Skip to content

Colleges › Oregon › University of Western States

University of Western States

University of Western States is a private campus in Portland proper — federal locale codes class it as urban.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2009–10
family-income band
$20,244
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
$23,128
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only two of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at University of Western States — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$20,6042009–10Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$16k$18k$20k200820092008: $16,1902009: $20,604$20,604
$16k$18k$20k200820092008: $16,1902009: $20,604$20,604

Average net price at University of Western States rose from $16,190 (2008) to $20,604 (2009).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$16,190
2009$20,604
IPEDS 2 federal reports, 2008–2009

Total cost of attendance

$23,1282010–11Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$18k$20k$22k200920102009: $17,5052010: $23,128$23,128
$18k$20k$22k200920102009: $17,5052010: $23,128$23,128

Total cost at University of Western States rose from $17,505 (2009) to $23,128 (2010).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$17,505
2010$23,128
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2010

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$7k$7k$7k$7k200520082005: $7,5332006: $6,8062007: $6,9552008: $7,343$7,343
$7k$7k$7k$8k200520082005: $7,5332006: $6,8062007: $6,9552008: $7,343$7,343

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2005$7,533
2006$6,806
2007$6,955
2008$7,343
IPEDS Published price 2005–06 to 2008–09 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

University of Western States reports 0 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
66.7%entered Fall 2010Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

70%80%90%100%entered 1991entered 2010entered 1991: 80.7%entered 2006: 100%entered 2007: 100%entered 2009: 87.5%entered 2010: 66.7%66.7%
70%80%90%100%entered 1991entered 2010entered 1991: 80.7%entered 2006: 100%entered 2007: 100%entered 2009: 87.5%entered 2010: 66.7%66.7%

The six-year graduation rate at University of Western States has held near 100% from Fall 2006 to Fall 2007 entering cohorts.

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

University of Western States's first-year cohorts run about 5 students, so one or two moves University of Western States's line by whole percentage points.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1991 cohort80.7%
2006 cohort100%
2007 cohort100%
2009 cohort87.5%
2010 cohort66.7%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1991–2010

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$0$5k$10kLeft school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $1,780Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $1,231Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $11,848Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $11,375Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $7,588Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $7,805Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $8,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $9,425Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $11,838$11,838 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,055Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $3,834Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $3,835Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $3,833Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $4,700$4,700 left
$0$5k$10kLeft school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $1,780Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $1,231Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $11,848Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $11,375Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $7,588Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $7,805Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $8,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $9,425Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $11,838$11,838 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,055Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $3,834Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $3,835Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $3,833Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $4,700$4,700 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$1,780—
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$1,231—
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$11,848—
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$11,375$4,055
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$7,588$3,834
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$7,805$3,835
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$8,500$3,833
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$9,425$4,700
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$11,838—
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$26,840
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$34,673
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$27,382
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

2Fall 2022Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

020406080200620222006: 122007: 172008: 172009: 292010: 392011: 512012: 472013: 412014: 632015: 752016: 302017: 142019: 22020: 22022: 22
0255075200620222006: 122007: 172008: 172009: 292010: 392011: 512012: 472013: 412014: 632015: 752016: 302017: 142019: 22020: 22022: 22

Undergraduate enrollment at University of Western States rose from 12 (Fall 2006) to 14 (Fall 2017).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 200612
Fall 200717
Fall 200817
Fall 200929
Fall 201039
Fall 201151
Fall 201247
Fall 201341
Fall 201463
Fall 201575
Fall 201630
Fall 201714
Fall 20192
Fall 20202
Fall 20222
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2006–2022
More about University of Western States

Faculty pay at University of Western States averages $91,800 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay.

For Fall 2024, University of Western States considered scores; no usable range is filed. Oregon benchmarks are not University of Western States's own range.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How University of Western States compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

University of Western States's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

University of Western States$27,382
Oregon median$57,671
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
University of Western States, Oregon and national reference values
Metric & basisUniversity of Western StatesOregon medianNational median
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$27,382$57,671$53,781

Frequently asked questions

What earnings data does University of Western States report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $27,382. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Oregon

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →