Skip to content

Colleges › Ohio › Franklin University

Franklin University

Franklin University is a private campus in Columbus proper — federal locale codes class it as urban.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$23,466
family income
under $30k
$21,170
$30–48k
$22,204
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only three of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Franklin University — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$25,2432023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$10k$20k$30k200820232008: $19,2892009: $19,7172010: $21,8002011: $21,8162012: $21,7752013: $21,9272014: $24,7642015: $22,8122016: $24,6922017: $18,6842018: $12,8952019: $7,2012020: $29,7732021: $15,5022022: $22,6052023: $25,243$25,243
$10k$20k$30k200820232008: $19,2892009: $19,7172010: $21,8002011: $21,8162012: $21,7752013: $21,9272014: $24,7642015: $22,8122016: $24,6922017: $18,6842018: $12,8952019: $7,2012020: $29,7732021: $15,5022022: $22,6052023: $25,243$25,243

Average net price at Franklin University rose from $19,289 (2008) to $25,243 (2023).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$19,289
2009$19,717
2010$21,800
2011$21,816
2012$21,775
2013$21,927
2014$24,764
2015$22,812
2016$24,692
2017$18,684
2018$12,895
2019$7,201
2020$29,773
2021$15,502
2022$22,605
2023$25,243
IPEDS 16 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$30,6962024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$24k$26k$28k$30k200920242009: $23,5212010: $23,6292011: $25,9552012: $25,6312013: $26,7102014: $27,7422015: $30,7732016: $26,6762017: $30,0592018: $24,9812019: $27,7542020: $23,9562021: $29,7732022: $25,1992023: $29,4332024: $30,696$30,696
$25k$28k$30k200920242009: $23,5212010: $23,6292011: $25,9552012: $25,6312013: $26,7102014: $27,7422015: $30,7732016: $26,6762017: $30,0592018: $24,9812019: $27,7542020: $23,9562021: $29,7732022: $25,1992023: $29,4332024: $30,696$30,696

Total cost at Franklin University rose from $23,521 (2009) to $30,696 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$23,521
2010$23,629
2011$25,955
2012$25,631
2013$26,710
2014$27,742
2015$30,773
2016$26,676
2017$30,059
2018$24,981
2019$27,754
2020$23,956
2021$29,773
2022$25,199
2023$29,433
2024$30,696
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$6k$8k$10k$12k200120232001: $6,3242002: $6,6342003: $6,9442004: $7,2232005: $7,5642006: $7,9052007: $8,2462008: $8,4002013: $10,6812014: $11,1612015: $11,6412016: $11,8812017: $12,2412018: $12,6492019: $9,5772020: $9,5772021: $9,5772022: $9,5772023: $9,577$9,577
$6k$8k$10k$12k200120232001: $6,3242002: $6,6342003: $6,9442004: $7,2232005: $7,5642006: $7,9052007: $8,2462008: $8,4002013: $10,6812014: $11,1612015: $11,6412016: $11,8812017: $12,2412018: $12,6492019: $9,5772020: $9,5772021: $9,5772022: $9,5772023: $9,577$9,577

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2001$6,324
2002$6,634
2003$6,944
2004$7,223
2005$7,564
2006$7,905
2007$8,246
2008$8,400
2013$10,681
2014$11,161
2015$11,641
2016$11,881
2017$12,241
2018$12,649
2019$9,577
2020$9,577
2021$9,577
2022$9,577
2023$9,577
IPEDS Published price 2001–02 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Franklin University reports published tuition of $9,577 in this record. Franklin University's $9,577 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Franklin University reports 5,562 undergraduate students. Enrollment is a headcount, not a measure of teaching access.

11.1% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Franklin University within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
11.1%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

20%40%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 18.7%entered 1992: 24.4%entered 1993: 28.1%entered 1994: 16.7%entered 1995: 25%entered 1996: 26.2%entered 1997: 31.8%entered 1998: 25.4%entered 1999: 34.9%entered 2000: 11.1%entered 2001: 32.7%entered 2002: 30%entered 2003: 38.8%entered 2004: 19.5%entered 2005: 19%entered 2006: 11.7%entered 2007: 14.7%entered 2008: 13.6%entered 2009: 5.9%entered 2010: 12%entered 2011: 5.7%entered 2012: 30%entered 2013: 28.2%entered 2014: 41.8%entered 2015: 25.2%entered 2016: 49.3%entered 2017: 30.3%entered 2018: 11.1%11.1%
20%40%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 18.7%entered 1992: 24.4%entered 1993: 28.1%entered 1994: 16.7%entered 1995: 25%entered 1996: 26.2%entered 1997: 31.8%entered 1998: 25.4%entered 1999: 34.9%entered 2000: 11.1%entered 2001: 32.7%entered 2002: 30%entered 2003: 38.8%entered 2004: 19.5%entered 2005: 19%entered 2006: 11.7%entered 2007: 14.7%entered 2008: 13.6%entered 2009: 5.9%entered 2010: 12%entered 2011: 5.7%entered 2012: 30%entered 2013: 28.2%entered 2014: 41.8%entered 2015: 25.2%entered 2016: 49.3%entered 2017: 30.3%entered 2018: 11.1%11.1%

The six-year graduation rate at Franklin University fell from 18.7% (entered 1991) to 11.1% (entered 2018).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1991 cohort18.7%
1992 cohort24.4%
1993 cohort28.1%
1994 cohort16.7%
1995 cohort25%
1996 cohort26.2%
1997 cohort31.8%
1998 cohort25.4%
1999 cohort34.9%
2000 cohort11.1%
2001 cohort32.7%
2002 cohort30%
2003 cohort38.8%
2004 cohort19.5%
2005 cohort19%
2006 cohort11.7%
2007 cohort14.7%
2008 cohort13.6%
2009 cohort5.9%
2010 cohort12%
2011 cohort5.7%
2012 cohort30%
2013 cohort28.2%
2014 cohort41.8%
2015 cohort25.2%
2016 cohort49.3%
2017 cohort30.3%
2018 cohort11.1%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1991–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$5k$10k$15k$20k$25kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $14,667Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $10,250Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $24,661Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $23,100Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $23,100Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $24,825Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $23,668Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $22,918Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $22,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $20,836Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $20,836$20,836 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $5,000Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $3,860Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $8,332Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $6,433Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $7,477Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $9,000Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $11,001Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $12,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $11,774Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $10,086Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $10,874$10,874 left
$10k$20kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $14,667Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $10,250Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $24,661Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $23,100Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $23,100Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $24,825Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $23,668Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $22,918Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $22,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $20,836Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $20,836$20,836 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $5,000Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $3,860Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $8,332Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $6,433Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $7,477Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $9,000Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $11,001Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $12,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $11,774Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $10,086Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $10,874$10,874 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)$14,667$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)$10,500$5,000
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)$10,500$3,860
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)$10,250$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$24,661$8,332
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$23,100$6,433
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$23,100$7,477
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$24,825$9,000
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$23,668$11,001
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$22,918$12,500
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$22,500$11,774
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$20,836$10,086
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$20,836$10,874
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$49,189
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$49,999
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$51,892
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

Franklin University reported open admission for Fall 2024. No selective rate is shown; check Franklin University's current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

5,562Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

3k4k5k6k7k200220242002: 4,6272003: 5,1472004: 5,6822005: 6,0272006: 6,6382007: 6,6132008: 6,6752009: 6,9522010: 6,9592011: 6,3492012: 5,7772013: 5,1292014: 4,5922015: 4,0492016: 3,8432017: 3,4332018: 3,1772019: 3,8552020: 3,7382021: 4,4442022: 5,1172023: 5,1112024: 5,5625,562
4k6k200220242002: 4,6272003: 5,1472004: 5,6822005: 6,0272006: 6,6382007: 6,6132008: 6,6752009: 6,9522010: 6,9592011: 6,3492012: 5,7772013: 5,1292014: 4,5922015: 4,0492016: 3,8432017: 3,4332018: 3,1772019: 3,8552020: 3,7382021: 4,4442022: 5,1172023: 5,1112024: 5,5625,562

Undergraduate enrollment at Franklin University rose from 4,627 (Fall 2002) to 5,562 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 20024,627
Fall 20035,147
Fall 20045,682
Fall 20056,027
Fall 20066,638
Fall 20076,613
Fall 20086,675
Fall 20096,952
Fall 20106,959
Fall 20116,349
Fall 20125,777
Fall 20135,129
Fall 20144,592
Fall 20154,049
Fall 20163,843
Fall 20173,433
Fall 20183,177
Fall 20193,855
Fall 20203,738
Fall 20214,444
Fall 20225,117
Fall 20235,111
Fall 20245,562
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

36%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

20%40%60%80%100%200320232003: 66%2004: 66%2005: 62%2006: 33%2007: 39%2008: 43%2009: 34%2010: 32%2011: 35%2012: 47%2013: 22%2014: 50%2015: 45%2016: 20%2017: 29%2018: 47%2020: 100%2021: 50%2022: 47%2023: 36%36%2019: Fall 2019: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years
25%50%75%100%200320232003: 66%2004: 66%2005: 62%2006: 33%2007: 39%2008: 43%2009: 34%2010: 32%2011: 35%2012: 47%2013: 22%2014: 50%2015: 45%2016: 20%2017: 29%2018: 47%2020: 100%2021: 50%2022: 47%2023: 36%36%2019: Fall 2019: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years

First-year retention at Franklin University fell from 66% (Fall 2003) to 47% (Fall 2018).

Franklin University's chart tracks a cohort of one some years — a single student is the whole line; read Franklin University's swings accordingly.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2003 cohort66%
Fall 2004 cohort66%
Fall 2005 cohort62%
Fall 2006 cohort33%
Fall 2007 cohort39%
Fall 2008 cohort43%
Fall 2009 cohort34%
Fall 2010 cohort32%
Fall 2011 cohort35%
Fall 2012 cohort47%
Fall 2013 cohort22%
Fall 2014 cohort50%
Fall 2015 cohort45%
Fall 2016 cohort20%
Fall 2017 cohort29%
Fall 2018 cohort47%
Fall 2019 cohort—
Fall 2020 cohort100%
Fall 2021 cohort50%
Fall 2022 cohort47%
Fall 2023 cohort36%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2003–2023
More about Franklin University

Faculty pay at Franklin University averages $124,068 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes Franklin University as a primarily nonresidential campus — most of its 5,562 undergraduates live off campus, and 35.9% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

Franklin University reported open admission in Fall 2024. Check today’s entry requirements.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Franklin University compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Franklin University$9,577
Ohio median$29,500
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Franklin University's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Franklin University$51,892
Ohio median$52,356
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Franklin University, Ohio and national reference values
Metric & basisFranklin UniversityOhio medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$9,577$29,500$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$51,892$52,356$53,781

Published earnings by bachelor's field of study

For Franklin University, these are federal subject groups (CIP), not departments. Median is the middle annual income.

Franklin University federal-aid recipients · graduated 2017–18 or 2018–19 · income measured 2022 or 2023 · inflation-adjusted to 2024 dollars. Definitions and limits.

View 16 fields & earnings
Bachelor's field of study (CIP category)Median earnings, 4 yrs after completion
Computer Science$111,131
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management$102,099
Management Information Systems and Services$99,898
Computer and Information Sciences, General$77,175
Finance and Financial Management Services$73,574
Business Administration, Management and Operations$68,306
Human Resources Management and Services$66,648
Accounting and Related Services$65,816
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$64,101
Design and Applied Arts$61,736
Business/Commerce, General$60,893
Criminal Justice and Corrections$58,747
Health and Medical Administrative Services$57,702
Marketing$57,398
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology$48,543
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$42,597

These 16 fields listed for Franklin University measure earnings after completion. The $51,892 institution-level snapshot above measures earnings after entry; it is not the same cohort or a total for these fields. 25 additional Franklin University fields have earnings withheld under federal privacy rules.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Franklin University cost?

At Franklin University, tuition is $9,577. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Franklin University report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $51,892. Major figures measure four years after completion. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Ohio

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Field-of-study cohort dates are shown with the table. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →