Skip to content

Colleges › New Mexico › Western New Mexico University

Western New Mexico University

Western New Mexico University is based in the town of Silver City, NM — a public campus in a small-town setting.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$7,881
family income
under $30k
$6,940
$30–48k
$12,883
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only three of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Western New Mexico University — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$8,5222023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$8k$10k$12k$14k200820232008: $8,2432009: $10,4982010: $8,8392011: $9,3732012: $9,9622013: $11,0552014: $11,6362015: $10,9422016: $12,0452017: $13,1782018: $12,4112019: $13,6792020: $14,0232021: $11,3112022: $7,9122023: $8,522$8,522
$8k$10k$12k$14k200820232008: $8,2432009: $10,4982010: $8,8392011: $9,3732012: $9,9622013: $11,0552014: $11,6362015: $10,9422016: $12,0452017: $13,1782018: $12,4112019: $13,6792020: $14,0232021: $11,3112022: $7,9122023: $8,522$8,522

Average net price at Western New Mexico University has wandered from 2008 to 2023 — up to $14,023 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at $8,522.

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$8,243
2009$10,498
2010$8,839
2011$9,373
2012$9,962
2013$11,055
2014$11,636
2015$10,942
2016$12,045
2017$13,178
2018$12,411
2019$13,679
2020$14,023
2021$11,311
2022$7,912
2023$8,522
IPEDS 16 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$21,5622024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$14k$16k$18k$20k$22k200920242009: $13,4922010: $13,9452011: $14,0192012: $14,6062013: $15,1212014: $16,6612015: $16,7462016: $17,3422017: $18,1712018: $19,3622019: $18,7582020: $17,7722021: $20,7072022: $19,5762023: $21,6492024: $21,562$21,562
$15k$18k$20k200920242009: $13,4922010: $13,9452011: $14,0192012: $14,6062013: $15,1212014: $16,6612015: $16,7462016: $17,3422017: $18,1712018: $19,3622019: $18,7582020: $17,7722021: $20,7072022: $19,5762023: $21,6492024: $21,562$21,562

Total cost at Western New Mexico University rose from $13,492 (2009) to $21,562 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$13,492
2010$13,945
2011$14,019
2012$14,606
2013$15,121
2014$16,661
2015$16,746
2016$17,342
2017$18,171
2018$19,362
2019$18,758
2020$17,772
2021$20,707
2022$19,576
2023$21,649
2024$21,562
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition (in-state vs out-of-state)

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

In-stateOut-of-state
$5k$10k$15k200020232000: $1,9332001: $2,1242002: $2,2622003: $2,3702004: $2,5572005: $2,8632006: $3,0652007: $3,2232008: $3,4312013: $4,7232014: $5,3462015: $5,7042016: $5,9062017: $6,0662018: $6,0662019: $6,3062020: $6,5742021: $6,5582022: $7,6572023: $7,868$7,868 in2000: $7,0782001: $7,7882002: $8,4782003: $8,9222004: $9,5652005: $10,4232006: $11,3212007: $11,8872008: $12,7182013: $12,7632014: $13,1842015: $13,3642016: $13,8062017: $13,5392018: $13,5392019: $13,5392020: $13,5572021: $13,5412022: $14,2872023: $14,354$14,354 out
$5k$10k$15k200020232000: $1,9332001: $2,1242002: $2,2622003: $2,3702004: $2,5572005: $2,8632006: $3,0652007: $3,2232008: $3,4312013: $4,7232014: $5,3462015: $5,7042016: $5,9062017: $6,0662018: $6,0662019: $6,3062020: $6,5742021: $6,5582022: $7,6572023: $7,868$7,868 in2000: $7,0782001: $7,7882002: $8,4782003: $8,9222004: $9,5652005: $10,4232006: $11,3212007: $11,8872008: $12,7182013: $12,7632014: $13,1842015: $13,3642016: $13,8062017: $13,5392018: $13,5392019: $13,5392020: $13,5572021: $13,5412022: $14,2872023: $14,354$14,354 out

Tuition — data
YearIn-stateOut-of-state
2000$1,933$7,078
2001$2,124$7,788
2002$2,262$8,478
2003$2,370$8,922
2004$2,557$9,565
2005$2,863$10,423
2006$3,065$11,321
2007$3,223$11,887
2008$3,431$12,718
2013$4,723$12,763
2014$5,346$13,184
2015$5,704$13,364
2016$5,906$13,806
2017$6,066$13,539
2018$6,066$13,539
2019$6,306$13,539
2020$6,574$13,557
2021$6,558$13,541
2022$7,657$14,287
2023$7,868$14,354
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Western New Mexico University reports published tuition by residency: $7,856 in-state versus $14,342 out-of-state — a $6,486 gap that makes state lines part of the decision. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Western New Mexico University reports 2,026 undergraduate students. Enrollment is a headcount, not a measure of teaching access.

32.2% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Western New Mexico University within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
32.2%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

20%30%40%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 16.5%entered 1992: 15%entered 1993: 19.7%entered 1994: 19.9%entered 1995: 28.6%entered 1996: 40.1%entered 1997: 21%entered 1998: 29.5%entered 1999: 25.2%entered 2000: 23.1%entered 2001: 22.3%entered 2002: 22.6%entered 2003: 19.3%entered 2004: 20.8%entered 2005: 17.5%entered 2006: 16.5%entered 2007: 17%entered 2008: 20.9%entered 2009: 20.6%entered 2010: 20.2%entered 2011: 26.7%entered 2012: 25.8%entered 2013: 34.5%entered 2014: 28%entered 2015: 29.3%entered 2016: 31.1%entered 2017: 34.9%entered 2018: 32.2%32.2%
20%30%40%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 16.5%entered 1992: 15%entered 1993: 19.7%entered 1994: 19.9%entered 1995: 28.6%entered 1996: 40.1%entered 1997: 21%entered 1998: 29.5%entered 1999: 25.2%entered 2000: 23.1%entered 2001: 22.3%entered 2002: 22.6%entered 2003: 19.3%entered 2004: 20.8%entered 2005: 17.5%entered 2006: 16.5%entered 2007: 17%entered 2008: 20.9%entered 2009: 20.6%entered 2010: 20.2%entered 2011: 26.7%entered 2012: 25.8%entered 2013: 34.5%entered 2014: 28%entered 2015: 29.3%entered 2016: 31.1%entered 2017: 34.9%entered 2018: 32.2%32.2%

The six-year graduation rate at Western New Mexico University rose from 16.5% (entered 1991) to 32.2% (entered 2018).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1991 cohort16.5%
1992 cohort15%
1993 cohort19.7%
1994 cohort19.9%
1995 cohort28.6%
1996 cohort40.1%
1997 cohort21%
1998 cohort29.5%
1999 cohort25.2%
2000 cohort23.1%
2001 cohort22.3%
2002 cohort22.6%
2003 cohort19.3%
2004 cohort20.8%
2005 cohort17.5%
2006 cohort16.5%
2007 cohort17%
2008 cohort20.9%
2009 cohort20.6%
2010 cohort20.2%
2011 cohort26.7%
2012 cohort25.8%
2013 cohort34.5%
2014 cohort28%
2015 cohort29.3%
2016 cohort31.1%
2017 cohort34.9%
2018 cohort32.2%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1991–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$5k$10k$15k$20kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $5,768Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $5,000Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $3,645Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $5,710Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $5,250Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $4,905Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $6,216Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $8,961Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $10,093Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $11,000Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $11,904Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $13,231Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $14,607Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $16,697Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $19,505Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $21,875Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $22,250Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $22,347Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $23,105Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $23,000$23,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $2,799Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $2,808Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $2,750Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $4,154Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $3,978Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $3,750Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $4,529Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $6,421Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $8,250Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $9,212Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $9,498Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $8,750$8,750 left
$10k$20kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $5,768Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $5,000Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $3,645Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $5,710Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $5,250Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $4,905Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $6,216Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $8,961Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $10,093Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $11,000Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $11,904Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $13,231Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $14,607Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $16,697Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $19,505Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $21,875Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $22,250Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $22,347Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $23,105Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $23,000$23,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $2,799Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $2,808Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $2,750Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $4,154Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $3,978Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $3,750Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $4,529Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $6,421Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $8,250Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $9,212Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $9,500Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $9,498Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $8,750$8,750 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)$5,768$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)$5,000$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)$3,500$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)$3,645$2,799
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)$5,710$2,808
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)$5,250$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)$4,905$2,750
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)—$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)—$4,154
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)—$3,978
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$6,216$3,750
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$8,961$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$10,093$4,529
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$11,000$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$11,904$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$13,231$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$14,607$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$16,697$6,421
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$19,505$7,500
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$21,875$8,250
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$22,250$9,212
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$22,347$9,500
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$23,105$9,498
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$23,000$8,750
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$31,166
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$33,484
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$39,095
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

Western New Mexico University reported open admission for Fall 2024. No selective rate is shown; check Western New Mexico University's current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

2,026Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

2k2k2k2k2k200220242002: 1,7222003: 2,3462004: 1,9362005: 1,8242006: 1,7012007: 1,7452008: 1,7362009: 2,0322010: 2,1482011: 2,0592012: 2,1412013: 2,1662014: 2,1052015: 1,8662016: 1,8082017: 1,7622018: 1,7382019: 1,6202020: 1,5342021: 1,5282022: 1,7822023: 1,9352024: 2,0262,026
2k2k2k2k200220242002: 1,7222003: 2,3462004: 1,9362005: 1,8242006: 1,7012007: 1,7452008: 1,7362009: 2,0322010: 2,1482011: 2,0592012: 2,1412013: 2,1662014: 2,1052015: 1,8662016: 1,8082017: 1,7622018: 1,7382019: 1,6202020: 1,5342021: 1,5282022: 1,7822023: 1,9352024: 2,0262,026

Undergraduate enrollment at Western New Mexico University rose from 1,722 (Fall 2002) to 2,026 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 20021,722
Fall 20032,346
Fall 20041,936
Fall 20051,824
Fall 20061,701
Fall 20071,745
Fall 20081,736
Fall 20092,032
Fall 20102,148
Fall 20112,059
Fall 20122,141
Fall 20132,166
Fall 20142,105
Fall 20151,866
Fall 20161,808
Fall 20171,762
Fall 20181,738
Fall 20191,620
Fall 20201,534
Fall 20211,528
Fall 20221,782
Fall 20231,935
Fall 20242,026
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

58%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

40%50%60%200320232003: 53%2004: 52%2005: 49%2006: 48%2007: 43%2008: 42%2009: 52%2010: 50%2011: 53%2012: 55%2013: 55%2014: 51%2015: 50%2016: 63%2017: 64%2018: 59%2019: 64%2020: 58%2021: 62%2022: 54%2023: 58%58%
40%50%60%200320232003: 53%2004: 52%2005: 49%2006: 48%2007: 43%2008: 42%2009: 52%2010: 50%2011: 53%2012: 55%2013: 55%2014: 51%2015: 50%2016: 63%2017: 64%2018: 59%2019: 64%2020: 58%2021: 62%2022: 54%2023: 58%58%

First-year retention at Western New Mexico University has wandered from Fall 2003 to Fall 2023 — up to 64% at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 58%.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2003 cohort53%
Fall 2004 cohort52%
Fall 2005 cohort49%
Fall 2006 cohort48%
Fall 2007 cohort43%
Fall 2008 cohort42%
Fall 2009 cohort52%
Fall 2010 cohort50%
Fall 2011 cohort53%
Fall 2012 cohort55%
Fall 2013 cohort55%
Fall 2014 cohort51%
Fall 2015 cohort50%
Fall 2016 cohort63%
Fall 2017 cohort64%
Fall 2018 cohort59%
Fall 2019 cohort64%
Fall 2020 cohort58%
Fall 2021 cohort62%
Fall 2022 cohort54%
Fall 2023 cohort58%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2003–2023
More about Western New Mexico University

Faculty pay at Western New Mexico University averages $101,616 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes Western New Mexico University as a primarily nonresidential campus — most of its 2,026 undergraduates live off campus, and 58.1% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

Western New Mexico University reported open admission in Fall 2024. Check today’s entry requirements.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Western New Mexico University compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition (in-state)

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Western New Mexico University$7,856
New Mexico median$8,183
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Western New Mexico University's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Western New Mexico University$39,095
New Mexico median$41,944
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Western New Mexico University, New Mexico and national reference values
Metric & basisWestern New Mexico UniversityNew Mexico medianNational median
Tuition (in-state)Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$7,856$8,183$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$39,095$41,944$53,781

Published earnings by bachelor's field of study

For Western New Mexico University, these are federal subject groups (CIP), not departments. Median is the middle annual income.

Western New Mexico University federal-aid recipients · graduated 2017–18 or 2018–19 · income measured 2022 or 2023 · inflation-adjusted to 2024 dollars. Definitions and limits.

View 4 fields & earnings
Bachelor's field of study (CIP category)Median earnings, 4 yrs after completion
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$84,626
Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions$56,548
Social Work$49,567
Criminal Justice and Corrections$46,184

These 4 fields listed for Western New Mexico University measure earnings after completion. The $39,095 institution-level snapshot above measures earnings after entry; it is not the same cohort or a total for these fields. 31 additional Western New Mexico University fields have earnings withheld under federal privacy rules.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Western New Mexico University cost?

In-state tuition is $7,856; out-of-state students pay $14,342. Fees, housing and aid move the real total in both directions.

What earnings data does Western New Mexico University report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $39,095. Major figures measure four years after completion. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in New Mexico

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Field-of-study cohort dates are shown with the table. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →