Skip to content

Colleges › Washington › City University of Seattle

City University of Seattle

City University of Seattle is a private campus in Seattle proper — federal locale codes class it as urban.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
not reported
family income
under $30k
$35,049
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only one of the five income brackets was filed for the same year at City University of Seattle — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$35,0492022–23Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$25k$30k$35k200820222008: $25,3772009: $27,4872010: $28,9052011: $32,4802012: $32,1192017: $23,5572022: $35,049$35,049
$25k$30k$35k200820222008: $25,3772009: $27,4872010: $28,9052011: $32,4802012: $32,1192017: $23,5572022: $35,049$35,049

Average net price at City University of Seattle rose from $25,377 (2008) to $32,119 (2012).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$25,377
2009$27,487
2010$28,905
2011$32,480
2012$32,119
2017$23,557
2022$35,049
IPEDS 7 federal reports, 2008–2022

Total cost of attendance

$35,0492023–24Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$28k$30k$32k$34k200920232009: $27,1912010: $30,3082011: $31,3302012: $32,4802013: $33,2682018: $30,9402023: $35,049$35,049
$28k$30k$33k$35k200920232009: $27,1912010: $30,3082011: $31,3302012: $32,4802013: $33,2682018: $30,9402023: $35,049$35,049

Total cost at City University of Seattle rose from $27,191 (2009) to $33,268 (2013).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$27,191
2010$30,308
2011$31,330
2012$32,480
2013$33,268
2018$30,940
2023$35,049
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2023

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$8k$10k$13k$15k$18k200020232000: $6,9202001: $7,2802002: $7,9602003: $7,9602004: $8,8002005: $9,3202006: $10,7202007: $11,8002008: $12,9602013: $14,8802016: $16,7482017: $16,9202018: $16,9732023: $14,589$14,589
$10k$15k200020232000: $6,9202001: $7,2802002: $7,9602003: $7,9602004: $8,8002005: $9,3202006: $10,7202007: $11,8002008: $12,9602013: $14,8802016: $16,7482017: $16,9202018: $16,9732023: $14,589$14,589

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2000$6,920
2001$7,280
2002$7,960
2003$7,960
2004$8,800
2005$9,320
2006$10,720
2007$11,800
2008$12,960
2013$14,880
2016$16,748
2017$16,920
2018$16,973
2023$14,589
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Enrollment sits at 1,137 — City University of Seattle is one of the smaller campuses on this site.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
16.7%entered Fall 2017Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

20%40%60%entered 2002entered 2017entered 2002: 61.5%entered 2003: 25.8%entered 2005: 12.5%entered 2006: 25%entered 2009: 46.7%entered 2010: 23.8%entered 2013: 33.3%entered 2017: 16.7%16.7%entered 2011: entered 2011: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years
20%40%60%entered 2002entered 2017entered 2002: 61.5%entered 2003: 25.8%entered 2005: 12.5%entered 2006: 25%entered 2009: 46.7%entered 2010: 23.8%entered 2013: 33.3%entered 2017: 16.7%16.7%entered 2011: entered 2011: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years

The six-year graduation rate at City University of Seattle fell from 61.5% (entered 2002) to 25.8% (entered 2003).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
2002 cohort61.5%
2003 cohort25.8%
2005 cohort12.5%
2006 cohort25%
2009 cohort46.7%
2010 cohort23.8%
2011 cohort—
2013 cohort33.3%
2017 cohort16.7%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 2002–2017

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$10k$20kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $10,789Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $11,167Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $12,813Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $14,121Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $12,776Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $12,245Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $15,318Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $15,821Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $16,536Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $15,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $15,500Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $18,375Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $20,688Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $22,000Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $23,000Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $24,000Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $23,000Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $22,531Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $23,875Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $23,769Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $23,000Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $25,000$25,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $3,700Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $3,866Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $4,417Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $4,098Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $3,569Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $3,667Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $4,805Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,000Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $5,000Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $8,122Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $10,098Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $8,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $7,364Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $8,101Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $9,509Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $6,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $7,906Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $10,652Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $10,366Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $10,500$10,500 left
$10k$20kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $10,789Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $11,167Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $12,813Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $14,121Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $12,776Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $12,245Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $15,318Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $15,821Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $16,536Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $15,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $15,500Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $18,375Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $20,688Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $22,000Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $23,000Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $24,000Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $23,000Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $22,531Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $23,875Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $23,769Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $23,000Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $25,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $25,000$25,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $3,700Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $3,866Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $4,417Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $4,098Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $3,569Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $3,667Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $4,805Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,000Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $5,000Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $8,122Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $10,098Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $8,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $7,364Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $8,101Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $9,509Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $6,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $7,906Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $10,652Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $10,366Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $10,500$10,500 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)$10,789$3,700
Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)$11,167$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)$12,813$3,866
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)$14,121$4,417
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)$12,776$4,098
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)$12,245$3,569
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)$15,318$3,667
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)$15,821$4,805
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)$16,536$5,000
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)$15,500$5,000
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$15,500$8,122
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$18,375$7,500
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$20,688$10,098
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$22,000$8,500
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$23,000$7,364
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$24,000$8,101
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$23,000$9,509
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$22,531$6,500
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$23,875$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$23,769$7,906
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$23,000$10,500
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$25,000$10,652
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$25,000$10,366
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$25,000$10,500
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$56,195
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$60,016
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$69,460
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

City University of Seattle’s Fall 2024 filing reports open admission. No selective rate is shown; check City University of Seattle’s current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

1,137Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

1k2k200220242002: 1,4492003: 1,7492004: 1,8482005: 1,6522006: 1,5142007: 1,2682008: 1,2172009: 1,2912010: 1,1472011: 1,0092012: 1,0792013: 1,1622014: 1,2892015: 1,0032016: 8412017: 7672018: 6512019: 6592020: 8552021: 1,0042022: 1,0772023: 1,0912024: 1,1371,137
1k2k200220242002: 1,4492003: 1,7492004: 1,8482005: 1,6522006: 1,5142007: 1,2682008: 1,2172009: 1,2912010: 1,1472011: 1,0092012: 1,0792013: 1,1622014: 1,2892015: 1,0032016: 8412017: 7672018: 6512019: 6592020: 8552021: 1,0042022: 1,0772023: 1,0912024: 1,1371,137

Undergraduate enrollment at City University of Seattle fell from 1,449 (Fall 2002) to 1,137 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 20021,449
Fall 20031,749
Fall 20041,848
Fall 20051,652
Fall 20061,514
Fall 20071,268
Fall 20081,217
Fall 20091,291
Fall 20101,147
Fall 20111,009
Fall 20121,079
Fall 20131,162
Fall 20141,289
Fall 20151,003
Fall 2016841
Fall 2017767
Fall 2018651
Fall 2019659
Fall 2020855
Fall 20211,004
Fall 20221,077
Fall 20231,091
Fall 20241,137
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

0%Fall 2022 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

0%20%40%60%80%200320222003: 18%2004: 40%2005: 60%2006: 29%2007: 0%2008: 22%2009: 30%2011: 50%2012: 40%2017: 75%2022: 0%0%2010: Fall 2010: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years
0%25%50%75%200320222003: 18%2004: 40%2005: 60%2006: 29%2007: 0%2008: 22%2009: 30%2011: 50%2012: 40%2017: 75%2022: 0%0%2010: Fall 2010: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years

First-year retention at City University of Seattle rose from 18% (Fall 2003) to 30% (Fall 2009).

City University of Seattle's first-year cohorts run about 4 students, so one or two moves City University of Seattle's line by whole percentage points.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2003 cohort18%
Fall 2004 cohort40%
Fall 2005 cohort60%
Fall 2006 cohort29%
Fall 2007 cohort0%
Fall 2008 cohort22%
Fall 2009 cohort30%
Fall 2010 cohort—
Fall 2011 cohort50%
Fall 2012 cohort40%
Fall 2017 cohort75%
Fall 2022 cohort0%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2003–2022
More about City University of Seattle

10.7% of City University of Seattle's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment.

The Fall 2024 record classifies City University of Seattle as open admission. Review current entry requirements and the cost and outcome measures separately.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How City University of Seattle compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

City University of Seattle's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

City University of Seattle$69,460
Washington median$62,092
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
City University of Seattle, Washington and national reference values
Metric & basisCity University of SeattleWashington medianNational median
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$69,460$62,092$53,781

Frequently asked questions

What earnings data does City University of Seattle report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $69,460. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Washington

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →