Skip to content

Colleges › Alabama › Heritage Christian University

Heritage Christian University

Heritage Christian University is a private campus in Florence proper — federal locale codes class it as urban. The school reports a Churches of Christ affiliation in its federal filings.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2021–22
family-income band
$3,136
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
$5,962
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only two of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Heritage Christian University — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$15,4262023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$5k$8k$10k$13k$15k200820232008: $5,9032009: $12,5412010: $8,5302011: $15,3852012: $9,3462013: $10,3692014: $11,1942015: $9,0092018: $9,9902020: $4,8562021: $5,0202023: $15,426$15,426
$5k$10k$15k200820232008: $5,9032009: $12,5412010: $8,5302011: $15,3852012: $9,3462013: $10,3692014: $11,1942015: $9,0092018: $9,9902020: $4,8562021: $5,0202023: $15,426$15,426

Average net price at Heritage Christian University rose from $5,903 (2008) to $9,009 (2015).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$5,903
2009$12,541
2010$8,530
2011$15,385
2012$9,346
2013$10,369
2014$11,194
2015$9,009
2018$9,990
2020$4,856
2021$5,020
2023$15,426
IPEDS 12 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$20,9092024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$14k$16k$18k$20k200920242009: $14,3082010: $14,6392011: $14,0802012: $21,0872013: $21,1602014: $18,6312015: $19,5302016: $19,3532019: $20,6952021: $16,0242022: $17,8102024: $20,909$20,909
$15k$18k$20k200920242009: $14,3082010: $14,6392011: $14,0802012: $21,0872013: $21,1602014: $18,6312015: $19,5302016: $19,3532019: $20,6952021: $16,0242022: $17,8102024: $20,909$20,909

Total cost at Heritage Christian University rose from $14,308 (2009) to $19,353 (2016).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$14,308
2010$14,639
2011$14,080
2012$21,087
2013$21,160
2014$18,631
2015$19,530
2016$19,353
2019$20,695
2021$16,024
2022$17,810
2024$20,909
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$6k$8k$10k$12k200020232000: $4,9922001: $5,2322002: $5,4962003: $6,4562004: $6,8402005: $7,1522006: $7,4882007: $7,8482008: $7,9682013: $9,7922014: $9,7922015: $9,7922016: $9,7922017: $11,2322018: $11,2322019: $11,5322020: $11,5322021: $11,6322022: $11,6322023: $11,982$11,982
$5k$8k$10k$13k200020232000: $4,9922001: $5,2322002: $5,4962003: $6,4562004: $6,8402005: $7,1522006: $7,4882007: $7,8482008: $7,9682013: $9,7922014: $9,7922015: $9,7922016: $9,7922017: $11,2322018: $11,2322019: $11,5322020: $11,5322021: $11,6322022: $11,6322023: $11,982$11,982

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2000$4,992
2001$5,232
2002$5,496
2003$6,456
2004$6,840
2005$7,152
2006$7,488
2007$7,848
2008$7,968
2013$9,792
2014$9,792
2015$9,792
2016$9,792
2017$11,232
2018$11,232
2019$11,532
2020$11,532
2021$11,632
2022$11,632
2023$11,982
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Reported tuition is $11,982 before grants and other attendance costs. At Heritage Christian University, aid and other costs change the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Enrollment sits at 75 — Heritage Christian University is one of the smaller campuses on this site.

66.7% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Heritage Christian University within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
66.7%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

25%50%75%100%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 40%entered 1992: 75%entered 1993: 83.3%entered 1994: 100%entered 1995: 44.4%entered 1996: 75%entered 1997: 54.5%entered 1998: 20%entered 1999: 14.3%entered 2000: 42.9%entered 2001: 25%entered 2002: 60%entered 2004: 66.7%entered 2008: 50%entered 2010: 50%entered 2011: 25%entered 2012: 50%entered 2013: 80%entered 2014: 14.3%entered 2017: 50%entered 2018: 66.7%66.7%
25%50%75%100%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 40%entered 1992: 75%entered 1993: 83.3%entered 1994: 100%entered 1995: 44.4%entered 1996: 75%entered 1997: 54.5%entered 1998: 20%entered 1999: 14.3%entered 2000: 42.9%entered 2001: 25%entered 2002: 60%entered 2004: 66.7%entered 2008: 50%entered 2010: 50%entered 2011: 25%entered 2012: 50%entered 2013: 80%entered 2014: 14.3%entered 2017: 50%entered 2018: 66.7%66.7%

The six-year graduation rate at Heritage Christian University rose from 40% (entered 1991) to 60% (entered 2002).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Heritage Christian University's entering classes are small — single students move the line, so read Heritage Christian University's swings gently.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1991 cohort40%
1992 cohort75%
1993 cohort83.3%
1994 cohort100%
1995 cohort44.4%
1996 cohort75%
1997 cohort54.5%
1998 cohort20%
1999 cohort14.3%
2000 cohort42.9%
2001 cohort25%
2002 cohort60%
2004 cohort66.7%
2008 cohort50%
2010 cohort50%
2011 cohort25%
2012 cohort50%
2013 cohort80%
2014 cohort14.3%
2017 cohort50%
2018 cohort66.7%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1991–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$5k$10k$15kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $14,875Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $15,000$15,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $3,312Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $3,313Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $2,688Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $3,031Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $7,032Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $7,063Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,750$4,750 left
$5k$10k$15kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $14,875Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $15,000$15,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $3,312Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $3,313Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $2,688Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $3,031Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $7,032Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $7,063Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,750$4,750 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)—$3,312
Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)—$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)—$3,313
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)—$2,688
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)$14,875$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)—$3,031
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)—$6,625
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)$15,000$6,625
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)—$7,032
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)—$7,500
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)—$7,063
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)—$4,750
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$41,353
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$42,597
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies
Tests required · Fall 2024

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

In the Fall 2024 cycle, Heritage Christian University received 10 applications and admitted 9, with 8 enrolling.

Heritage Christian University reported required test scores for the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. Heritage Christian University's ranges describe enrolled submitters, not all applicants or admitted students.

Check current requirements with admissions.

Score25th50th75th
ACT Composite181919

25th / 75th: a quarter of enrolled submitters scored below the first number, a quarter above the second. These are not cutoffs.

Only students who submitted scores are counted — at test-optional schools, many enrolled students aren't in this table.

Percentiles are among enrolled students who submitted scores (Fall 2024 admissions cycle).

Numbers this small don't make a rate — Heritage Christian University's Fall 2024 filing is reported as counts, not a percentage.

ACT middle 50%

18–19Fall 2024 · submittersSkip to data table

The middle half of enrolled ACT submitters, using published composite-score percentiles — not admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA14161820201520242015: 142017: 192024: 18182015: 172017: 212019: 212024: 1919
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA1520201520242015: 142017: 192024: 18182015: 172017: 212019: 212024: 1919

One filed value fell outside the usable range for this scale and isn't drawn here.

ACT middle 50% — data
Year25th75th
Fall 20151417
Fall 20171921
Fall 2019—21
Fall 20241819
IPEDS Fall 2015–2024, submitters only

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

75Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

6080100120200220242002: 1142003: 1162004: 1052005: 1072006: 902007: 652008: 702009: 722010: 602011: 592012: 622013: 672014: 622015: 582016: 502017: 592018: 492019: 592020: 702021: 722022: 722023: 632024: 7575
6080100120200220242002: 1142003: 1162004: 1052005: 1072006: 902007: 652008: 702009: 722010: 602011: 592012: 622013: 672014: 622015: 582016: 502017: 592018: 492019: 592020: 702021: 722022: 722023: 632024: 7575

Undergraduate enrollment at Heritage Christian University fell from 114 (Fall 2002) to 75 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 2002114
Fall 2003116
Fall 2004105
Fall 2005107
Fall 200690
Fall 200765
Fall 200870
Fall 200972
Fall 201060
Fall 201159
Fall 201262
Fall 201367
Fall 201462
Fall 201558
Fall 201650
Fall 201759
Fall 201849
Fall 201959
Fall 202070
Fall 202172
Fall 202272
Fall 202363
Fall 202475
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

0%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

0%25%50%75%100%200320232003: 50%2004: 66%2005: 50%2006: 50%2007: 67%2008: 50%2009: 50%2010: 50%2011: 25%2012: 100%2013: 57%2014: 0%2015: 67%2016: 100%2017: 100%2018: 100%2019: 100%2020: 100%2021: 100%2022: 67%2023: 0%0%
0%50%100%200320232003: 50%2004: 66%2005: 50%2006: 50%2007: 67%2008: 50%2009: 50%2010: 50%2011: 25%2012: 100%2013: 57%2014: 0%2015: 67%2016: 100%2017: 100%2018: 100%2019: 100%2020: 100%2021: 100%2022: 67%2023: 0%0%

First-year retention at Heritage Christian University fell from 50% (Fall 2003) to 0% (Fall 2023).

Heritage Christian University's entering classes are small — single students move the line, so read Heritage Christian University's swings gently.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2003 cohort50%
Fall 2004 cohort66%
Fall 2005 cohort50%
Fall 2006 cohort50%
Fall 2007 cohort67%
Fall 2008 cohort50%
Fall 2009 cohort50%
Fall 2010 cohort50%
Fall 2011 cohort25%
Fall 2012 cohort100%
Fall 2013 cohort57%
Fall 2014 cohort0%
Fall 2015 cohort67%
Fall 2016 cohort100%
Fall 2017 cohort100%
Fall 2018 cohort100%
Fall 2019 cohort100%
Fall 2020 cohort100%
Fall 2021 cohort100%
Fall 2022 cohort67%
Fall 2023 cohort0%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2003–2023
More about Heritage Christian University

35.7% of Heritage Christian University's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment. Carnegie classes Heritage Christian University as a primarily nonresidential campus — most of its 75 undergraduates live off campus, and 0% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

Incoming students who submitted scores typically landed between 18 and 19 on the ACT composite. Put your own practice estimate on Heritage Christian University's range with the ACT calculator, or bring a saved GPA from the grade tools.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Heritage Christian University compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Heritage Christian University$11,982
Alabama median$12,535
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Heritage Christian University's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Heritage Christian University$42,597
Alabama median$44,312
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Heritage Christian University, Alabama and national reference values
Metric & basisHeritage Christian UniversityAlabama medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$11,982$12,535$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$42,597$44,312$53,781

Frequently asked questions

What test-score data does Heritage Christian University report?

The middle 50% of Heritage Christian University's enrolled Fall 2024 submitters reported ACT composites of 18–19; this dataset does not provide a GPA requirement.

What is Heritage Christian University's acceptance rate?

We don't compute a rate from numbers this small. Heritage Christian University's Fall 2024 filing: 10 applications, 9 offers, 8 enrolled.

How much does Heritage Christian University cost?

At Heritage Christian University, tuition is $11,982. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Heritage Christian University report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $42,597. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Alabama

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →