Skip to content

Colleges › Virginia › Centra College

Centra College

Centra College is a private campus in Lynchburg proper — federal locale codes class it as urban.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$20,791
family income
under $30k
$22,291
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
$31,521
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only three of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Centra College — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$24,8682022–23Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$15k$20k$25k$30k200820222008: $13,3472009: $13,1822010: $16,8542017: $28,5572018: $32,7542019: $32,6622020: $28,8872021: $28,4182022: $24,868$24,868
$20k$30k200820222008: $13,3472009: $13,1822010: $16,8542017: $28,5572018: $32,7542019: $32,6622020: $28,8872021: $28,4182022: $24,868$24,868

Average net price at Centra College fell from $28,557 (2017) to $24,868 (2022).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$13,347
2009$13,182
2010$16,854
2017$28,557
2018$32,754
2019$32,662
2020$28,887
2021$28,418
2022$24,868
IPEDS 9 federal reports, 2008–2022

Total cost of attendance

$31,7712023–24Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$15k$20k$25k$30k$35k200920232009: $14,5742010: $14,4822011: $20,1842018: $32,0622019: $35,1852020: $35,2182021: $34,9092022: $34,9132023: $31,771$31,771
$20k$30k200920232009: $14,5742010: $14,4822011: $20,1842018: $32,0622019: $35,1852020: $35,2182021: $34,9092022: $34,9132023: $31,771$31,771

Total cost at Centra College has held near $31,771 from 2018 to 2023.

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$14,574
2010$14,482
2011$20,184
2018$32,062
2019$35,185
2020$35,218
2021$34,909
2022$34,913
2023$31,771
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2023

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$3k$5k$8k$10k$13k200020232000: $2,3202001: $2,4882002: $2,6112003: $3,0372004: $3,4002005: $5,5042006: $5,9742007: $6,0222008: $6,9072016: $11,4902017: $10,5282018: $12,3012019: $12,3252020: $12,3252021: $12,6642022: $12,2592023: $12,263$12,263
$5k$10k200020232000: $2,3202001: $2,4882002: $2,6112003: $3,0372004: $3,4002005: $5,5042006: $5,9742007: $6,0222008: $6,9072016: $11,4902017: $10,5282018: $12,3012019: $12,3252020: $12,3252021: $12,6642022: $12,2592023: $12,263$12,263

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2000$2,320
2001$2,488
2002$2,611
2003$3,037
2004$3,400
2005$5,504
2006$5,974
2007$6,022
2008$6,907
2016$11,490
2017$10,528
2018$12,301
2019$12,325
2020$12,325
2021$12,664
2022$12,259
2023$12,263
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Centra College reports published tuition of $12,983 in this record. Centra College's $12,983 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Centra College reports 219 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

100% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Centra College within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$5k$10k$15kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $6,371Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $5,652Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $5,171Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $5,791Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $6,000Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $6,746Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $11,395Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $12,043Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $12,243Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $10,640Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $8,311Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $10,667Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $13,443Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $13,761Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $13,761Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $8,938Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $12,250Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $15,750Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $13,084Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $14,223Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $14,098Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $15,250$15,250 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $2,218Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $2,278Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $2,125Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $2,125Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $2,640Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $2,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $2,188Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $3,556Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $3,993Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $3,556Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $3,556Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $3,566Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $3,668$3,668 left
$5k$10k$15kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $6,371Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $5,652Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $5,171Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $5,791Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $6,000Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $6,746Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $11,395Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $12,043Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $12,243Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $10,640Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $8,311Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $10,667Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $13,443Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $13,761Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $13,761Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $8,938Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $12,250Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $15,750Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $13,084Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $14,223Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $14,098Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $15,250$15,250 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $2,218Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $2,278Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $2,125Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $2,125Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $2,640Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $2,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $2,188Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $3,556Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $3,993Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $3,556Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $3,556Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $3,566Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $4,750Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $3,668$3,668 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)——
Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)$6,371$2,218
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)$5,652$2,278
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)$5,171$2,125
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)$5,791$2,125
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)$6,000—
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)$6,746—
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)$11,395$2,640
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)$12,043$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)$12,243$2,500
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$10,640$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$8,311$2,188
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$10,667$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$13,443$3,556
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$13,761$3,993
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$13,761$3,556
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$8,938$3,556
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$9,500$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$12,250$3,566
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$15,750—
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$13,084$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$14,223$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$14,098$4,750
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$15,250$3,668
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$60,052
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$49,574
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$60,122
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies
Tests not considered · Fall 2024

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

Centra College did not consider scores in the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. No score range is displayed for Centra College under that historical policy.

Check current requirements with admissions.

In the Fall 2024 cycle, Centra College received 2 applications and admitted 2, with 0 enrolling.

With an applicant pool this small, a percentage would be noise — Centra College's numbers are reported as plain counts.

Acceptance rate

42.4%Fall 2008Skip to data table

The share of applicants offered a spot — lower means more selective; read it alongside the score ranges below.

40%60%80%200120242005200620072009201020202021202220232001: 76.3%2002: 81.1%2003: 52.8%2004: 34.2%2008: 42.4%42.4%2005: Fall 2005: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2006: Fall 2006: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2007: Fall 2007: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2009: Fall 2009: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2010: Fall 2010: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2020: Fall 2020: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2021: Fall 2021: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2022: Fall 2022: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2023: Fall 2023: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2024: Fall 2024: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)
40%60%80%200120242001: 76.3%2002: 81.1%2003: 52.8%2004: 34.2%2008: 42.4%42.4%2005: Fall 2005: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2006: Fall 2006: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2007: Fall 2007: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2009: Fall 2009: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2010: Fall 2010: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2020: Fall 2020: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2021: Fall 2021: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2022: Fall 2022: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2023: Fall 2023: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2024: Fall 2024: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)

The share admitted at Centra College declined from 76.3% to 34.2%; this does not establish why. This describes Fall 2001 to Fall 2004.

Acceptance rate — data
YearAcceptance rate
Fall 200176.3%
Fall 200281.1%
Fall 200352.8%
Fall 200434.2%
Fall 2005—
Fall 2006—
Fall 2007—
Fall 200842.4%
Fall 2009—
Fall 2010—
Fall 2020—
Fall 2021—
Fall 2022—
Fall 2023—
Fall 2024—
IPEDS Fall cycles 2001–2024

SAT range (section sums, 25th–75th)

880–1060Fall 2010 · submittersSkip to data table

Sums of the reading/writing and math percentiles among enrolled submitters — not percentiles of total SAT scores or admission cutoffs.

800900100011001200200220102002: 8402003: 8102004: 8002005: 8952006: 9002007: 8402008: 9102009: 8902010: 8808802002: 10302003: 9802004: 10002005: 11902006: 10302007: 10902008: 10202009: 10702010: 10601060
80010001200200220102002: 8402003: 8102004: 8002005: 8952006: 9002007: 8402008: 9102009: 8902010: 8808802002: 10302003: 9802004: 10002005: 11902006: 10302007: 10902008: 10202009: 10702010: 10601060

SAT range (section sums) — data
Year25th75th
Fall 20028401030
Fall 2003810980
Fall 20048001000
Fall 20058951190
Fall 20069001030
Fall 20078401090
Fall 20089101020
Fall 20098901070
Fall 20108801060
IPEDS Fall 2002–2010, submitters only

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

219Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

200300200220242002: 1452003: 1582004: 1692005: 1762006: 1872007: 1752008: 1832009: 2052010: 2272011: 1902012: 1672013: 1442014: 1512015: 1422016: 1732017: 3022018: 3692019: 3692020: 3142021: 3042022: 2272023: 2122024: 219219
200300200220242002: 1452003: 1582004: 1692005: 1762006: 1872007: 1752008: 1832009: 2052010: 2272011: 1902012: 1672013: 1442014: 1512015: 1422016: 1732017: 3022018: 3692019: 3692020: 3142021: 3042022: 2272023: 2122024: 219219

Undergraduate enrollment at Centra College rose from 145 (Fall 2002) to 219 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 2002145
Fall 2003158
Fall 2004169
Fall 2005176
Fall 2006187
Fall 2007175
Fall 2008183
Fall 2009205
Fall 2010227
Fall 2011190
Fall 2012167
Fall 2013144
Fall 2014151
Fall 2015142
Fall 2016173
Fall 2017302
Fall 2018369
Fall 2019369
Fall 2020314
Fall 2021304
Fall 2022227
Fall 2023212
Fall 2024219
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

100%Fall 2022 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

40%60%80%100%200320222003: 89%2004: 50%2005: 64%2006: 43%2007: 67%2008: 80%2009: 57%2010: 67%2022: 100%100%
40%60%80%100%200320222003: 89%2004: 50%2005: 64%2006: 43%2007: 67%2008: 80%2009: 57%2010: 67%2022: 100%100%

First-year retention at Centra College fell from 89% (Fall 2003) to 67% (Fall 2010).

Cohorts at Centra College run small — a few students either way swings Centra College's percentages hard.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2003 cohort89%
Fall 2004 cohort50%
Fall 2005 cohort64%
Fall 2006 cohort43%
Fall 2007 cohort67%
Fall 2008 cohort80%
Fall 2009 cohort57%
Fall 2010 cohort67%
Fall 2022 cohort100%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2003–2022
More about Centra College

Faculty pay at Centra College averages $84,552 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay.

Centra College reported not considering test scores in Fall 2024. Review Centra College's current requirements before applying; use the GPA calculator for your semester numbers.

Centra College is primarily an associate's-degree school that also runs bachelor's programs; Centra College's page covers the bachelor's side.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Centra College compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Centra College$12,983
Virginia median$21,650
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Centra College's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Centra College$60,122
Virginia median$53,453
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Centra College, Virginia and national reference values
Metric & basisCentra CollegeVirginia medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$12,983$21,650$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$60,122$53,453$53,781

Frequently asked questions

What is Centra College's acceptance rate?

Centra College's applicant pool is too small to carry a meaningful rate. Fall 2024 as filed: 2 applied, 2 admitted, 0 enrolled.

How much does Centra College cost?

At Centra College, tuition is $12,983. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Centra College report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $60,122. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Virginia

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →