 2018: 50%50%
0%20%40%60%entered 1993entered 2018entered 1993: 16.7%entered 1994: 56.3%entered 1995: 51.7%entered 1996: 34.6%entered 1997: 20%entered 1998: 14.8%entered 1999: 15.7%entered 2000: 8.5%entered 2001: 9.9%entered 2002: 10.1%entered 2003: 5.8%entered 2004: 5.5%entered 2005: 5.7%entered 2006: 8.8%entered 2007: 4.8%entered 2008: 6.1%entered 2009: 13.6%entered 2010: 5.3%entered 2011: 7.1%entered 2012: 4.8%entered 2013: 4.2%entered 2014: 6.9%entered 2015: 5.5%entered 2016: 20.4%entered 2017: 73.1%entered 2018: 50%50%

The six-year graduation rate at Hebrew Theological College rose from 16.7% (entered 1993) to 50% (entered 2018).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1993 cohort16.7%
1994 cohort56.3%
1995 cohort51.7%
1996 cohort34.6%
1997 cohort20%
1998 cohort14.8%
1999 cohort15.7%
2000 cohort8.5%
2001 cohort9.9%
2002 cohort10.1%
2003 cohort5.8%
2004 cohort5.5%
2005 cohort5.7%
2006 cohort8.8%
2007 cohort4.8%
2008 cohort6.1%
2009 cohort13.6%
2010 cohort5.3%
2011 cohort7.1%
2012 cohort4.8%
2013 cohort4.2%
2014 cohort6.9%
2015 cohort5.5%
2016 cohort20.4%
2017 cohort73.1%
2018 cohort50%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1993–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$5k$10k$15kLeft school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $14,000$14,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $2,940Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $8,453Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $7,667$7,667 left
$5k$10kLeft school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $14,000$14,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $2,940Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $8,453Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $7,667$7,667 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)—$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)—$2,940
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)—$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)—$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)—$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)—$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)—$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)—$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)—$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)—$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)—$8,453
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$14,000$7,667
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$32,793
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$32,809
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$33,291
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies
Test-optional (considered) · Fall 2024

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

In the Fall 2024 cycle, Hebrew Theological College received 14 applications and admitted 8, with 7 enrolling.

Hebrew Theological College: scores were considered but optional in the Fall 2024 admissions cycle.

Check current requirements with admissions.

Hebrew Theological College's Fall 2024 applicant pool was too small to carry a meaningful rate, so Hebrew Theological College's page reports headcounts only.

Acceptance rate

95%Fall 2017Skip to data table

The share of applicants offered a spot — lower means more selective; read it alongside the score ranges below.

87.5%90%92.5%95%97.5%200120242018201920202021202220232001: 97.7%2002: 96.3%2003: 94.6%2004: 94.9%2005: 96.5%2006: 96.5%2007: 96.4%2008: 97.2%2009: 90.7%2010: 91%2011: 97.3%2012: 87.5%2013: 93%2014: 92.8%2015: 96.8%2016: 91.5%2017: 95%95%2018: Fall 2018: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2019: Fall 2019: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2020: Fall 2020: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2021: Fall 2021: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2022: Fall 2022: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2023: Fall 2023: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2024: Fall 2024: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)
90%95%200120242001: 97.7%2002: 96.3%2003: 94.6%2004: 94.9%2005: 96.5%2006: 96.5%2007: 96.4%2008: 97.2%2009: 90.7%2010: 91%2011: 97.3%2012: 87.5%2013: 93%2014: 92.8%2015: 96.8%2016: 91.5%2017: 95%95%2018: Fall 2018: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2019: Fall 2019: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2020: Fall 2020: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2021: Fall 2021: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2022: Fall 2022: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2023: Fall 2023: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2024: Fall 2024: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)

Acceptance rate — data
YearAcceptance rate
Fall 200197.7%
Fall 200296.3%
Fall 200394.6%
Fall 200494.9%
Fall 200596.5%
Fall 200696.5%
Fall 200796.4%
Fall 200897.2%
Fall 200990.7%
Fall 201091%
Fall 201197.3%
Fall 201287.5%
Fall 201393%
Fall 201492.8%
Fall 201596.8%
Fall 201691.5%
Fall 201795%
Fall 2018—
Fall 2019—
Fall 2020—
Fall 2021—
Fall 2022—
Fall 2023—
Fall 2024—
IPEDS Fall cycles 2001–2024

SAT range (section sums, 25th–75th)

940–1170Fall 2017 · submittersSkip to data table

Sums of the reading/writing and math percentiles among enrolled submitters — not percentiles of total SAT scores or admission cutoffs.

90010001100120013002016 REDESIGN2003201720162003: 9302004: 10702005: 11002006: 11002007: 11052008: 11102009: 8702010: 9302011: 9102012: 9002013: 9102014: 9302015: 9402016: 9302017: 9409402003: 12002004: 12502005: 12602006: 12602007: 12702008: 12852009: 11802010: 11602011: 11402012: 11402013: 11502014: 11302015: 11702016: 12052017: 11701170
100012002016 REDESIGN2003201720162003: 9302004: 10702005: 11002006: 11002007: 11052008: 11102009: 8702010: 9302011: 9102012: 9002013: 9102014: 9302015: 9402016: 9302017: 9409402003: 12002004: 12502005: 12602006: 12602007: 12702008: 12852009: 11802010: 11602011: 11402012: 11402013: 11502014: 11302015: 11702016: 12052017: 11701170

SAT range (section sums) — data
Year25th75th
Fall 20039301200
Fall 200410701250
Fall 200511001260
Fall 200611001260
Fall 200711051270
Fall 200811101285
Fall 20098701180
Fall 20109301160
Fall 20119101140
Fall 20129001140
Fall 20139101150
Fall 20149301130
Fall 20159401170
Fall 20169301205
Fall 20179401170
IPEDS Fall 2003–2017, submitters only

ACT middle 50%

20–23Fall 2018 · submittersSkip to data table

The middle half of enrolled ACT submitters, using published composite-score percentiles — not admission cutoffs.

2025200920182009: 172010: 202011: 202012: 192013: 182014: 192015: 192016: 202017: 172018: 20202009: 242010: 242011: 262012: 242013: 242014: 252015: 252016: 272017: 252018: 2323
2025200920182009: 172010: 202011: 202012: 192013: 182014: 192015: 192016: 202017: 172018: 20202009: 242010: 242011: 262012: 242013: 242014: 252015: 252016: 272017: 252018: 2323

ACT middle 50% — data
Year25th75th
Fall 20091724
Fall 20102024
Fall 20112026
Fall 20121924
Fall 20131824
Fall 20141925
Fall 20151925
Fall 20162027
Fall 20171725
Fall 20182023
IPEDS Fall 2009–2018, submitters only

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

90Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

200400200220242002: 2592003: 3282004: 4032005: 4082006: 4222007: 4152008: 5372009: 3802010: 4872011: 4542012: 4822013: 4582014: 4042015: 4762016: 1992017: 1002018: 872019: 1072020: 1032021: 812022: 732023: 812024: 9090
200400200220242002: 2592003: 3282004: 4032005: 4082006: 4222007: 4152008: 5372009: 3802010: 4872011: 4542012: 4822013: 4582014: 4042015: 4762016: 1992017: 1002018: 872019: 1072020: 1032021: 812022: 732023: 812024: 9090

Undergraduate enrollment at Hebrew Theological College fell from 259 (Fall 2002) to 90 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 2002259
Fall 2003328
Fall 2004403
Fall 2005408
Fall 2006422
Fall 2007415
Fall 2008537
Fall 2009380
Fall 2010487
Fall 2011454
Fall 2012482
Fall 2013458
Fall 2014404
Fall 2015476
Fall 2016199
Fall 2017100
Fall 201887
Fall 2019107
Fall 2020103
Fall 202181
Fall 202273
Fall 202381
Fall 202490
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

86%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

0%25%50%75%100%200220232002: 58%2003: 69%2004: 67%2005: 6%2006: 10%2007: 4%2008: 6%2009: 10%2010: 9%2011: 27%2012: 22%2013: 23%2014: 22%2015: 39%2016: 94%2017: 88%2018: 89%2019: 86%2020: 87%2021: 92%2022: 100%2023: 86%86%
0%50%100%200220232002: 58%2003: 69%2004: 67%2005: 6%2006: 10%2007: 4%2008: 6%2009: 10%2010: 9%2011: 27%2012: 22%2013: 23%2014: 22%2015: 39%2016: 94%2017: 88%2018: 89%2019: 86%2020: 87%2021: 92%2022: 100%2023: 86%86%

First-year retention at Hebrew Theological College rose from 58% (Fall 2002) to 86% (Fall 2023).

Hebrew Theological College's first-year cohorts run about 2 students, so one or two moves Hebrew Theological College's line by whole percentage points.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2002 cohort58%
Fall 2003 cohort69%
Fall 2004 cohort67%
Fall 2005 cohort6%
Fall 2006 cohort10%
Fall 2007 cohort4%
Fall 2008 cohort6%
Fall 2009 cohort10%
Fall 2010 cohort9%
Fall 2011 cohort27%
Fall 2012 cohort22%
Fall 2013 cohort23%
Fall 2014 cohort22%
Fall 2015 cohort39%
Fall 2016 cohort94%
Fall 2017 cohort88%
Fall 2018 cohort89%
Fall 2019 cohort86%
Fall 2020 cohort87%
Fall 2021 cohort92%
Fall 2022 cohort100%
Fall 2023 cohort86%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2002–2023
More about Hebrew Theological College

12.8% of Hebrew Theological College's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment. Carnegie classes Hebrew Theological College as a primarily residential campus of 90 undergraduates — and 86.1% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

Hebrew Theological College's Fall 2024 filing has no usable score range. Hebrew Theological College considered scores then; check today’s requirements.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Hebrew Theological College compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Hebrew Theological College$15,150
Illinois median$31,360
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Hebrew Theological College's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Hebrew Theological College$33,291
Illinois median$58,572
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Hebrew Theological College, Illinois and national reference values
Metric & basisHebrew Theological CollegeIllinois medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$15,150$31,360$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$33,291$58,572$53,781

Frequently asked questions

What is Hebrew Theological College's acceptance rate?

We don't compute a rate from numbers this small. Hebrew Theological College's Fall 2024 filing: 14 applications, 8 offers, 7 enrolled.

How much does Hebrew Theological College cost?

At Hebrew Theological College, tuition is $15,150. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Hebrew Theological College report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $33,291. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Illinois

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →