Skip to content

Colleges › California › American University of Health Sciences

American University of Health Sciences

American University of Health Sciences is a for-profit campus in suburban Signal Hill, CA.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2021–22
family-income band
$25,963
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only one of the five income brackets was filed for the same year at American University of Health Sciences — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$25,9632021–22Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$20k$40k$60k201020212010: $62,6322011: $66,7432012: $28,1452013: $25,6722014: $18,0632015: $18,0792016: $15,1382017: $24,9982018: $21,7062019: $22,9512020: $21,4122021: $25,963$25,963
$20k$40k$60k201020212010: $62,6322011: $66,7432012: $28,1452013: $25,6722014: $18,0632015: $18,0792016: $15,1382017: $24,9982018: $21,7062019: $22,9512020: $21,4122021: $25,963$25,963

Average net price at American University of Health Sciences fell from $62,632 (2010) to $25,963 (2021).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2010$62,632
2011$66,743
2012$28,145
2013$25,672
2014$18,063
2015$18,079
2016$15,138
2017$24,998
2018$21,706
2019$22,951
2020$21,412
2021$25,963
IPEDS 12 federal reports, 2010–2021

Total cost of attendance

$40,1352022–23Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$40k$60k201120222011: $66,0452012: $72,1432013: $29,9662014: $27,9842015: $28,5152016: $28,5312017: $28,1982018: $27,9582019: $34,7812020: $35,9652021: $36,2452022: $40,135$40,135
$40k$60k201120222011: $66,0452012: $72,1432013: $29,9662014: $27,9842015: $28,5152016: $28,5312017: $28,1982018: $27,9582019: $34,7812020: $35,9652021: $36,2452022: $40,135$40,135

Total cost at American University of Health Sciences fell from $66,045 (2011) to $40,135 (2022).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2011$66,045
2012$72,143
2013$29,966
2014$27,984
2015$28,515
2016$28,531
2017$28,198
2018$27,958
2019$34,781
2020$35,965
2021$36,245
2022$40,135
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2011–2022

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$21k$22k$23k$24k201320232013: $22,6842014: $23,1622015: $23,2232016: $21,0582017: $21,0582018: $22,5702019: $23,3292020: $23,3292021: $22,9752022: $24,5752023: $24,575$24,575
$22k$24k201320232013: $22,6842014: $23,1622015: $23,2232016: $21,0582017: $21,0582018: $22,5702019: $23,3292020: $23,3292021: $22,9752022: $24,5752023: $24,575$24,575

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2013$22,684
2014$23,162
2015$23,223
2016$21,058
2017$21,058
2018$22,570
2019$23,329
2020$23,329
2021$22,975
2022$24,575
2023$24,575
IPEDS Published price 2013–14 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

American University of Health Sciences reports published tuition of $24,575 in this record. American University of Health Sciences's $24,575 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

American University of Health Sciences reports 351 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

50% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at American University of Health Sciences within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
50%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

40%60%80%100%entered 1998entered 2018entered 1998: 100%entered 2001: 81.3%entered 2002: 100%entered 2003: 84.8%entered 2004: 89.6%entered 2005: 90.6%entered 2006: 86.4%entered 2007: 89.2%entered 2008: 75%entered 2010: 100%entered 2011: 100%entered 2012: 33.3%entered 2013: 33.3%entered 2014: 37.5%entered 2016: 66.7%entered 2017: 50%entered 2018: 50%50%
40%60%80%100%entered 1998entered 2018entered 1998: 100%entered 2001: 81.3%entered 2002: 100%entered 2003: 84.8%entered 2004: 89.6%entered 2005: 90.6%entered 2006: 86.4%entered 2007: 89.2%entered 2008: 75%entered 2010: 100%entered 2011: 100%entered 2012: 33.3%entered 2013: 33.3%entered 2014: 37.5%entered 2016: 66.7%entered 2017: 50%entered 2018: 50%50%

The six-year graduation rate at American University of Health Sciences has wandered from Fall 2001 to Fall 2008 entering cohorts — up to 100% at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 75%.

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

American University of Health Sciences's entering classes are small — single students move the line, so read American University of Health Sciences's swings gently.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1998 cohort100%
2001 cohort81.3%
2002 cohort100%
2003 cohort84.8%
2004 cohort89.6%
2005 cohort90.6%
2006 cohort86.4%
2007 cohort89.2%
2008 cohort75%
2010 cohort100%
2011 cohort100%
2012 cohort33.3%
2013 cohort33.3%
2014 cohort37.5%
2016 cohort66.7%
2017 cohort50%
2018 cohort50%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1998–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$0$10k$20k$30k$40kLeft school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,127Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $6,183Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $9,875Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $16,268Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $28,250Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $32,250Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $36,138Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $37,290Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $37,582Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $37,583Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $37,972Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $37,584Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $40,326$40,326 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $3,167Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $6,334Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $9,834Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $12,298Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $14,666Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $14,666Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $14,333Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $13,853Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $13,427Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $16,332Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $16,333$16,333 left
$0$20k$40kLeft school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,127Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $6,183Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $9,875Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $16,268Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $28,250Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $32,250Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $36,138Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $37,290Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $37,582Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $37,583Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $37,972Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $37,584Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $40,326$40,326 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $3,167Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $6,334Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $9,834Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $12,298Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $14,666Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $14,666Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $14,333Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $13,853Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $13,427Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $16,332Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $16,333$16,333 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)$5,127—
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)$6,183—
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$9,500—
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$9,875$3,167
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$16,268$6,334
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$28,250$9,834
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$32,250$12,298
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$36,138$14,666
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$37,290$14,666
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$37,582$14,333
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$37,583$13,853
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$37,972$13,427
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$37,584$16,332
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$40,326$16,333
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$111,064
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$111,213
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$93,610
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies
Tests not considered · Fall 2024

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

American University of Health Sciences did not consider scores in the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. No score range is displayed for American University of Health Sciences under that historical policy.

Check current requirements with admissions.

In the Fall 2024 cycle, American University of Health Sciences received 2 applications and admitted 1, with 1 enrolling.

Numbers this small don't make a rate — American University of Health Sciences's Fall 2024 filing is reported as counts, not a percentage.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

351Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

0100200300200220242002: 812003: 492004: 482005: 742006: 822007: 632008: 322009: 1122010: 1132011: 1852012: 2472013: 2802014: 2742015: 2512016: 2612017: 2492018: 2932019: 3592020: 3232021: 3692022: 3472023: 3642024: 351351
0100200300200220242002: 812003: 492004: 482005: 742006: 822007: 632008: 322009: 1122010: 1132011: 1852012: 2472013: 2802014: 2742015: 2512016: 2612017: 2492018: 2932019: 3592020: 3232021: 3692022: 3472023: 3642024: 351351

Undergraduate enrollment at American University of Health Sciences rose from 81 (Fall 2002) to 351 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 200281
Fall 200349
Fall 200448
Fall 200574
Fall 200682
Fall 200763
Fall 200832
Fall 2009112
Fall 2010113
Fall 2011185
Fall 2012247
Fall 2013280
Fall 2014274
Fall 2015251
Fall 2016261
Fall 2017249
Fall 2018293
Fall 2019359
Fall 2020323
Fall 2021369
Fall 2022347
Fall 2023364
Fall 2024351
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

100%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

20%40%60%80%100%200320232003: 85%2004: 90%2006: 91%2007: 71%2008: 24%2009: 91%2011: 100%2012: 33%2014: 100%2015: 100%2016: 100%2017: 50%2018: 100%2023: 100%100%2005: Fall 2005: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years
25%50%75%100%200320232003: 85%2004: 90%2006: 91%2007: 71%2008: 24%2009: 91%2011: 100%2012: 33%2014: 100%2015: 100%2016: 100%2017: 50%2018: 100%2023: 100%100%2005: Fall 2005: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years

First-year retention at American University of Health Sciences has wandered from Fall 2014 to Fall 2018 — up to 100% at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 100%.

American University of Health Sciences's entering classes are small — single students move the line, so read American University of Health Sciences's swings gently.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2003 cohort85%
Fall 2004 cohort90%
Fall 2005 cohort—
Fall 2006 cohort91%
Fall 2007 cohort71%
Fall 2008 cohort24%
Fall 2009 cohort91%
Fall 2011 cohort100%
Fall 2012 cohort33%
Fall 2014 cohort100%
Fall 2015 cohort100%
Fall 2016 cohort100%
Fall 2017 cohort50%
Fall 2018 cohort100%
Fall 2023 cohort100%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2003–2023
More about American University of Health Sciences

Faculty pay at American University of Health Sciences averages $137,376 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes American University of Health Sciences as a primarily nonresidential campus — most of its 351 undergraduates live off campus, and 100% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

American University of Health Sciences reported not considering test scores in Fall 2024. Review American University of Health Sciences's current requirements before applying; use the GPA calculator for your semester numbers.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How American University of Health Sciences compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

American University of Health Sciences$24,575
California median$23,000
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

American University of Health Sciences's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

American University of Health Sciences$93,610
California median$64,778
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
American University of Health Sciences, California and national reference values
Metric & basisAmerican University of Health SciencesCalifornia medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$24,575$23,000$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$93,610$64,778$53,781

Frequently asked questions

What is American University of Health Sciences's acceptance rate?

American University of Health Sciences's applicant pool is too small to carry a meaningful rate. Fall 2024 as filed: 2 applied, 1 admitted, 1 enrolled.

How much does American University of Health Sciences cost?

At American University of Health Sciences, tuition is $24,575. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does American University of Health Sciences report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $93,610. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in California

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →