Skip to content

Colleges › Minnesota › Northwestern Health Sciences University

Northwestern Health Sciences University

Northwestern Health Sciences University is a private campus in Bloomington proper — federal locale codes class it as urban.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$29,794
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only one of the five income brackets was filed for the same year at Northwestern Health Sciences University — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$35,8872023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$20k$30k200820232008: $35,1122009: $24,0112010: $14,6492011: $16,4192012: $19,5792013: $19,5922014: $20,4912015: $22,6232016: $14,1452017: $21,6422019: $19,1322020: $23,5672021: $27,7152022: $29,7942023: $35,887$35,887
$20k$30k200820232008: $35,1122009: $24,0112010: $14,6492011: $16,4192012: $19,5792013: $19,5922014: $20,4912015: $22,6232016: $14,1452017: $21,6422019: $19,1322020: $23,5672021: $27,7152022: $29,7942023: $35,887$35,887

Average net price at Northwestern Health Sciences University fell from $35,112 (2008) to $21,642 (2017).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$35,112
2009$24,011
2010$14,649
2011$16,419
2012$19,579
2013$19,592
2014$20,491
2015$22,623
2016$14,145
2017$21,642
2019$19,132
2020$23,567
2021$27,715
2022$29,794
2023$35,887
IPEDS 15 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$39,8632024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$20k$30k$40k200920242009: $35,1622010: $24,0612011: $18,9422012: $20,8252013: $23,9832014: $24,9902015: $25,1142016: $27,9542017: $17,5962018: $24,0692020: $25,9852021: $26,9582022: $30,6002023: $36,5012024: $39,863$39,863
$20k$30k$40k200920242009: $35,1622010: $24,0612011: $18,9422012: $20,8252013: $23,9832014: $24,9902015: $25,1142016: $27,9542017: $17,5962018: $24,0692020: $25,9852021: $26,9582022: $30,6002023: $36,5012024: $39,863$39,863

Total cost at Northwestern Health Sciences University fell from $35,162 (2009) to $24,069 (2018).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$35,162
2010$24,061
2011$18,942
2012$20,825
2013$23,983
2014$24,990
2015$25,114
2016$27,954
2017$17,596
2018$24,069
2020$25,985
2021$26,958
2022$30,600
2023$36,501
2024$39,863
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$9k$10k$11k$12k$13k200220232002: $8,5952003: $8,8652004: $9,3602005: $9,7922006: $10,2962007: $11,4282008: $12,0702013: $11,8802014: $11,6362015: $11,6362016: $10,3962017: $10,6842018: $10,9962019: $12,7802020: $11,7002021: $11,7002022: $11,0072023: $12,015$12,015
$10k$12k200220232002: $8,5952003: $8,8652004: $9,3602005: $9,7922006: $10,2962007: $11,4282008: $12,0702013: $11,8802014: $11,6362015: $11,6362016: $10,3962017: $10,6842018: $10,9962019: $12,7802020: $11,7002021: $11,7002022: $11,0072023: $12,015$12,015

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2002$8,595
2003$8,865
2004$9,360
2005$9,792
2006$10,296
2007$11,428
2008$12,070
2013$11,880
2014$11,636
2015$11,636
2016$10,396
2017$10,684
2018$10,996
2019$12,780
2020$11,700
2021$11,700
2022$11,007
2023$12,015
IPEDS Published price 2002–03 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Reported tuition is $12,015 before grants and other attendance costs. At Northwestern Health Sciences University, aid and other costs change the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Enrollment sits at 271 — Northwestern Health Sciences University is one of the smaller campuses on this site.

0% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Northwestern Health Sciences University within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
100%entered Fall 2017Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

20%40%60%80%100%entered 2000entered 2017entered 2000: 66.7%entered 2002: 100%entered 2003: 66.7%entered 2004: 80%entered 2005: 78.6%entered 2006: 71.4%entered 2007: 66.7%entered 2009: 25%entered 2010: 55.6%entered 2011: 66.7%entered 2012: 42.9%entered 2013: 44.4%entered 2014: 66.7%entered 2015: 100%entered 2017: 100%100%
25%50%75%100%entered 2000entered 2017entered 2000: 66.7%entered 2002: 100%entered 2003: 66.7%entered 2004: 80%entered 2005: 78.6%entered 2006: 71.4%entered 2007: 66.7%entered 2009: 25%entered 2010: 55.6%entered 2011: 66.7%entered 2012: 42.9%entered 2013: 44.4%entered 2014: 66.7%entered 2015: 100%entered 2017: 100%100%

The six-year graduation rate at Northwestern Health Sciences University rose from 25% (entered 2009) to 100% (entered 2015).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Northwestern Health Sciences University's first-year cohorts run about 3 students, so one or two moves Northwestern Health Sciences University's line by whole percentage points.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
2000 cohort66.7%
2002 cohort100%
2003 cohort66.7%
2004 cohort80%
2005 cohort78.6%
2006 cohort71.4%
2007 cohort66.7%
2009 cohort25%
2010 cohort55.6%
2011 cohort66.7%
2012 cohort42.9%
2013 cohort44.4%
2014 cohort66.7%
2015 cohort100%
2017 cohort100%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 2000–2017

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$0$3k$5k$8k$10kLeft school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $6,000Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $500Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $2,000Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $3,850Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $5,150Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $5,850Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $7,316Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $7,600Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $8,300Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $8,300Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $9,240Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $7,718Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $7,500$7,500 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $7,274Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $3,032Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $5,162Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,250Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $7,320Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $8,879Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $8,250Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $5,267Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $4,158Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,158Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $6,450Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $7,777Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $7,900Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $9,175Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $8,250Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $8,000Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $8,250Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $8,903$8,903 left
$0$5k$10kLeft school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $6,000Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $500Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $2,000Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $3,850Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $5,150Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $5,850Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $7,316Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $7,600Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $8,300Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $8,300Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $9,240Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $7,718Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $7,500$7,500 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $7,274Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $3,032Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $5,162Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,250Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $7,320Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $8,879Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $8,250Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $5,267Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $4,158Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,158Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $6,450Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $7,777Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $7,900Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $9,175Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $8,250Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $8,000Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $8,250Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $8,903$8,903 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)$5,500$7,274
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)$5,500—
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)$5,500$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)$5,500$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)$5,500$3,032
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)$5,500$5,162
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)$5,500$5,250
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)$5,500$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$6,000$7,320
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$500$8,879
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$2,000$8,250
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$3,850$5,267
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$5,150$4,158
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$5,850$4,158
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$7,316$6,450
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$7,600$7,777
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$8,300$7,900
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$8,300$9,175
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$9,240$8,250
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$10,500$8,000
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$7,718$8,250
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$7,500$8,903
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$43,760
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$48,409
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$48,666
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

Northwestern Health Sciences University’s Fall 2024 filing reports open admission. No selective rate is shown; check Northwestern Health Sciences University’s current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

271Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

50100150200250200220242002: 642003: 602004: 602006: 632007: 822008: 682009: 1022010: 1252011: 1222012: 1122013: 1132014: 1192015: 1632016: 912018: 912019: 1732020: 2372021: 2492022: 2272023: 2512024: 2712712005: Fall 2005: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years2017: Fall 2017: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years
100200200220242002: 642003: 602004: 602006: 632007: 822008: 682009: 1022010: 1252011: 1222012: 1122013: 1132014: 1192015: 1632016: 912018: 912019: 1732020: 2372021: 2492022: 2272023: 2512024: 2712712005: Fall 2005: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years2017: Fall 2017: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years

Undergraduate enrollment at Northwestern Health Sciences University rose from 63 (Fall 2006) to 91 (Fall 2016).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 200264
Fall 200360
Fall 200460
Fall 2005—
Fall 200663
Fall 200782
Fall 200868
Fall 2009102
Fall 2010125
Fall 2011122
Fall 2012112
Fall 2013113
Fall 2014119
Fall 2015163
Fall 201691
Fall 2017—
Fall 201891
Fall 2019173
Fall 2020237
Fall 2021249
Fall 2022227
Fall 2023251
Fall 2024271
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

50%Fall 2013 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

60%80%100%200220132002: 83%2003: 100%2004: 90%2005: 79%2011: 83%2013: 50%50%
60%80%100%200220132002: 83%2003: 100%2004: 90%2005: 79%2011: 83%2013: 50%50%

First-year retention at Northwestern Health Sciences University has wandered from Fall 2002 to Fall 2005 — up to 100% at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 79%.

Northwestern Health Sciences University's first-year cohorts run about 3 students, so one or two moves Northwestern Health Sciences University's line by whole percentage points.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2002 cohort83%
Fall 2003 cohort100%
Fall 2004 cohort90%
Fall 2005 cohort79%
Fall 2011 cohort83%
Fall 2013 cohort50%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2002–2013
More about Northwestern Health Sciences University

27.7% of Northwestern Health Sciences University's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment.

The Fall 2024 record classifies Northwestern Health Sciences University as open admission. Review current entry requirements and the cost and outcome measures separately.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Northwestern Health Sciences University compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Northwestern Health Sciences University$12,015
Minnesota median$22,520
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Northwestern Health Sciences University's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Northwestern Health Sciences University$48,666
Minnesota median$58,351
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Northwestern Health Sciences University, Minnesota and national reference values
Metric & basisNorthwestern Health Sciences UniversityMinnesota medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$12,015$22,520$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$48,666$58,351$53,781

Frequently asked questions

How much does Northwestern Health Sciences University cost?

At Northwestern Health Sciences University, tuition is $12,015. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Northwestern Health Sciences University report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $48,666. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Minnesota

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →