Skip to content

Colleges › Connecticut › Charter Oak State College

Charter Oak State College

Charter Oak State College is a public campus in suburban New Britain, CT. The federal record classifies this institution as distance-education-only. Check its official site for teaching locations, visits and any in-person requirements.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$15,663
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only one of the five income brackets was filed for the same year at Charter Oak State College — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$15,8152023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$12k$14k$16k201820232018: $10,7242019: $11,8722020: $13,8362021: $14,2882022: $15,6632023: $15,815$15,815
$12k$14k$16k201820232018: $10,7242019: $11,8722020: $13,8362021: $14,2882022: $15,6632023: $15,815$15,815

Average net price at Charter Oak State College rose from $10,724 (2018) to $15,815 (2023).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2018$10,724
2019$11,872
2020$13,836
2021$14,288
2022$15,663
2023$15,815
IPEDS 6 federal reports, 2018–2023

Total cost of attendance

$23,2102024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$16k$18k$20k$22k201920242019: $17,3532020: $16,3692021: $16,7022022: $18,3862023: $22,5582024: $23,210$23,210
$16k$18k$20k$22k201920242019: $17,3532020: $16,3692021: $16,7022022: $18,3862023: $22,5582024: $23,210$23,210

Total cost at Charter Oak State College rose from $17,353 (2019) to $23,210 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2019$17,353
2020$16,369
2021$16,702
2022$18,386
2023$22,558
2024$23,210
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2019–2024

Tuition (in-state vs out-of-state)

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

In-stateOut-of-state
$8k$9k$10k$11k201620232016: $7,6712017: $7,9832018: $8,3012019: $8,5532020: $8,5532021: $8,2542022: $8,2542023: $8,506$8,506 in2016: $10,0292017: $10,4372018: $10,8542019: $11,1662020: $11,1662021: $10,6542022: $10,7962023: $8,506$8,506 out
$8k$10k201620232016: $7,6712017: $7,9832018: $8,3012019: $8,5532020: $8,5532021: $8,2542022: $8,2542023: $8,506$8,506 in2016: $10,0292017: $10,4372018: $10,8542019: $11,1662020: $11,1662021: $10,6542022: $10,7962023: $8,506$8,506 out

Tuition — data
YearIn-stateOut-of-state
2016$7,671$10,029
2017$7,983$10,437
2018$8,301$10,854
2019$8,553$11,166
2020$8,553$11,166
2021$8,254$10,654
2022$8,254$10,796
2023$8,506$8,506
IPEDS Published price 2016–17 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Charter Oak State College reports published tuition by residency: $8,506 in-state versus $8,506 out-of-state — a $0 gap that makes state lines part of the decision. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Charter Oak State College reports 1,821 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

66.7% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Charter Oak State College within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$5k$10k$15k$20kLeft school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $5,251Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $6,839Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $8,715Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $8,589Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $7,859Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $6,984Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $18,000Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $16,446Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $16,558Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $16,950Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $17,233Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $17,750Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $18,750Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $18,750Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $18,683$18,683 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $4,896Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $5,250Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,250Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $5,250Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $4,758Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $3,542Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $3,788Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $4,470Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $7,125Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,625Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $5,956Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $7,428Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $8,811Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $7,601Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $6,603Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $6,500$6,500 left
$5k$10k$15k$20kLeft school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $5,251Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $6,839Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $8,715Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $8,589Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $7,859Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $6,984Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $18,000Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $16,446Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $16,558Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $16,950Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $17,233Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $17,750Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $18,750Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $18,750Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $18,683$18,683 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $4,896Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $5,250Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,250Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $5,250Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $4,758Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $3,542Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $3,788Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $4,470Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $7,125Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,625Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $5,956Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $7,428Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $8,811Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $7,601Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $6,603Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $6,500$6,500 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)$5,251$4,896
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)$6,839$5,250
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)$8,715$5,250
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)$10,500$5,250
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$10,500$4,758
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$8,589$3,542
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$7,859$3,788
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$6,984$4,470
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$18,000$7,125
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$16,446$5,625
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$16,558$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$16,950$5,956
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$17,233$7,428
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$17,750$8,811
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$18,750$7,601
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$18,750$6,603
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$18,683$6,500
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$53,779
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$60,149
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$64,209
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

Charter Oak State College reported open admission for Fall 2024. No selective rate is shown; check Charter Oak State College's current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

1,821Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

1k2k2k2k200220242002: 1,5612003: 1,5782004: 1,4952005: 1,9022006: 1,7112007: 1,5772008: 1,5992009: 1,6852010: 1,9572011: 2,0302012: 1,4772013: 1,4712014: 1,7992015: 1,6342016: 1,4592017: 1,3522018: 1,4782019: 1,4742020: 1,4712021: 1,4722022: 1,4262023: 1,6202024: 1,8211,821
1k2k2k2k200220242002: 1,5612003: 1,5782004: 1,4952005: 1,9022006: 1,7112007: 1,5772008: 1,5992009: 1,6852010: 1,9572011: 2,0302012: 1,4772013: 1,4712014: 1,7992015: 1,6342016: 1,4592017: 1,3522018: 1,4782019: 1,4742020: 1,4712021: 1,4722022: 1,4262023: 1,6202024: 1,8211,821

Undergraduate enrollment at Charter Oak State College rose from 1,561 (Fall 2002) to 1,821 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 20021,561
Fall 20031,578
Fall 20041,495
Fall 20051,902
Fall 20061,711
Fall 20071,577
Fall 20081,599
Fall 20091,685
Fall 20101,957
Fall 20112,030
Fall 20121,477
Fall 20131,471
Fall 20141,799
Fall 20151,634
Fall 20161,459
Fall 20171,352
Fall 20181,478
Fall 20191,474
Fall 20201,471
Fall 20211,472
Fall 20221,426
Fall 20231,620
Fall 20241,821
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

100%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

60%80%100%201620232016: 100%2018: 100%2019: 50%2020: 67%2021: 100%2022: 100%2023: 100%100%
60%80%100%201620232016: 100%2018: 100%2019: 50%2020: 67%2021: 100%2022: 100%2023: 100%100%

First-year retention at Charter Oak State College has wandered from Fall 2018 to Fall 2023 — up to 100% at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 100%.

Charter Oak State College's chart tracks a cohort of one some years — a single student is the whole line; read Charter Oak State College's swings accordingly.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2016 cohort100%
Fall 2018 cohort100%
Fall 2019 cohort50%
Fall 2020 cohort67%
Fall 2021 cohort100%
Fall 2022 cohort100%
Fall 2023 cohort100%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2016–2023
More about Charter Oak State College

44% of Charter Oak State College's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment. Carnegie classes Charter Oak State College as a primarily nonresidential campus — most of its 1,821 undergraduates live off campus, and 100% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

Charter Oak State College reported open admission in Fall 2024. Check today’s entry requirements.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Charter Oak State College compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition (in-state)

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Charter Oak State College$8,506
Connecticut median$30,207
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Charter Oak State College's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Charter Oak State College$64,209
Connecticut median$64,209
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Charter Oak State College, Connecticut and national reference values
Metric & basisCharter Oak State CollegeConnecticut medianNational median
Tuition (in-state)Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$8,506$30,207$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$64,209$64,209$53,781

Published earnings by bachelor's field of study

For Charter Oak State College, these are federal subject groups (CIP), not departments. Median is the middle annual income.

Charter Oak State College federal-aid recipients · graduated 2017–18 or 2018–19 · income measured 2022 or 2023 · inflation-adjusted to 2024 dollars. Definitions and limits.

View 5 fields & earnings
Bachelor's field of study (CIP category)Median earnings, 4 yrs after completion
Computer/Information Technology Administration and Management$96,202
Business Administration, Management and Operations$82,069
Health and Medical Administrative Services$72,446
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$54,363
Psychology, General$52,803

These 5 fields listed for Charter Oak State College measure earnings after completion. The $64,209 institution-level snapshot above measures earnings after entry; it is not the same cohort or a total for these fields. 8 additional Charter Oak State College fields have earnings withheld under federal privacy rules.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Charter Oak State College cost?

In-state tuition is $8,506; out-of-state students pay $8,506. Fees, housing and aid move the real total in both directions.

What earnings data does Charter Oak State College report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $64,209. Major figures measure four years after completion. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Connecticut

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Field-of-study cohort dates are shown with the table. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →