Skip to content

Colleges › Washington › Seattle Film Institute

Seattle Film Institute

Seattle Film Institute is a for-profit campus in Seattle proper — federal locale codes class it as urban.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$37,755
family income
under $30k
$40,601
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
$47,354
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only three of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Seattle Film Institute — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$41,5952023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$35k$38k$40k$43k$45k201620232016: $41,8422017: $39,5152018: $45,7162019: $36,8452020: $36,0542021: $36,3342022: $41,4292023: $41,595$41,595
$35k$40k$45k201620232016: $41,8422017: $39,5152018: $45,7162019: $36,8452020: $36,0542021: $36,3342022: $41,4292023: $41,595$41,595

Average net price at Seattle Film Institute has wandered from 2016 to 2023 — up to $45,716 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at $41,595.

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2016$41,842
2017$39,515
2018$45,716
2019$36,845
2020$36,054
2021$36,334
2022$41,429
2023$41,595
IPEDS 8 federal reports, 2016–2023

Total cost of attendance

$55,4962024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$45k$50k$55k201720242017: $44,7002018: $44,9922019: $49,0762020: $46,1812021: $44,2842022: $48,3772023: $47,4962024: $55,496$55,496
$45k$50k$55k201720242017: $44,7002018: $44,9922019: $49,0762020: $46,1812021: $44,2842022: $48,3772023: $47,4962024: $55,496$55,496

Total cost at Seattle Film Institute rose from $44,700 (2017) to $55,496 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2017$44,700
2018$44,992
2019$49,076
2020$46,181
2021$44,284
2022$48,377
2023$47,496
2024$55,496
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2017–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$30k$31k$32k$33k201620232016: $30,2402017: $30,2402018: $30,2402019: $30,2402020: $30,2402021: $30,2402022: $33,0002023: $33,000$33,000
$30k$31k$32k$33k201620232016: $30,2402017: $30,2402018: $30,2402019: $30,2402020: $30,2402021: $30,2402022: $33,0002023: $33,000$33,000

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2016$30,240
2017$30,240
2018$30,240
2019$30,240
2020$30,240
2021$30,240
2022$33,000
2023$33,000
IPEDS Published price 2016–17 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Seattle Film Institute reports published tuition of $33,000 in this record. Seattle Film Institute's $33,000 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Seattle Film Institute reports 65 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

57.1% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Seattle Film Institute within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
57.1%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

60%80%100%entered 2010entered 2018entered 2010: 100%entered 2011: 70%entered 2012: 100%entered 2013: 85.7%entered 2014: 75%entered 2015: 71.4%entered 2016: 66.7%entered 2017: 88.9%entered 2018: 57.1%57.1%
60%80%100%entered 2010entered 2018entered 2010: 100%entered 2011: 70%entered 2012: 100%entered 2013: 85.7%entered 2014: 75%entered 2015: 71.4%entered 2016: 66.7%entered 2017: 88.9%entered 2018: 57.1%57.1%

The six-year graduation rate at Seattle Film Institute fell from 100% (entered 2010) to 57.1% (entered 2018).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Seattle Film Institute's first-year cohorts run about 4 students, so one or two moves Seattle Film Institute's line by whole percentage points.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
2010 cohort100%
2011 cohort70%
2012 cohort100%
2013 cohort85.7%
2014 cohort75%
2015 cohort71.4%
2016 cohort66.7%
2017 cohort88.9%
2018 cohort57.1%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 2010–2018

Median debt at exit

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

$12k$13k$13k$13kLeft school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $12,125Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $13,000$13,000
$13k$13kLeft school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $12,125Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $13,000$13,000

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearMedian debt
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$12,125
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$13,000
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

Seattle Film Institute reported open admission for Fall 2024. No selective rate is shown; check Seattle Film Institute's current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

65Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

50607080201620242016: 492017: 802018: 672019: 802020: 732021: 862022: 692023: 602024: 6565
6080201620242016: 492017: 802018: 672019: 802020: 732021: 862022: 692023: 602024: 6565

Undergraduate enrollment at Seattle Film Institute rose from 49 (Fall 2016) to 65 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 201649
Fall 201780
Fall 201867
Fall 201980
Fall 202073
Fall 202186
Fall 202269
Fall 202360
Fall 202465
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2016–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

78%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

50%60%70%80%90%201920232019: 75%2020: 89%2021: 50%2022: 73%2023: 78%78%
60%80%201920232019: 75%2020: 89%2021: 50%2022: 73%2023: 78%78%

First-year retention at Seattle Film Institute has wandered from Fall 2019 to Fall 2023 — up to 89% at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 78%.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2019 cohort75%
Fall 2020 cohort89%
Fall 2021 cohort50%
Fall 2022 cohort73%
Fall 2023 cohort78%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2019–2023
More about Seattle Film Institute

Faculty pay at Seattle Film Institute averages $67,500 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes Seattle Film Institute as a primarily nonresidential campus — most of its 65 undergraduates live off campus, and 77.8% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

Seattle Film Institute reported open admission in Fall 2024. Check today’s entry requirements.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Seattle Film Institute compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Seattle Film Institute$33,000
Washington median$19,614
National median$19,591
View comparison data & dates
Seattle Film Institute, Washington and national reference values
Metric & basisSeattle Film InstituteWashington medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$33,000$19,614$19,591

Frequently asked questions

How much does Seattle Film Institute cost?

At Seattle Film Institute, tuition is $33,000. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

Similar colleges in Washington

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →