Skip to content

Colleges › California › Southern California Seminary

Southern California Seminary

Southern California Seminary is a private campus in suburban El Cajon, CA. The school reports a Baptist affiliation in its federal filings.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2018–19
not reported
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
$33,984
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only one of the five income brackets was filed for the same year at Southern California Seminary — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$33,9842018–19Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$20k$25k$30k$35k200820182008: $21,0942009: $22,5712010: $26,3622011: $23,7462013: $35,0512014: $31,6782015: $25,7182016: $26,7552018: $33,984$33,984
$20k$25k$30k$35k200820182008: $21,0942009: $22,5712010: $26,3622011: $23,7462013: $35,0512014: $31,6782015: $25,7182016: $26,7552018: $33,984$33,984

Average net price at Southern California Seminary rose from $21,094 (2008) to $23,746 (2011).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$21,094
2009$22,571
2010$26,362
2011$23,746
2013$35,051
2014$31,678
2015$25,718
2016$26,755
2018$33,984
IPEDS 9 federal reports, 2008–2018

Total cost of attendance

$36,2132019–20Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$30k$35k$40k200920192009: $34,3442010: $28,1882011: $29,9022012: $29,6462014: $39,5742015: $37,8082016: $31,8932017: $32,9702019: $36,213$36,213
$30k$35k$40k200920192009: $34,3442010: $28,1882011: $29,9022012: $29,6462014: $39,5742015: $37,8082016: $31,8932017: $32,9702019: $36,213$36,213

Total cost at Southern California Seminary fell from $34,344 (2009) to $29,646 (2012).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$34,344
2010$28,188
2011$29,902
2012$29,646
2014$39,574
2015$37,808
2016$31,893
2017$32,970
2019$36,213
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2019

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$5k$10k$15k200120232001: $4,5152002: $7,2002003: $7,3802004: $7,5602005: $8,1002006: $8,6402007: $10,7402008: $11,8442013: $13,6922014: $14,2442015: $14,2442016: $14,2452017: $15,6002018: $17,5402019: $16,8842020: $16,8842021: $17,7362022: $18,2402023: $18,720$18,720
$5k$10k$15k200120232001: $4,5152002: $7,2002003: $7,3802004: $7,5602005: $8,1002006: $8,6402007: $10,7402008: $11,8442013: $13,6922014: $14,2442015: $14,2442016: $14,2452017: $15,6002018: $17,5402019: $16,8842020: $16,8842021: $17,7362022: $18,2402023: $18,720$18,720

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2001$4,515
2002$7,200
2003$7,380
2004$7,560
2005$8,100
2006$8,640
2007$10,740
2008$11,844
2013$13,692
2014$14,244
2015$14,244
2016$14,245
2017$15,600
2018$17,540
2019$16,884
2020$16,884
2021$17,736
2022$18,240
2023$18,720
IPEDS Published price 2001–02 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Reported tuition is $19,080 before grants and other attendance costs. At Southern California Seminary, aid and other costs change the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Enrollment sits at 32 — Southern California Seminary is one of the smaller campuses on this site.

50% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Southern California Seminary within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
50%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

40%60%80%100%entered 1996entered 2018entered 1996: 40%entered 1997: 50%entered 1998: 72.7%entered 1999: 100%entered 2000: 100%entered 2001: 50%entered 2002: 33.3%entered 2005: 33.3%entered 2008: 100%entered 2009: 85.7%entered 2010: 50%entered 2012: 33.3%entered 2018: 50%50%
40%60%80%100%entered 1996entered 2018entered 1996: 40%entered 1997: 50%entered 1998: 72.7%entered 1999: 100%entered 2000: 100%entered 2001: 50%entered 2002: 33.3%entered 2005: 33.3%entered 2008: 100%entered 2009: 85.7%entered 2010: 50%entered 2012: 33.3%entered 2018: 50%50%

The six-year graduation rate at Southern California Seminary fell from 40% (entered 1996) to 33.3% (entered 2002).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Southern California Seminary's entering classes are small — single students move the line, so read Southern California Seminary's swings gently.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1996 cohort40%
1997 cohort50%
1998 cohort72.7%
1999 cohort100%
2000 cohort100%
2001 cohort50%
2002 cohort33.3%
2005 cohort33.3%
2008 cohort100%
2009 cohort85.7%
2010 cohort50%
2012 cohort33.3%
2018 cohort50%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1996–2018

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$43,014
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$41,337
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$39,607
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

Southern California Seminary’s Fall 2024 filing reports open admission. No selective rate is shown; check Southern California Seminary’s current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

32Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

406080100200220242002: 962003: 842004: 812005: 662006: 802007: 722008: 662009: 692010: 792011: 982012: 742013: 682014: 622015: 602016: 762017: 512018: 502019: 432020: 502021: 462022: 312023: 302024: 3232
406080100200220242002: 962003: 842004: 812005: 662006: 802007: 722008: 662009: 692010: 792011: 982012: 742013: 682014: 622015: 602016: 762017: 512018: 502019: 432020: 502021: 462022: 312023: 302024: 3232

Undergraduate enrollment at Southern California Seminary fell from 96 (Fall 2002) to 32 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 200296
Fall 200384
Fall 200481
Fall 200566
Fall 200680
Fall 200772
Fall 200866
Fall 200969
Fall 201079
Fall 201198
Fall 201274
Fall 201368
Fall 201462
Fall 201560
Fall 201676
Fall 201751
Fall 201850
Fall 201943
Fall 202050
Fall 202146
Fall 202231
Fall 202330
Fall 202432
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

0%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

0%25%50%75%100%200320232003: 60%2004: 33%2005: 86%2006: 67%2007: 0%2008: 100%2009: 100%2010: 75%2012: 67%2013: 50%2014: 0%2016: 75%2018: 100%2023: 0%0%
0%50%100%200320232003: 60%2004: 33%2005: 86%2006: 67%2007: 0%2008: 100%2009: 100%2010: 75%2012: 67%2013: 50%2014: 0%2016: 75%2018: 100%2023: 0%0%

First-year retention at Southern California Seminary rose from 60% (Fall 2003) to 75% (Fall 2010).

Southern California Seminary's entering classes are small — single students move the line, so read Southern California Seminary's swings gently.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2003 cohort60%
Fall 2004 cohort33%
Fall 2005 cohort86%
Fall 2006 cohort67%
Fall 2007 cohort0%
Fall 2008 cohort100%
Fall 2009 cohort100%
Fall 2010 cohort75%
Fall 2012 cohort67%
Fall 2013 cohort50%
Fall 2014 cohort0%
Fall 2016 cohort75%
Fall 2018 cohort100%
Fall 2023 cohort0%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2003–2023
More about Southern California Seminary

34.4% of Southern California Seminary's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment. Carnegie classes Southern California Seminary as a primarily nonresidential campus — most of its 32 undergraduates live off campus, and 0% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

The Fall 2024 record classifies Southern California Seminary as open admission. Review current entry requirements and the cost and outcome measures separately.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Southern California Seminary compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Southern California Seminary$19,080
California median$23,000
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Southern California Seminary's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Southern California Seminary$39,607
California median$64,778
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Southern California Seminary, California and national reference values
Metric & basisSouthern California SeminaryCalifornia medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$19,080$23,000$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$39,607$64,778$53,781

Frequently asked questions

How much does Southern California Seminary cost?

At Southern California Seminary, tuition is $19,080. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Southern California Seminary report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $39,607. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in California

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →