Skip to content

Colleges › Massachusetts › Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Massachusetts Institute of Technology is a private campus in Cambridge proper — federal locale codes class it as urban. The federal record identifies it as a land-grant institution.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
not reported
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
$4,621
$48–75k
$13,696
$75–110k
$46,627
over $110k

Only three of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Massachusetts Institute of Technology — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$20,1112023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$5k$10k$15k$20k$25k200820232008: $20,2852009: $20,3002010: $22,4882011: $21,4672012: $21,8162013: $23,5472014: $22,9682015: $22,5492016: $20,7712017: $18,2782018: $16,6362019: $16,4072020: $5,0842021: $20,3382022: $19,8132023: $20,111$20,111
$10k$20k200820232008: $20,2852009: $20,3002010: $22,4882011: $21,4672012: $21,8162013: $23,5472014: $22,9682015: $22,5492016: $20,7712017: $18,2782018: $16,6362019: $16,4072020: $5,0842021: $20,3382022: $19,8132023: $20,111$20,111

Average net price at Massachusetts Institute of Technology has wandered from 2008 to 2023 — up to $23,547 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at $20,111.

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$20,285
2009$20,300
2010$22,488
2011$21,467
2012$21,816
2013$23,547
2014$22,968
2015$22,549
2016$20,771
2017$18,278
2018$16,636
2019$16,407
2020$5,084
2021$20,338
2022$19,813
2023$20,111
IPEDS 16 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$82,7302024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$50k$60k$70k$80k200920242009: $50,1002010: $52,0002011: $53,2102012: $55,2702013: $57,0102014: $59,0202015: $61,0302016: $63,2502017: $65,4782018: $67,4302019: $70,2402020: $73,1602021: $63,6812022: $77,0202023: $79,8502024: $82,730$82,730
$50k$60k$70k$80k200920242009: $50,1002010: $52,0002011: $53,2102012: $55,2702013: $57,0102014: $59,0202015: $61,0302016: $63,2502017: $65,4782018: $67,4302019: $70,2402020: $73,1602021: $63,6812022: $77,0202023: $79,8502024: $82,730$82,730

Total cost at Massachusetts Institute of Technology rose from $50,100 (2009) to $82,730 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$50,100
2010$52,000
2011$53,210
2012$55,270
2013$57,010
2014$59,020
2015$61,030
2016$63,250
2017$65,478
2018$67,430
2019$70,240
2020$73,160
2021$63,681
2022$77,020
2023$79,850
2024$82,730
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$30k$40k$50k$60k200120232001: $26,9602002: $28,0302003: $29,4002004: $30,6002005: $32,3002006: $33,6002007: $34,9862008: $36,3902013: $43,4982014: $45,0162015: $46,7042016: $48,4522017: $49,8922018: $51,8322019: $53,7902020: $53,4502021: $55,8782022: $57,9862023: $60,156$60,156
$30k$40k$50k$60k200120232001: $26,9602002: $28,0302003: $29,4002004: $30,6002005: $32,3002006: $33,6002007: $34,9862008: $36,3902013: $43,4982014: $45,0162015: $46,7042016: $48,4522017: $49,8922018: $51,8322019: $53,7902020: $53,4502021: $55,8782022: $57,9862023: $60,156$60,156

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2001$26,960
2002$28,030
2003$29,400
2004$30,600
2005$32,300
2006$33,600
2007$34,986
2008$36,390
2013$43,498
2014$45,016
2015$46,704
2016$48,452
2017$49,892
2018$51,832
2019$53,790
2020$53,450
2021$55,878
2022$57,986
2023$60,156
IPEDS Published price 2001–02 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Reported tuition is $62,396 before grants and other attendance costs. At Massachusetts Institute of Technology, aid and other costs change the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

At 4,535 undergrads, Massachusetts Institute of Technology is a mid-sized campus by U.S. standards.

96.4% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Massachusetts Institute of Technology within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
96.4%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

90%92%94%96%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 88.9%entered 1992: 91.5%entered 1993: 91%entered 1994: 91.5%entered 1995: 92.2%entered 1996: 90.9%entered 1997: 92.1%entered 1998: 92.4%entered 1999: 94.1%entered 2000: 93.1%entered 2001: 92.6%entered 2002: 93.5%entered 2003: 91.4%entered 2004: 92.9%entered 2005: 92.9%entered 2006: 92.8%entered 2007: 93.1%entered 2008: 91.3%entered 2009: 91.9%entered 2010: 92.8%entered 2011: 93.8%entered 2012: 94.2%entered 2013: 95.4%entered 2014: 95.6%entered 2015: 96.2%entered 2016: 94.9%entered 2017: 96.1%entered 2018: 96.4%96.4%
90%93%95%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 88.9%entered 1992: 91.5%entered 1993: 91%entered 1994: 91.5%entered 1995: 92.2%entered 1996: 90.9%entered 1997: 92.1%entered 1998: 92.4%entered 1999: 94.1%entered 2000: 93.1%entered 2001: 92.6%entered 2002: 93.5%entered 2003: 91.4%entered 2004: 92.9%entered 2005: 92.9%entered 2006: 92.8%entered 2007: 93.1%entered 2008: 91.3%entered 2009: 91.9%entered 2010: 92.8%entered 2011: 93.8%entered 2012: 94.2%entered 2013: 95.4%entered 2014: 95.6%entered 2015: 96.2%entered 2016: 94.9%entered 2017: 96.1%entered 2018: 96.4%96.4%

The six-year graduation rate at Massachusetts Institute of Technology has held near 96.4% from Fall 1991 to Fall 2018 entering cohorts.

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1991 cohort88.9%
1992 cohort91.5%
1993 cohort91%
1994 cohort91.5%
1995 cohort92.2%
1996 cohort90.9%
1997 cohort92.1%
1998 cohort92.4%
1999 cohort94.1%
2000 cohort93.1%
2001 cohort92.6%
2002 cohort93.5%
2003 cohort91.4%
2004 cohort92.9%
2005 cohort92.9%
2006 cohort92.8%
2007 cohort93.1%
2008 cohort91.3%
2009 cohort91.9%
2010 cohort92.8%
2011 cohort93.8%
2012 cohort94.2%
2013 cohort95.4%
2014 cohort95.6%
2015 cohort96.2%
2016 cohort94.9%
2017 cohort96.1%
2018 cohort96.4%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1991–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$5k$10k$15kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $17,125Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $17,125Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $15,603Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $14,375Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $11,625Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $9,624Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $6,476Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $6,080Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $7,584Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $8,854Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $10,789Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $13,052Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $13,857Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $13,000Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $14,539Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $17,355Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $17,125Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $12,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $12,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $13,418Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $14,768$14,768 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $3,498Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $3,494Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $3,101Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $4,274Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $6,750Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $5,973Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $6,717Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $10,778Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $5,650Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $6,490$6,490 left
$5k$10k$15kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $17,125Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $17,125Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $15,603Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $14,375Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $11,625Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $9,624Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $6,476Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $6,080Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $7,584Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $8,854Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $10,789Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $13,052Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $13,857Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $13,000Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $14,539Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $17,355Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $17,125Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $12,500Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $12,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $13,418Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $14,768$14,768 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $3,498Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $3,494Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $3,101Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $4,274Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $6,750Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $5,973Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $6,717Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $10,778Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $5,650Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $6,490$6,490 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)$17,125$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)$17,125$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)$15,603$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)$14,375$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)$11,625$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)$9,624$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)$6,476$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)$5,500$3,498
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)$5,500$3,494
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)$5,500$3,101
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$6,080$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$7,584$4,274
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$8,854$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$10,789$6,750
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$13,052$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$13,857$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$13,000$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$14,539$5,973
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$17,355$6,717
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$17,125$10,778
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$12,500$5,650
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$12,500$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$13,418$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$14,768$6,490
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$131,633
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$135,278
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$143,372
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Massachusetts Institute of Technology admitted 1,284 of 28,232 applicants in Fall 2024. The 4.5% rate describes that application pool.

4.5%
acceptance rate · Fall 2024 admissions cycle
Tests required · Fall 2024
400SAT range (section 25th/75th sums): 1520–15801600

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

In the Fall 2024 cycle, Massachusetts Institute of Technology received 28,232 applications and admitted 1,284 (4.5%), with 1,102 enrolling.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology reported required test scores for the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. Massachusetts Institute of Technology's ranges describe enrolled submitters, not all applicants or admitted students.

Check current requirements with admissions.

Score25th50th75th
SAT Reading & Writing740760780
SAT Math780800800
ACT Composite343536

25th / 75th: a quarter of enrolled submitters scored below the first number, a quarter above the second. These are not cutoffs.

Only students who submitted scores are counted — at test-optional schools, many enrolled students aren't in this table.

Percentiles are among enrolled students who submitted scores (Fall 2024 admissions cycle).

Acceptance rate

4.5%Fall 2024Skip to data table

The share of applicants offered a spot — lower means more selective; read it alongside the score ranges below.

5%10%15%200120242001: 17%2002: 16.2%2003: 16.4%2004: 15.9%2005: 14.3%2006: 13.3%2007: 12.5%2008: 11.9%2009: 10.7%2010: 10.1%2011: 9.7%2012: 8.9%2013: 8.2%2014: 7.9%2015: 8.3%2016: 7.9%2017: 7.2%2018: 6.7%2019: 6.7%2020: 7.3%2021: 4.1%2022: 4%2023: 4.7%2024: 4.5%4.5%
5%10%15%200120242001: 17%2002: 16.2%2003: 16.4%2004: 15.9%2005: 14.3%2006: 13.3%2007: 12.5%2008: 11.9%2009: 10.7%2010: 10.1%2011: 9.7%2012: 8.9%2013: 8.2%2014: 7.9%2015: 8.3%2016: 7.9%2017: 7.2%2018: 6.7%2019: 6.7%2020: 7.3%2021: 4.1%2022: 4%2023: 4.7%2024: 4.5%4.5%

Massachusetts Institute of Technology's admission rate fell from 17% to 4.5%. The rate alone cannot explain the change. This describes Fall 2001 to Fall 2024.

Acceptance rate — data
YearAcceptance rate
Fall 200117%
Fall 200216.2%
Fall 200316.4%
Fall 200415.9%
Fall 200514.3%
Fall 200613.3%
Fall 200712.5%
Fall 200811.9%
Fall 200910.7%
Fall 201010.1%
Fall 20119.7%
Fall 20128.9%
Fall 20138.2%
Fall 20147.9%
Fall 20158.3%
Fall 20167.9%
Fall 20177.2%
Fall 20186.7%
Fall 20196.7%
Fall 20207.3%
Fall 20214.1%
Fall 20224%
Fall 20234.7%
Fall 20244.5%
IPEDS Fall cycles 2001–2024

SAT range (section sums, 25th–75th)

1520–1580Fall 2024 · submittersSkip to data table

Sums of the reading/writing and math percentiles among enrolled submitters — not percentiles of total SAT scores or admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA1400150016002016 REDESIGN2001202420162001: 14102002: 14202003: 14102004: 14102005: 14302006: 13802007: 13802008: 13802009: 13702010: 14102011: 14102012: 14102013: 14302014: 14202015: 14302016: 14602017: 14902018: 15002019: 15102020: 15102022: 15302023: 15102024: 152015202001: 15602002: 15602003: 15602004: 15602005: 15702006: 15602007: 15602008: 15602009: 15602010: 15602011: 15702012: 15702013: 15702014: 15702015: 15802016: 15902017: 15702018: 15702019: 15702020: 15802022: 15802023: 15802024: 15801580
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA1400150016002016 REDESIGN2001202420162001: 14102002: 14202003: 14102004: 14102005: 14302006: 13802007: 13802008: 13802009: 13702010: 14102011: 14102012: 14102013: 14302014: 14202015: 14302016: 14602017: 14902018: 15002019: 15102020: 15102022: 15302023: 15102024: 152015202001: 15602002: 15602003: 15602004: 15602005: 15702006: 15602007: 15602008: 15602009: 15602010: 15602011: 15702012: 15702013: 15702014: 15702015: 15802016: 15902017: 15702018: 15702019: 15702020: 15802022: 15802023: 15802024: 15801580

SAT range (section sums) — data
Year25th75th
Fall 200114101560
Fall 200214201560
Fall 200314101560
Fall 200414101560
Fall 200514301570
Fall 200613801560
Fall 200713801560
Fall 200813801560
Fall 200913701560
Fall 201014101560
Fall 201114101570
Fall 201214101570
Fall 201314301570
Fall 201414201570
Fall 201514301580
Fall 201614601590
Fall 201714901570
Fall 201815001570
Fall 201915101570
Fall 202015101580
Fall 202215301580
Fall 202315101580
Fall 202415201580
IPEDS Fall 2001–2024, submitters only

ACT middle 50%

34–36Fall 2024 · submittersSkip to data table

The middle half of enrolled ACT submitters, using published composite-score percentiles — not admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA30323436200320242003: 302004: 312005: 312006: 302007: 312008: 312009: 322010: 322011: 322012: 322013: 332014: 332015: 332016: 332017: 332018: 342019: 342020: 342022: 352023: 342024: 34342003: 342004: 342005: 342006: 342007: 342008: 342009: 352010: 352011: 352012: 352013: 352014: 352015: 352016: 352017: 352018: 362019: 362020: 362022: 362023: 362024: 3636
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA30323436200320242003: 302004: 312005: 312006: 302007: 312008: 312009: 322010: 322011: 322012: 322013: 332014: 332015: 332016: 332017: 332018: 342019: 342020: 342022: 352023: 342024: 34342003: 342004: 342005: 342006: 342007: 342008: 342009: 352010: 352011: 352012: 352013: 352014: 352015: 352016: 352017: 352018: 362019: 362020: 362022: 362023: 362024: 3636

ACT middle 50% — data
Year25th75th
Fall 20033034
Fall 20043134
Fall 20053134
Fall 20063034
Fall 20073134
Fall 20083134
Fall 20093235
Fall 20103235
Fall 20113235
Fall 20123235
Fall 20133335
Fall 20143335
Fall 20153335
Fall 20163335
Fall 20173335
Fall 20183436
Fall 20193436
Fall 20203436
Fall 20223536
Fall 20233436
Fall 20243436
IPEDS Fall 2003–2024, submitters only

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

4,535Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

4k4k4k5k200220242002: 4,1732003: 4,1092004: 4,1322005: 4,0532006: 4,1142007: 4,1632008: 4,1382009: 4,2182010: 4,2852011: 4,3632012: 4,4772013: 4,5102014: 4,4762015: 4,4742016: 4,4892017: 4,4892018: 4,5502019: 4,5162020: 4,3602021: 4,6292022: 4,6382023: 4,5712024: 4,5354,535
4k4k4k5k200220242002: 4,1732003: 4,1092004: 4,1322005: 4,0532006: 4,1142007: 4,1632008: 4,1382009: 4,2182010: 4,2852011: 4,3632012: 4,4772013: 4,5102014: 4,4762015: 4,4742016: 4,4892017: 4,4892018: 4,5502019: 4,5162020: 4,3602021: 4,6292022: 4,6382023: 4,5712024: 4,5354,535

Undergraduate enrollment at Massachusetts Institute of Technology has held near 4,535 from Fall 2002 to Fall 2024.

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 20024,173
Fall 20034,109
Fall 20044,132
Fall 20054,053
Fall 20064,114
Fall 20074,163
Fall 20084,138
Fall 20094,218
Fall 20104,285
Fall 20114,363
Fall 20124,477
Fall 20134,510
Fall 20144,476
Fall 20154,474
Fall 20164,489
Fall 20174,489
Fall 20184,550
Fall 20194,516
Fall 20204,360
Fall 20214,629
Fall 20224,638
Fall 20234,571
Fall 20244,535
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

99%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

97%98%98%99%99%200220232002: 97%2003: 98%2004: 98%2005: 98%2006: 98%2007: 98%2008: 97%2009: 97%2010: 98%2011: 98%2012: 98%2013: 99%2014: 98%2015: 98%2016: 99%2017: 99%2018: 99%2019: 98%2020: 99%2021: 99%2022: 99%2023: 99%99%
97%98%99%200220232002: 97%2003: 98%2004: 98%2005: 98%2006: 98%2007: 98%2008: 97%2009: 97%2010: 98%2011: 98%2012: 98%2013: 99%2014: 98%2015: 98%2016: 99%2017: 99%2018: 99%2019: 98%2020: 99%2021: 99%2022: 99%2023: 99%99%

First-year retention at Massachusetts Institute of Technology has held near 99% from Fall 2002 to Fall 2023.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2002 cohort97%
Fall 2003 cohort98%
Fall 2004 cohort98%
Fall 2005 cohort98%
Fall 2006 cohort98%
Fall 2007 cohort98%
Fall 2008 cohort97%
Fall 2009 cohort97%
Fall 2010 cohort98%
Fall 2011 cohort98%
Fall 2012 cohort98%
Fall 2013 cohort99%
Fall 2014 cohort98%
Fall 2015 cohort98%
Fall 2016 cohort99%
Fall 2017 cohort99%
Fall 2018 cohort99%
Fall 2019 cohort98%
Fall 2020 cohort99%
Fall 2021 cohort99%
Fall 2022 cohort99%
Fall 2023 cohort99%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2002–2023
More about Massachusetts Institute of Technology

19.3% of Massachusetts Institute of Technology's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment. Carnegie classes Massachusetts Institute of Technology as a primarily residential campus of 4,535 undergraduates — and 99.1% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology's SAT section-percentile sums are 1520–1580 — their midpoint is above the MA four-year benchmark. These are not total-score percentiles. Put your own practice estimate on Massachusetts Institute of Technology's range with the SAT calculator, or bring a saved GPA from the grade tools.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Massachusetts Institute of Technology compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Acceptance rate

Fall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS

Massachusetts Institute of Technology4.5%
Massachusetts median70.3%
National median76.8%

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Massachusetts Institute of Technology$62,396
Massachusetts median$46,700
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Massachusetts Institute of Technology's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology$143,372
Massachusetts median$62,832
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Massachusetts and national reference values
Metric & basisMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyMassachusetts medianNational median
Acceptance rateFall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS4.5%70.3%76.8%
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$62,396$46,700$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$143,372$62,832$53,781

Published earnings by bachelor's field of study

For Massachusetts Institute of Technology, these are federal subject groups (CIP), not departments. Median is the middle annual income.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology federal-aid recipients · graduated 2017–18 or 2018–19 · income measured 2022 or 2023 · inflation-adjusted to 2024 dollars. Definitions and limits.

View 9 fields & earnings
Bachelor's field of study (CIP category)Median earnings, 4 yrs after completion
Computer Science$225,141
Mathematics$174,951
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$161,118
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$147,998
Mechanical Engineering$131,967
Physics$131,025
Chemical Engineering$122,093
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$114,620
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$111,738

These 9 fields listed for Massachusetts Institute of Technology measure earnings after completion. The $143,372 institution-level snapshot above measures earnings after entry; it is not the same cohort or a total for these fields. 31 additional Massachusetts Institute of Technology fields have earnings withheld under federal privacy rules.

Frequently asked questions

What test-score data does Massachusetts Institute of Technology report?

Massachusetts Institute of Technology's enrolled submitters had SAT section-percentile sums of 1520–1580 in Fall 2024. These are not total-score percentiles or a GPA requirement.

What is Massachusetts Institute of Technology's acceptance rate?

4.5% in the Fall 2024 cycle — 1,284 admitted from 28,232 applicants.

How much does Massachusetts Institute of Technology cost?

At Massachusetts Institute of Technology, tuition is $62,396. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Massachusetts Institute of Technology report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $143,372. Major figures measure four years after completion. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Massachusetts

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Field-of-study cohort dates are shown with the table. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →