Skip to content

Colleges › Tennessee › American Baptist College

American Baptist College

American Baptist College is a private campus in Nashville proper — federal locale codes class it as urban. It is one of the nation's historically Black colleges and universities — a federally recognized designation. The school reports a Baptist affiliation in its federal filings.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$18,655
family income
under $30k
$20,252
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only two of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at American Baptist College — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$9,2162023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$10k$15k$20k$25k200820232008: $9,2702009: $13,0442010: $17,1852011: $13,7752012: $23,8982013: $14,0972014: $14,5202015: $18,0982016: $18,6512017: $22,3432018: $19,5812019: $20,6312020: $21,3552021: $19,1502022: $19,2942023: $9,216$9,216
$10k$15k$20k$25k200820232008: $9,2702009: $13,0442010: $17,1852011: $13,7752012: $23,8982013: $14,0972014: $14,5202015: $18,0982016: $18,6512017: $22,3432018: $19,5812019: $20,6312020: $21,3552021: $19,1502022: $19,2942023: $9,216$9,216

Average net price at American Baptist College has wandered from 2008 to 2023 — up to $23,898 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at $9,216.

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$9,270
2009$13,044
2010$17,185
2011$13,775
2012$23,898
2013$14,097
2014$14,520
2015$18,098
2016$18,651
2017$22,343
2018$19,581
2019$20,631
2020$21,355
2021$19,150
2022$19,294
2023$9,216
IPEDS 16 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$27,0442024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$15k$20k$25k200920242009: $14,9902010: $18,5442011: $19,7632012: $17,7002013: $26,0862014: $20,4492015: $21,6702016: $24,6812017: $24,7672018: $25,1362019: $24,8632020: $24,9722021: $28,0282022: $27,2082023: $27,2412024: $27,044$27,044
$15k$20k$25k200920242009: $14,9902010: $18,5442011: $19,7632012: $17,7002013: $26,0862014: $20,4492015: $21,6702016: $24,6812017: $24,7672018: $25,1362019: $24,8632020: $24,9722021: $28,0282022: $27,2082023: $27,2412024: $27,044$27,044

Total cost at American Baptist College rose from $14,990 (2009) to $27,044 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$14,990
2010$18,544
2011$19,763
2012$17,700
2013$26,086
2014$20,449
2015$21,670
2016$24,681
2017$24,767
2018$25,136
2019$24,863
2020$24,972
2021$28,028
2022$27,208
2023$27,241
2024$27,044
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$5k$8k$10k$13k200120232001: $4,2502002: $5,0022003: $3,5722004: $3,5722005: $4,2722006: $4,2722007: $4,8002008: $4,8002013: $9,3502014: $9,6102015: $10,0742016: $10,0742017: $10,0742018: $10,0742019: $12,4742020: $12,4742021: $12,4742022: $12,4742023: $12,474$12,474
$5k$10k200120232001: $4,2502002: $5,0022003: $3,5722004: $3,5722005: $4,2722006: $4,2722007: $4,8002008: $4,8002013: $9,3502014: $9,6102015: $10,0742016: $10,0742017: $10,0742018: $10,0742019: $12,4742020: $12,4742021: $12,4742022: $12,4742023: $12,474$12,474

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2001$4,250
2002$5,002
2003$3,572
2004$3,572
2005$4,272
2006$4,272
2007$4,800
2008$4,800
2013$9,350
2014$9,610
2015$10,074
2016$10,074
2017$10,074
2018$10,074
2019$12,474
2020$12,474
2021$12,474
2022$12,474
2023$12,474
IPEDS Published price 2001–02 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Reported tuition is $13,604 before grants and other attendance costs. At American Baptist College, aid and other costs change the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Enrollment sits at 46 — American Baptist College is one of the smaller campuses on this site.

38.9% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at American Baptist College within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
38.9%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

20%40%60%80%100%entered 1996entered 2018entered 1996: 76%entered 1997: 51.1%entered 1998: 43.5%entered 1999: 62.9%entered 2000: 91.7%entered 2001: 76.5%entered 2002: 100%entered 2003: 100%entered 2004: 100%entered 2005: 100%entered 2006: 55.6%entered 2007: 50%entered 2008: 40%entered 2009: 35.7%entered 2010: 21.4%entered 2011: 16.7%entered 2012: 20%entered 2013: 33.3%entered 2015: 27.3%entered 2016: 25%entered 2017: 33.3%entered 2018: 38.9%38.9%entered 2014: entered 2014: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years
25%50%75%100%entered 1996entered 2018entered 1996: 76%entered 1997: 51.1%entered 1998: 43.5%entered 1999: 62.9%entered 2000: 91.7%entered 2001: 76.5%entered 2002: 100%entered 2003: 100%entered 2004: 100%entered 2005: 100%entered 2006: 55.6%entered 2007: 50%entered 2008: 40%entered 2009: 35.7%entered 2010: 21.4%entered 2011: 16.7%entered 2012: 20%entered 2013: 33.3%entered 2015: 27.3%entered 2016: 25%entered 2017: 33.3%entered 2018: 38.9%38.9%entered 2014: entered 2014: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years

The six-year graduation rate at American Baptist College fell from 76% (entered 1996) to 33.3% (entered 2013).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Cohorts at American Baptist College run small — a few students either way swings American Baptist College's percentages hard.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1996 cohort76%
1997 cohort51.1%
1998 cohort43.5%
1999 cohort62.9%
2000 cohort91.7%
2001 cohort76.5%
2002 cohort100%
2003 cohort100%
2004 cohort100%
2005 cohort100%
2006 cohort55.6%
2007 cohort50%
2008 cohort40%
2009 cohort35.7%
2010 cohort21.4%
2011 cohort16.7%
2012 cohort20%
2013 cohort33.3%
2014 cohort—
2015 cohort27.3%
2016 cohort25%
2017 cohort33.3%
2018 cohort38.9%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1996–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$10k$20k$30k$40kLeft school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $30,625Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $41,000Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $43,000$43,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,875Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $14,250Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $19,000Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $19,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $14,765$14,765 left
$20k$40kLeft school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $30,625Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $41,000Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $43,000$43,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,875Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $14,250Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $19,000Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $19,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $14,765$14,765 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)—$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)—$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)—$5,875
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$25,000$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$30,625$9,500
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)—$14,250
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$41,000$19,000
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$43,000$19,000
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)—$14,765
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$32,665
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$32,200
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$41,216
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

American Baptist College’s Fall 2024 filing reports open admission. No selective rate is shown; check American Baptist College’s current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

46Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

50100150200220242002: 1412003: 1342004: 1032005: 1122006: 1552007: 1082008: 1062009: 902010: 932011: 932012: 1182013: 1412014: 1572015: 1572016: 1392017: 1152018: 1232019: 992020: 552021: 572022: 502023: 482024: 4646
50100150200220242002: 1412003: 1342004: 1032005: 1122006: 1552007: 1082008: 1062009: 902010: 932011: 932012: 1182013: 1412014: 1572015: 1572016: 1392017: 1152018: 1232019: 992020: 552021: 572022: 502023: 482024: 4646

Undergraduate enrollment at American Baptist College fell from 141 (Fall 2002) to 46 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 2002141
Fall 2003134
Fall 2004103
Fall 2005112
Fall 2006155
Fall 2007108
Fall 2008106
Fall 200990
Fall 201093
Fall 201193
Fall 2012118
Fall 2013141
Fall 2014157
Fall 2015157
Fall 2016139
Fall 2017115
Fall 2018123
Fall 201999
Fall 202055
Fall 202157
Fall 202250
Fall 202348
Fall 202446
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

100%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

40%60%80%100%200220232002: 86%2003: 86%2004: 46%2005: 76%2006: 89%2007: 100%2008: 70%2009: 70%2010: 60%2011: 50%2012: 60%2013: 67%2014: 67%2015: 73%2016: 62%2017: 67%2018: 77%2020: 100%2021: 83%2022: 80%2023: 100%100%2019: Fall 2019: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years
40%60%80%100%200220232002: 86%2003: 86%2004: 46%2005: 76%2006: 89%2007: 100%2008: 70%2009: 70%2010: 60%2011: 50%2012: 60%2013: 67%2014: 67%2015: 73%2016: 62%2017: 67%2018: 77%2020: 100%2021: 83%2022: 80%2023: 100%100%2019: Fall 2019: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years

First-year retention at American Baptist College fell from 86% (Fall 2002) to 77% (Fall 2018).

Cohorts at American Baptist College run small — a few students either way swings American Baptist College's percentages hard.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2002 cohort86%
Fall 2003 cohort86%
Fall 2004 cohort46%
Fall 2005 cohort76%
Fall 2006 cohort89%
Fall 2007 cohort100%
Fall 2008 cohort70%
Fall 2009 cohort70%
Fall 2010 cohort60%
Fall 2011 cohort50%
Fall 2012 cohort60%
Fall 2013 cohort67%
Fall 2014 cohort67%
Fall 2015 cohort73%
Fall 2016 cohort62%
Fall 2017 cohort67%
Fall 2018 cohort77%
Fall 2019 cohort—
Fall 2020 cohort100%
Fall 2021 cohort83%
Fall 2022 cohort80%
Fall 2023 cohort100%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2002–2023
More about American Baptist College

56.3% of American Baptist College's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment. Carnegie classes American Baptist College as a primarily residential campus of 46 undergraduates — and 100% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

The Fall 2024 record classifies American Baptist College as open admission. Review current entry requirements and the cost and outcome measures separately.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How American Baptist College compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

American Baptist College$13,604
Tennessee median$21,400
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

American Baptist College's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

American Baptist College$41,216
Tennessee median$48,382
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
American Baptist College, Tennessee and national reference values
Metric & basisAmerican Baptist CollegeTennessee medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$13,604$21,400$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$41,216$48,382$53,781

Frequently asked questions

How much does American Baptist College cost?

At American Baptist College, tuition is $13,604. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does American Baptist College report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $41,216. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Tennessee

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →