Skip to content

Colleges › California › Golden Gate University

Golden Gate University

Golden Gate University is a private campus in San Francisco proper — federal locale codes class it as urban.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2008–09
family-income band
$8,732
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only one of the five income brackets was filed for the same year at Golden Gate University — this isn't a full distribution.

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$10k$20k$30k200020232000: $9,9362001: $10,3412002: $10,8002003: $11,2322004: $11,6102005: $12,1502006: $11,5202007: $12,2402008: $12,9602013: $14,4002014: $14,6402015: $14,6402016: $15,2052017: $16,0952023: $31,243$31,243
$10k$20k$30k200020232000: $9,9362001: $10,3412002: $10,8002003: $11,2322004: $11,6102005: $12,1502006: $11,5202007: $12,2402008: $12,9602013: $14,4002014: $14,6402015: $14,6402016: $15,2052017: $16,0952023: $31,243$31,243

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2000$9,936
2001$10,341
2002$10,800
2003$11,232
2004$11,610
2005$12,150
2006$11,520
2007$12,240
2008$12,960
2013$14,400
2014$14,640
2015$14,640
2016$15,205
2017$16,095
2023$31,243
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Enrollment sits at 259 — Golden Gate University is one of the smaller campuses on this site.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
20%entered Fall 2002Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

0%20%40%60%80%entered 1992entered 2002entered 1992: 59.1%entered 1993: 38.1%entered 1994: 89.5%entered 1995: 88.9%entered 1996: 47.4%entered 1997: 36.8%entered 1998: 5.6%entered 1999: 63.6%entered 2000: 50%entered 2001: 42.9%entered 2002: 20%20%
0%25%50%75%entered 1992entered 2002entered 1992: 59.1%entered 1993: 38.1%entered 1994: 89.5%entered 1995: 88.9%entered 1996: 47.4%entered 1997: 36.8%entered 1998: 5.6%entered 1999: 63.6%entered 2000: 50%entered 2001: 42.9%entered 2002: 20%20%

The six-year graduation rate at Golden Gate University fell from 59.1% (entered 1992) to 20% (entered 2002).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1992 cohort59.1%
1993 cohort38.1%
1994 cohort89.5%
1995 cohort88.9%
1996 cohort47.4%
1997 cohort36.8%
1998 cohort5.6%
1999 cohort63.6%
2000 cohort50%
2001 cohort42.9%
2002 cohort20%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1992–2002

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$10k$20k$30kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $13,182Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $10,891Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $11,750Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $11,750Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $17,729Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $17,365Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $20,750Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $21,000Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $15,750Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $10,250Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $13,125Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $15,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $23,355Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $25,125Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $25,375Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $28,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $30,125Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $28,375Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $29,748Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $30,625Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $29,875$29,875 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $10,375Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $9,453Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $9,458Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $7,688Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $8,500Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $9,125Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $6,250Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $9,516Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $12,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $12,500Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $15,941Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $17,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $16,984Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $15,368$15,368 left
$10k$20k$30kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $13,182Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $10,891Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $11,750Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $11,750Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $17,729Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $17,365Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $20,750Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $21,000Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $15,750Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $10,250Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $13,125Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $15,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $23,355Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $25,125Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $25,375Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $28,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $30,125Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $28,375Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $29,748Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $30,625Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $29,875$29,875 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $10,375Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $9,453Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $9,458Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $7,688Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $8,500Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $9,125Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $6,250Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $9,516Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $12,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $12,500Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $15,941Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $17,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $16,984Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $15,368$15,368 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)$13,182$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)$10,891$6,625
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)$11,750$10,500
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)$11,750$10,375
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)—$7,500
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)—$9,453
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)—$10,500
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)$17,729$10,500
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)$17,365$9,458
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)$20,750$7,500
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$21,000$7,688
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$15,750$8,500
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$10,250$9,125
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$13,125$7,500
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$15,500$6,250
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$23,355$9,516
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$25,125$10,500
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$25,375$12,500
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$28,500$10,500
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$30,125$12,500
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$28,375$15,941
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$29,748$17,500
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$30,625$16,984
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$29,875$15,368
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$81,704
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$86,645
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$87,434
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

259Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

200400600800200220242002: 8702003: 6862004: 6142005: 5672006: 4902007: 4922008: 4142009: 4042010: 4112011: 4662012: 5062013: 4702014: 4822015: 4512016: 4442017: 4152018: 4042019: 4872020: 5862021: 6792022: 6012023: 5502024: 259259
200400600800200220242002: 8702003: 6862004: 6142005: 5672006: 4902007: 4922008: 4142009: 4042010: 4112011: 4662012: 5062013: 4702014: 4822015: 4512016: 4442017: 4152018: 4042019: 4872020: 5862021: 6792022: 6012023: 5502024: 259259

Undergraduate enrollment at Golden Gate University fell from 870 (Fall 2002) to 259 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 2002870
Fall 2003686
Fall 2004614
Fall 2005567
Fall 2006490
Fall 2007492
Fall 2008414
Fall 2009404
Fall 2010411
Fall 2011466
Fall 2012506
Fall 2013470
Fall 2014482
Fall 2015451
Fall 2016444
Fall 2017415
Fall 2018404
Fall 2019487
Fall 2020586
Fall 2021679
Fall 2022601
Fall 2023550
Fall 2024259
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024
More about Golden Gate University

35.6% of Golden Gate University's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment.

Golden Gate University's Fall 2024 filing has no usable score range. Golden Gate University considered scores then; check today’s requirements.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Golden Gate University compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Golden Gate University's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Golden Gate University$87,434
California median$64,778
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Golden Gate University, California and national reference values
Metric & basisGolden Gate UniversityCalifornia medianNational median
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$87,434$64,778$53,781

Frequently asked questions

What earnings data does Golden Gate University report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $87,434. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in California

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →