Skip to content

Colleges › Massachusetts › Williams College

Williams College

Williams College is based in the town of Williamstown, MA — a private campus in a small-town setting. International students are a visible presence at Williams College — 8.8% of its 2,076 undergraduates come from outside the U.S.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
not reported
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
$8,825
$75–110k
$48,374
over $110k

Only two of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Williams College — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$17,7162023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$10k$15k$20k$25k200820232008: $14,5092009: $11,7752010: $18,5682011: $19,9722012: $20,9352013: $21,7622014: $23,9242015: $21,1022016: $22,6672017: $21,2392018: $19,4802019: $23,4972020: $14,7392021: $26,7752022: $14,8522023: $17,716$17,716
$15k$20k$25k200820232008: $14,5092009: $11,7752010: $18,5682011: $19,9722012: $20,9352013: $21,7622014: $23,9242015: $21,1022016: $22,6672017: $21,2392018: $19,4802019: $23,4972020: $14,7392021: $26,7752022: $14,8522023: $17,716$17,716

Average net price at Williams College rose from $14,509 (2008) to $17,716 (2023).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$14,509
2009$11,775
2010$18,568
2011$19,972
2012$20,935
2013$21,762
2014$23,924
2015$21,102
2016$22,667
2017$21,239
2018$19,480
2019$23,497
2020$14,739
2021$26,775
2022$14,852
2023$17,716
IPEDS 16 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$84,8602024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$50k$60k$70k$80k200920242009: $50,0872010: $52,4612011: $54,9212012: $57,1412013: $59,4122014: $61,8502015: $64,0202016: $66,2402017: $68,4302018: $70,6502019: $73,2002020: $75,5202021: $66,5402022: $78,0862023: $81,1642024: $84,860$84,860
$60k$80k200920242009: $50,0872010: $52,4612011: $54,9212012: $57,1412013: $59,4122014: $61,8502015: $64,0202016: $66,2402017: $68,4302018: $70,6502019: $73,2002020: $75,5202021: $66,5402022: $78,0862023: $81,1642024: $84,860$84,860

Total cost at Williams College rose from $50,087 (2009) to $84,860 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$50,087
2010$52,461
2011$54,921
2012$57,141
2013$59,412
2014$61,850
2015$64,020
2016$66,240
2017$68,430
2018$70,650
2019$73,200
2020$75,520
2021$66,540
2022$78,086
2023$81,164
2024$84,860
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$20k$30k$40k$50k$60k200020232000: $24,7402001: $25,5402002: $26,5202003: $28,0902004: $29,9902005: $31,5482006: $33,4782007: $35,6702008: $37,6402013: $46,6002014: $48,3102015: $50,0702016: $51,7902017: $53,5502018: $55,4502019: $57,2802020: $50,4502021: $59,6602022: $61,7702023: $64,860$64,860
$40k$60k200020232000: $24,7402001: $25,5402002: $26,5202003: $28,0902004: $29,9902005: $31,5482006: $33,4782007: $35,6702008: $37,6402013: $46,6002014: $48,3102015: $50,0702016: $51,7902017: $53,5502018: $55,4502019: $57,2802020: $50,4502021: $59,6602022: $61,7702023: $64,860$64,860

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2000$24,740
2001$25,540
2002$26,520
2003$28,090
2004$29,990
2005$31,548
2006$33,478
2007$35,670
2008$37,640
2013$46,600
2014$48,310
2015$50,070
2016$51,790
2017$53,550
2018$55,450
2019$57,280
2020$50,450
2021$59,660
2022$61,770
2023$64,860
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Williams College reports published tuition of $68,560 in this record. Williams College's $68,560 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Williams College reports 2,076 undergraduate students. Enrollment is a headcount, not a measure of teaching access.

93.6% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Williams College within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
93.6%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

92%93%94%95%96%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 95.2%entered 1992: 93%entered 1993: 94.3%entered 1994: 94.8%entered 1995: 92.4%entered 1996: 96.2%entered 1997: 95.8%entered 1998: 96.1%entered 1999: 95.6%entered 2000: 95.6%entered 2001: 95.2%entered 2002: 95.7%entered 2003: 96.4%entered 2004: 95.1%entered 2005: 95.3%entered 2006: 96.4%entered 2007: 95.4%entered 2008: 95.3%entered 2009: 95.6%entered 2010: 94%entered 2011: 93.8%entered 2012: 95.4%entered 2013: 95%entered 2014: 96%entered 2015: 93.8%entered 2016: 95.1%entered 2017: 96.5%entered 2018: 93.6%93.6%
92%94%96%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 95.2%entered 1992: 93%entered 1993: 94.3%entered 1994: 94.8%entered 1995: 92.4%entered 1996: 96.2%entered 1997: 95.8%entered 1998: 96.1%entered 1999: 95.6%entered 2000: 95.6%entered 2001: 95.2%entered 2002: 95.7%entered 2003: 96.4%entered 2004: 95.1%entered 2005: 95.3%entered 2006: 96.4%entered 2007: 95.4%entered 2008: 95.3%entered 2009: 95.6%entered 2010: 94%entered 2011: 93.8%entered 2012: 95.4%entered 2013: 95%entered 2014: 96%entered 2015: 93.8%entered 2016: 95.1%entered 2017: 96.5%entered 2018: 93.6%93.6%

The six-year graduation rate at Williams College has held near 93.6% from Fall 1991 to Fall 2018 entering cohorts.

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1991 cohort95.2%
1992 cohort93%
1993 cohort94.3%
1994 cohort94.8%
1995 cohort92.4%
1996 cohort96.2%
1997 cohort95.8%
1998 cohort96.1%
1999 cohort95.6%
2000 cohort95.6%
2001 cohort95.2%
2002 cohort95.7%
2003 cohort96.4%
2004 cohort95.1%
2005 cohort95.3%
2006 cohort96.4%
2007 cohort95.4%
2008 cohort95.3%
2009 cohort95.6%
2010 cohort94%
2011 cohort93.8%
2012 cohort95.4%
2013 cohort95%
2014 cohort96%
2015 cohort93.8%
2016 cohort95.1%
2017 cohort96.5%
2018 cohort93.6%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1991–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$5k$10k$15kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $13,675Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $14,000Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $12,491Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $12,220Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $11,785Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $10,639Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $8,294Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $5,962Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,800Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $6,823Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $8,700Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $7,800Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $7,313Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $8,433Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $11,250Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $13,286Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $12,000Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $13,173Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $14,583Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $14,489Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $12,702Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $13,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $13,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $12,761$12,761 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $2,688Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $2,613Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $1,950Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $3,574Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,500Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $4,553Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $5,143Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $6,325Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $7,000$7,000 left
$5k$10k$15kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $13,675Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $14,000Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $12,491Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $12,220Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $11,785Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $10,639Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $8,294Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $5,962Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,800Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $6,823Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $8,700Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $7,800Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $7,313Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $8,433Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $11,250Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $13,286Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $12,000Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $13,173Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $14,583Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $14,489Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $12,702Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $13,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $13,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $12,761$12,761 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $2,688Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $2,613Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $1,950Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $3,574Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,500Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $4,553Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $5,143Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $6,325Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $7,000$7,000 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)$13,675$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)$14,000$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)$12,491$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)$12,220$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)$11,785$2,688
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)$10,639$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)$8,294$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)$5,962$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)$5,800$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)$6,823$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$8,700$2,613
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$7,800$1,950
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$7,313$3,574
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$8,433$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$11,250$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$13,286$4,500
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$12,000$4,553
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$13,173$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$14,583$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$14,489$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$12,702$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$13,500$5,143
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$13,000$6,325
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$12,761$7,000
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$71,754
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$79,082
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$88,665
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Williams College admitted 1,272 of 15,411 applicants in Fall 2024. The 8.3% rate describes that application pool.

8.3%
acceptance rate · Fall 2024 admissions cycle
Test-optional (considered) · Fall 2024
400SAT range (section 25th/75th sums): 1490–15701600

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

Williams College reported scores as considered but not required for the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. For Williams College’s enrolled SAT submitters, Reading and Writing was 740–780 and Math was 750–790 (25th–75th percentiles). The section-percentile sums 1490–1570 are not composite-score percentiles. These are not admission cutoffs.

Check current requirements with admissions.

Score25th50th75th
SAT Reading & Writing740760780
SAT Math750780790
ACT Composite343435

25th / 75th: a quarter of enrolled submitters scored below the first number, a quarter above the second. These are not cutoffs.

Only students who submitted scores are counted — at test-optional schools, many enrolled students aren't in this table.

Percentiles are among enrolled students who submitted scores (Fall 2024 admissions cycle).

In the Fall 2024 cycle, Williams College received 15,411 applications and admitted 1,272 (8.3%), with 547 enrolling.

Acceptance rate

8.3%Fall 2024Skip to data table

The share of applicants offered a spot — lower means more selective; read it alongside the score ranges below.

10%15%20%25%200120242001: 24.3%2002: 22.8%2003: 21.2%2004: 19.2%2005: 18.8%2006: 19.1%2007: 19.1%2008: 17%2009: 20.4%2010: 20.4%2011: 18.7%2012: 17.3%2013: 17%2014: 19.3%2015: 17.6%2016: 17.6%2017: 14.6%2018: 13%2019: 12.6%2020: 15.1%2021: 8.8%2022: 8.5%2023: 10%2024: 8.3%8.3%
10%15%20%25%200120242001: 24.3%2002: 22.8%2003: 21.2%2004: 19.2%2005: 18.8%2006: 19.1%2007: 19.1%2008: 17%2009: 20.4%2010: 20.4%2011: 18.7%2012: 17.3%2013: 17%2014: 19.3%2015: 17.6%2016: 17.6%2017: 14.6%2018: 13%2019: 12.6%2020: 15.1%2021: 8.8%2022: 8.5%2023: 10%2024: 8.3%8.3%

Williams College's admission rate fell from 24.3% to 8.3%. The rate alone cannot explain the change. This describes Fall 2001 to Fall 2024.

Acceptance rate — data
YearAcceptance rate
Fall 200124.3%
Fall 200222.8%
Fall 200321.2%
Fall 200419.2%
Fall 200518.8%
Fall 200619.1%
Fall 200719.1%
Fall 200817%
Fall 200920.4%
Fall 201020.4%
Fall 201118.7%
Fall 201217.3%
Fall 201317%
Fall 201419.3%
Fall 201517.6%
Fall 201617.6%
Fall 201714.6%
Fall 201813%
Fall 201912.6%
Fall 202015.1%
Fall 20218.8%
Fall 20228.5%
Fall 202310%
Fall 20248.3%
IPEDS Fall cycles 2001–2024

SAT range (section sums, 25th–75th)

1490–1570Fall 2024 · submittersSkip to data table

Sums of the reading/writing and math percentiles among enrolled submitters — not percentiles of total SAT scores or admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA1300140015002016 REDESIGN2001202420162001: 13102002: 13202003: 13102004: 13302005: 13402006: 13202007: 13202008: 13202009: 13102010: 13102011: 13102012: 13102013: 13302014: 13502015: 13302016: 13302017: 14002018: 14102019: 14102022: 14802023: 14702024: 149014902001: 15102002: 15102003: 15102004: 15202005: 15302006: 15202007: 15202008: 15202009: 15382010: 15302011: 15302012: 15302013: 15602014: 15602015: 15502016: 15402017: 15702018: 15502019: 15502022: 15702023: 15602024: 15701570
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA1300140015002016 REDESIGN2001202420162001: 13102002: 13202003: 13102004: 13302005: 13402006: 13202007: 13202008: 13202009: 13102010: 13102011: 13102012: 13102013: 13302014: 13502015: 13302016: 13302017: 14002018: 14102019: 14102022: 14802023: 14702024: 149014902001: 15102002: 15102003: 15102004: 15202005: 15302006: 15202007: 15202008: 15202009: 15382010: 15302011: 15302012: 15302013: 15602014: 15602015: 15502016: 15402017: 15702018: 15502019: 15502022: 15702023: 15602024: 15701570

SAT range (section sums) — data
Year25th75th
Fall 200113101510
Fall 200213201510
Fall 200313101510
Fall 200413301520
Fall 200513401530
Fall 200613201520
Fall 200713201520
Fall 200813201520
Fall 200913101538
Fall 201013101530
Fall 201113101530
Fall 201213101530
Fall 201313301560
Fall 201413501560
Fall 201513301550
Fall 201613301540
Fall 201714001570
Fall 201814101550
Fall 201914101550
Fall 202214801570
Fall 202314701560
Fall 202414901570
IPEDS Fall 2001–2024, submitters only

ACT middle 50%

34–35Fall 2024 · submittersSkip to data table

The middle half of enrolled ACT submitters, using published composite-score percentiles — not admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA28303234200520242005: 282006: 292007: 292008: 292009: 302010: 302011: 292012: 302013: 302014: 312015: 312016: 312017: 312018: 322019: 322022: 342023: 332024: 34342005: 332006: 332007: 332008: 332009: 342010: 342011: 342012: 342013: 342014: 342015: 342016: 342017: 352018: 352019: 352022: 352023: 352024: 3535
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA3035200520242005: 282006: 292007: 292008: 292009: 302010: 302011: 292012: 302013: 302014: 312015: 312016: 312017: 312018: 322019: 322022: 342023: 332024: 34342005: 332006: 332007: 332008: 332009: 342010: 342011: 342012: 342013: 342014: 342015: 342016: 342017: 352018: 352019: 352022: 352023: 352024: 3535

ACT middle 50% — data
Year25th75th
Fall 20052833
Fall 20062933
Fall 20072933
Fall 20082933
Fall 20093034
Fall 20103034
Fall 20112934
Fall 20123034
Fall 20133034
Fall 20143134
Fall 20153134
Fall 20163134
Fall 20173135
Fall 20183235
Fall 20193235
Fall 20223435
Fall 20233335
Fall 20243435
IPEDS Fall 2005–2024, submitters only

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

2,076Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

2k2k2k200220242002: 1,9852003: 1,9742004: 1,9312005: 1,9812006: 1,9792007: 1,9732008: 1,9832009: 2,0332010: 1,9982011: 2,0142012: 2,0172013: 2,0512014: 2,0192015: 2,0702016: 2,0442017: 2,0332018: 2,0282019: 2,0282020: 1,9172021: 2,1292022: 2,1382023: 2,0602024: 2,0762,076
2k2k2k200220242002: 1,9852003: 1,9742004: 1,9312005: 1,9812006: 1,9792007: 1,9732008: 1,9832009: 2,0332010: 1,9982011: 2,0142012: 2,0172013: 2,0512014: 2,0192015: 2,0702016: 2,0442017: 2,0332018: 2,0282019: 2,0282020: 1,9172021: 2,1292022: 2,1382023: 2,0602024: 2,0762,076

Undergraduate enrollment at Williams College has held near 2,076 from Fall 2002 to Fall 2024.

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 20021,985
Fall 20031,974
Fall 20041,931
Fall 20051,981
Fall 20061,979
Fall 20071,973
Fall 20081,983
Fall 20092,033
Fall 20101,998
Fall 20112,014
Fall 20122,017
Fall 20132,051
Fall 20142,019
Fall 20152,070
Fall 20162,044
Fall 20172,033
Fall 20182,028
Fall 20192,028
Fall 20201,917
Fall 20212,129
Fall 20222,138
Fall 20232,060
Fall 20242,076
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

97%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

90%93%95%98%200320232003: 98%2004: 97%2005: 97%2006: 97%2007: 97%2008: 98%2009: 97%2010: 97%2011: 96%2012: 98%2013: 98%2014: 97%2015: 97%2016: 98%2017: 99%2018: 97%2019: 90%2020: 97%2021: 97%2022: 97%2023: 97%97%
90%95%200320232003: 98%2004: 97%2005: 97%2006: 97%2007: 97%2008: 98%2009: 97%2010: 97%2011: 96%2012: 98%2013: 98%2014: 97%2015: 97%2016: 98%2017: 99%2018: 97%2019: 90%2020: 97%2021: 97%2022: 97%2023: 97%97%

First-year retention at Williams College has held near 97% from Fall 2003 to Fall 2023.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2003 cohort98%
Fall 2004 cohort97%
Fall 2005 cohort97%
Fall 2006 cohort97%
Fall 2007 cohort97%
Fall 2008 cohort98%
Fall 2009 cohort97%
Fall 2010 cohort97%
Fall 2011 cohort96%
Fall 2012 cohort98%
Fall 2013 cohort98%
Fall 2014 cohort97%
Fall 2015 cohort97%
Fall 2016 cohort98%
Fall 2017 cohort99%
Fall 2018 cohort97%
Fall 2019 cohort90%
Fall 2020 cohort97%
Fall 2021 cohort97%
Fall 2022 cohort97%
Fall 2023 cohort97%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2003–2023
More about Williams College

Faculty pay at Williams College averages $183,804 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes Williams College as a primarily residential campus of 2,076 undergraduates — and 96.9% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

Williams College's SAT section-percentile sums are 1490–1570 — their midpoint is above the MA four-year benchmark. These are not total-score percentiles. Put your own practice estimate on Williams College's range with the SAT calculator, or bring a saved GPA from the grade tools.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Williams College compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Acceptance rate

Fall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS

Williams College8.3%
Massachusetts median70.3%
National median76.8%

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Williams College$68,560
Massachusetts median$46,700
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Williams College's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Williams College$88,665
Massachusetts median$62,832
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Williams College, Massachusetts and national reference values
Metric & basisWilliams CollegeMassachusetts medianNational median
Acceptance rateFall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS8.3%70.3%76.8%
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$68,560$46,700$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$88,665$62,832$53,781

Published earnings by bachelor's field of study

For Williams College, these are federal subject groups (CIP), not departments. Median is the middle annual income.

Williams College federal-aid recipients · graduated 2017–18 or 2018–19 · income measured 2022 or 2023 · inflation-adjusted to 2024 dollars. Definitions and limits.

View 11 fields & earnings
Bachelor's field of study (CIP category)Median earnings, 4 yrs after completion
Computer Science$209,574
Economics$166,678
Mathematics$134,304
Political Science and Government$88,339
Psychology, General$72,891
English Language and Literature, General$69,065
Biology, General$65,357
History$59,535
Fine and Studio Arts$55,012
Chemistry$51,050
Area Studies$43,501

These 11 fields listed for Williams College measure earnings after completion. The $88,665 institution-level snapshot above measures earnings after entry; it is not the same cohort or a total for these fields. 20 additional Williams College fields have earnings withheld under federal privacy rules.

Frequently asked questions

What test-score data does Williams College report?

Williams College's enrolled submitters had SAT section-percentile sums of 1490–1570 in Fall 2024. These are not total-score percentiles or a GPA requirement.

What is Williams College's acceptance rate?

8.3% in the Fall 2024 cycle — 1,272 admitted from 15,411 applicants.

How much does Williams College cost?

At Williams College, tuition is $68,560. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Williams College report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $88,665. Major figures measure four years after completion. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Massachusetts

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Field-of-study cohort dates are shown with the table. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →