Skip to content

Colleges › Minnesota › Walden University

Walden University

Walden University is a for-profit campus in Minneapolis proper — federal locale codes class it as urban. The federal record classifies this institution as distance-education-only. Check its official site for teaching locations, visits and any in-person requirements.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2020–21
not reported
family income
under $30k
$18,325
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only one of the five income brackets was filed for the same year at Walden University — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$33,8172023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$15k$20k$25k$30k$35k200920232009: $14,9602010: $24,5662013: $27,8512014: $29,1412017: $21,2762020: $18,3252023: $33,817$33,817
$20k$30k200920232009: $14,9602010: $24,5662013: $27,8512014: $29,1412017: $21,2762020: $18,3252023: $33,817$33,817

Average net price at Walden University rose from $14,960 (2009) to $24,566 (2010).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2009$14,960
2010$24,566
2013$27,851
2014$29,141
2017$21,276
2020$18,325
2023$33,817
IPEDS 7 federal reports, 2009–2023

Total cost of attendance

$35,3582024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$20k$25k$30k$35k200920242009: $20,1202010: $19,7802011: $27,8072014: $30,9302015: $31,4402018: $25,0652021: $24,2402024: $35,358$35,358
$20k$25k$30k$35k200920242009: $20,1202010: $19,7802011: $27,8072014: $30,9302015: $31,4402018: $25,0652021: $24,2402024: $35,358$35,358

Total cost at Walden University rose from $20,120 (2009) to $27,807 (2011).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$20,120
2010$19,780
2011$27,807
2014$30,930
2015$31,440
2018$25,065
2021$24,240
2024$35,358
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$12k$12k$12k$12k$13k200820232008: $12,0002013: $11,4602014: $12,2402015: $12,0752016: $12,0752017: $12,4652018: $12,1202019: $12,1502020: $12,1802021: $12,1802022: $12,4832023: $12,498$12,498
$12k$12k$13k200820232008: $12,0002013: $11,4602014: $12,2402015: $12,0752016: $12,0752017: $12,4652018: $12,1202019: $12,1502020: $12,1802021: $12,1802022: $12,4832023: $12,498$12,498

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2008$12,000
2013$11,460
2014$12,240
2015$12,075
2016$12,075
2017$12,465
2018$12,120
2019$12,150
2020$12,180
2021$12,180
2022$12,483
2023$12,498
IPEDS Published price 2008–09 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Reported tuition is $12,762 before grants and other attendance costs. At Walden University, aid and other costs change the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

At 9,136 undergrads, Walden University is a mid-sized campus by U.S. standards.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
33.3%entered Fall 2013Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

25%50%75%100%entered 2008entered 2013entered 2008: 33.3%entered 2010: 11.1%entered 2011: 100%entered 2013: 33.3%33.3%
50%100%entered 2008entered 2013entered 2008: 33.3%entered 2010: 11.1%entered 2011: 100%entered 2013: 33.3%33.3%

The six-year graduation rate at Walden University rose from 11.1% (entered 2010) to 100% (entered 2011).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Walden University's entering classes are small — single students move the line, so read Walden University's swings gently.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
2008 cohort33.3%
2010 cohort11.1%
2011 cohort100%
2013 cohort33.3%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 2008–2013

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$10k$20k$30kLeft school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $14,334Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $14,084Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $17,955Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $22,179Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $22,584Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $22,501Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $25,488Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $27,542Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $29,023Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $27,168Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $24,028Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $22,251Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $21,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $20,834Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $20,834$20,834 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,000Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $5,001Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $5,334Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $6,334Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $6,334Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $7,000Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $7,582Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $7,000Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $6,333Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $6,333Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $7,000Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $8,334Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $8,333Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $8,333Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $8,275Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $8,200$8,200 left
$10k$20k$30kLeft school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $14,334Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $14,084Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $17,955Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $22,179Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $22,584Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $22,501Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $25,488Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $27,542Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $29,023Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $27,168Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $24,028Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $22,251Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $21,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $20,834Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $20,834$20,834 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,000Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $5,001Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $5,334Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $6,334Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $6,334Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $7,000Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $7,582Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $7,000Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $6,333Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $6,333Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $7,000Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $8,334Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $8,333Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $8,333Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $8,275Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $8,200$8,200 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)$14,334$5,000
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)$14,084$5,001
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$17,955$5,334
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$22,179$6,334
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$22,584$6,334
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$22,501$7,000
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$25,488$7,582
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$27,542$7,000
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$29,023$6,333
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$27,168$6,333
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$25,000$7,000
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$24,028$8,334
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$22,251$8,333
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$21,500$8,333
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$20,834$8,275
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$20,834$8,200
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$50,657
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$47,015
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$42,810
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

Walden University’s Fall 2024 filing reports open admission. No selective rate is shown; check Walden University’s current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

9,136Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

03k5k8k10k200320242003: 1512004: 3942005: 1,2292006: 1,4342007: 1,3692008: 2,4662009: 5,2182010: 9,2452011: 8,5592012: 8,5582013: 8,0642014: 8,6582015: 7,8152016: 7,3292017: 6,5382018: 6,9102019: 6,9482020: 7,5952021: 7,0862022: 6,2742023: 7,3372024: 9,1369,136
05k10k200320242003: 1512004: 3942005: 1,2292006: 1,4342007: 1,3692008: 2,4662009: 5,2182010: 9,2452011: 8,5592012: 8,5582013: 8,0642014: 8,6582015: 7,8152016: 7,3292017: 6,5382018: 6,9102019: 6,9482020: 7,5952021: 7,0862022: 6,2742023: 7,3372024: 9,1369,136

Undergraduate enrollment at Walden University rose from 151 (Fall 2003) to 9,136 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 2003151
Fall 2004394
Fall 20051,229
Fall 20061,434
Fall 20071,369
Fall 20082,466
Fall 20095,218
Fall 20109,245
Fall 20118,559
Fall 20128,558
Fall 20138,064
Fall 20148,658
Fall 20157,815
Fall 20167,329
Fall 20176,538
Fall 20186,910
Fall 20196,948
Fall 20207,595
Fall 20217,086
Fall 20226,274
Fall 20237,337
Fall 20249,136
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2003–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

0%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

0%25%50%75%100%200820232008: 80%2009: 29%2010: 28%2011: 100%2013: 33%2014: 0%2017: 50%2019: 33%2020: 25%2021: 0%2023: 0%0%
0%50%100%200820232008: 80%2009: 29%2010: 28%2011: 100%2013: 33%2014: 0%2017: 50%2019: 33%2020: 25%2021: 0%2023: 0%0%

First-year retention at Walden University rose from 80% (Fall 2008) to 100% (Fall 2011).

Walden University's entering classes are small — single students move the line, so read Walden University's swings gently.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2008 cohort80%
Fall 2009 cohort29%
Fall 2010 cohort28%
Fall 2011 cohort100%
Fall 2013 cohort33%
Fall 2014 cohort0%
Fall 2017 cohort50%
Fall 2019 cohort33%
Fall 2020 cohort25%
Fall 2021 cohort0%
Fall 2023 cohort0%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2008–2023
More about Walden University

55.2% of Walden University's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment. Carnegie classes Walden University as a primarily nonresidential campus — most of its 9,136 undergraduates live off campus, and 0% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

The Fall 2024 record classifies Walden University as open admission. Review current entry requirements and the cost and outcome measures separately.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Walden University compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Walden University$12,762
Minnesota median$22,520
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Walden University's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Walden University$42,810
Minnesota median$58,351
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Walden University, Minnesota and national reference values
Metric & basisWalden UniversityMinnesota medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$12,762$22,520$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$42,810$58,351$53,781

Published earnings by bachelor's field of study

For Walden University, these are federal subject groups (CIP), not departments. Median is the middle annual income.

Walden University federal-aid recipients · graduated 2017–18 or 2018–19 · income measured 2022 or 2023 · inflation-adjusted to 2024 dollars. Definitions and limits.

View 12 fields & earnings
Bachelor's field of study (CIP category)Median earnings, 4 yrs after completion
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$106,892
Computer and Information Sciences, General$89,230
Business/Corporate Communications$74,633
Business Administration, Management and Operations$66,978
Public Health$63,061
Accounting and Related Services$62,148
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$61,434
Health and Medical Administrative Services$58,602
Psychology, General$55,974
Human Services, General$55,040
Criminal Justice and Corrections$52,456
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$43,103

These 12 fields listed for Walden University measure earnings after completion. The $42,810 institution-level snapshot above measures earnings after entry; it is not the same cohort or a total for these fields. 8 additional Walden University fields have earnings withheld under federal privacy rules.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Walden University cost?

At Walden University, tuition is $12,762. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Walden University report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $42,810. Major figures measure four years after completion. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Minnesota

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Field-of-study cohort dates are shown with the table. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →