Skip to content

Colleges › Texas › Texas College

Texas College

Texas College is a private campus in Tyler proper — federal locale codes class it as urban. It is one of the nation's historically Black colleges and universities — a federally recognized designation. The school reports a Christian Methodist Episcopal affiliation in its federal filings.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$10,966
family income
under $30k
$11,282
$30–48k
$8,403
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only three of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Texas College — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$10,9582023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$10k$13k$15k$18k$20k200820232008: $13,8382009: $12,3672010: $13,9232011: $14,2482012: $16,2012013: $14,8842014: $12,2792015: $15,9062016: $15,5962017: $19,5202018: $14,0882019: $15,1702020: $15,5392021: $11,1742022: $10,6502023: $10,958$10,958
$10k$15k$20k200820232008: $13,8382009: $12,3672010: $13,9232011: $14,2482012: $16,2012013: $14,8842014: $12,2792015: $15,9062016: $15,5962017: $19,5202018: $14,0882019: $15,1702020: $15,5392021: $11,1742022: $10,6502023: $10,958$10,958

Average net price at Texas College fell from $13,838 (2008) to $10,958 (2023).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$13,838
2009$12,367
2010$13,923
2011$14,248
2012$16,201
2013$14,884
2014$12,279
2015$15,906
2016$15,596
2017$19,520
2018$14,088
2019$15,170
2020$15,539
2021$11,174
2022$10,650
2023$10,958
IPEDS 16 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$20,3392024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$20k$22k$24k200920242009: $20,2782010: $19,2912011: $21,0322012: $20,7962013: $20,7652014: $21,0462015: $19,7072016: $20,9132017: $20,1402018: $25,3762019: $19,9402020: $21,6202021: $19,4002022: $21,4372023: $20,8322024: $20,339$20,339
$20k$22k$24k200920242009: $20,2782010: $19,2912011: $21,0322012: $20,7962013: $20,7652014: $21,0462015: $19,7072016: $20,9132017: $20,1402018: $25,3762019: $19,9402020: $21,6202021: $19,4002022: $21,4372023: $20,8322024: $20,339$20,339

Total cost at Texas College has wandered from 2009 to 2024 — up to $25,376 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at $20,339.

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$20,278
2010$19,291
2011$21,032
2012$20,796
2013$20,765
2014$21,046
2015$19,707
2016$20,913
2017$20,140
2018$25,376
2019$19,940
2020$21,620
2021$19,400
2022$21,437
2023$20,832
2024$20,339
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$6k$8k$10k200020232000: $5,2202001: $5,2202002: $5,3002003: $7,7002004: $7,7002005: $7,7002006: $8,7462007: $8,7462008: $9,2282013: $10,0082014: $10,0082015: $10,0082016: $10,0082017: $10,0082018: $10,0082019: $10,0002020: $10,0002021: $10,0082022: $10,0082023: $10,008$10,008
$6k$8k$10k200020232000: $5,2202001: $5,2202002: $5,3002003: $7,7002004: $7,7002005: $7,7002006: $8,7462007: $8,7462008: $9,2282013: $10,0082014: $10,0082015: $10,0082016: $10,0082017: $10,0082018: $10,0082019: $10,0002020: $10,0002021: $10,0082022: $10,0082023: $10,008$10,008

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2000$5,220
2001$5,220
2002$5,300
2003$7,700
2004$7,700
2005$7,700
2006$8,746
2007$8,746
2008$9,228
2013$10,008
2014$10,008
2015$10,008
2016$10,008
2017$10,008
2018$10,008
2019$10,000
2020$10,000
2021$10,008
2022$10,008
2023$10,008
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Texas College reports published tuition of $10,008 in this record. Texas College's $10,008 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Texas College reports 614 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

13.8% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Texas College within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
13.8%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

0%25%50%75%100%entered 1993entered 2018entered 1993: 33%entered 1995: 100%entered 1996: 100%entered 1997: 30.8%entered 1998: 35.6%entered 1999: 29.6%entered 2000: 31.9%entered 2001: 28.3%entered 2002: 12.2%entered 2003: 8.2%entered 2004: 11.5%entered 2005: 19%entered 2006: 17.1%entered 2007: 14.5%entered 2008: 12.4%entered 2009: 14.3%entered 2010: 17.7%entered 2011: 16.1%entered 2012: 9.9%entered 2013: 12.4%entered 2014: 14.1%entered 2015: 18.1%entered 2016: 15.9%entered 2017: 10.7%entered 2018: 13.8%13.8%
0%50%100%entered 1993entered 2018entered 1993: 33%entered 1995: 100%entered 1996: 100%entered 1997: 30.8%entered 1998: 35.6%entered 1999: 29.6%entered 2000: 31.9%entered 2001: 28.3%entered 2002: 12.2%entered 2003: 8.2%entered 2004: 11.5%entered 2005: 19%entered 2006: 17.1%entered 2007: 14.5%entered 2008: 12.4%entered 2009: 14.3%entered 2010: 17.7%entered 2011: 16.1%entered 2012: 9.9%entered 2013: 12.4%entered 2014: 14.1%entered 2015: 18.1%entered 2016: 15.9%entered 2017: 10.7%entered 2018: 13.8%13.8%

The six-year graduation rate at Texas College fell from 100% (entered 1995) to 13.8% (entered 2018).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1993 cohort33%
1995 cohort100%
1996 cohort100%
1997 cohort30.8%
1998 cohort35.6%
1999 cohort29.6%
2000 cohort31.9%
2001 cohort28.3%
2002 cohort12.2%
2003 cohort8.2%
2004 cohort11.5%
2005 cohort19%
2006 cohort17.1%
2007 cohort14.5%
2008 cohort12.4%
2009 cohort14.3%
2010 cohort17.7%
2011 cohort16.1%
2012 cohort9.9%
2013 cohort12.4%
2014 cohort14.1%
2015 cohort18.1%
2016 cohort15.9%
2017 cohort10.7%
2018 cohort13.8%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1993–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$0$10k$20k$30kLeft school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $3,874Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $4,188Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $6,565Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $9,675Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $11,404Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $11,521Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $13,750Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $17,608Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $20,370Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $21,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $22,578Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $26,750Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $29,125Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $29,125Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $31,000Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $32,750Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $31,000Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $31,000Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $31,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $31,000$31,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $1,499Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $1,810Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $3,553Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $3,750Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $3,938Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $7,940Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $6,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $8,250Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $8,250Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $8,250Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $11,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $14,250$14,250 left
$0$10k$20k$30kLeft school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $3,874Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $4,188Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $6,565Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $9,675Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $10,500Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $11,404Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $11,521Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $13,750Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $17,608Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $20,370Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $21,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $22,578Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $26,750Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $29,125Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $29,125Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $31,000Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $32,750Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $31,000Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $31,000Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $31,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $31,000$31,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $1,499Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $1,810Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $3,553Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $3,750Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $3,938Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $7,940Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $6,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $8,250Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $8,250Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $8,250Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $11,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $14,250$14,250 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)—$1,499
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)$3,874$1,810
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)$4,188$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)$6,565$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)$9,675$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)$10,500$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)$11,404$3,553
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)$11,521$3,750
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$13,750$3,938
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$17,608$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$20,370$7,500
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$21,500$7,940
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$22,578$6,500
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$26,750$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$29,125$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$29,125$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$31,000$7,500
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$32,750$8,250
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$31,000$8,250
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$31,000$8,250
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$31,000$11,000
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$31,000$14,250
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$27,901
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$31,018
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$33,752
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

Texas College reported open admission for Fall 2024. No selective rate is shown; check Texas College's current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

614Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

6008001k200220242002: 6172003: 1,0352004: 7522005: 7942006: 7332007: 7412008: 7052009: 9362010: 8912011: 8552012: 8452013: 9452014: 8132015: 8532016: 9602017: 9572018: 1,0422019: 9402020: 7642021: 7312022: 6422023: 6442024: 614614
6008001k200220242002: 6172003: 1,0352004: 7522005: 7942006: 7332007: 7412008: 7052009: 9362010: 8912011: 8552012: 8452013: 9452014: 8132015: 8532016: 9602017: 9572018: 1,0422019: 9402020: 7642021: 7312022: 6422023: 6442024: 614614

Undergraduate enrollment at Texas College has wandered from Fall 2002 to Fall 2024 — up to 1,042 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 614.

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 2002617
Fall 20031,035
Fall 2004752
Fall 2005794
Fall 2006733
Fall 2007741
Fall 2008705
Fall 2009936
Fall 2010891
Fall 2011855
Fall 2012845
Fall 2013945
Fall 2014813
Fall 2015853
Fall 2016960
Fall 2017957
Fall 20181,042
Fall 2019940
Fall 2020764
Fall 2021731
Fall 2022642
Fall 2023644
Fall 2024614
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

34%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

0%20%40%60%200320232003: 32%2004: 56%2005: 51%2006: 5%2007: 20%2008: 51%2009: 38%2010: 38%2011: 44%2012: 32%2013: 35%2014: 39%2015: 51%2016: 50%2017: 65%2018: 46%2019: 41%2020: 31%2021: 30%2022: 60%2023: 34%34%
0%20%40%60%200320232003: 32%2004: 56%2005: 51%2006: 5%2007: 20%2008: 51%2009: 38%2010: 38%2011: 44%2012: 32%2013: 35%2014: 39%2015: 51%2016: 50%2017: 65%2018: 46%2019: 41%2020: 31%2021: 30%2022: 60%2023: 34%34%

First-year retention at Texas College has wandered from Fall 2003 to Fall 2023 — up to 65% at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 34%.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2003 cohort32%
Fall 2004 cohort56%
Fall 2005 cohort51%
Fall 2006 cohort5%
Fall 2007 cohort20%
Fall 2008 cohort51%
Fall 2009 cohort38%
Fall 2010 cohort38%
Fall 2011 cohort44%
Fall 2012 cohort32%
Fall 2013 cohort35%
Fall 2014 cohort39%
Fall 2015 cohort51%
Fall 2016 cohort50%
Fall 2017 cohort65%
Fall 2018 cohort46%
Fall 2019 cohort41%
Fall 2020 cohort31%
Fall 2021 cohort30%
Fall 2022 cohort60%
Fall 2023 cohort34%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2003–2023
More about Texas College

Faculty pay at Texas College averages $63,012 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes Texas College as a primarily residential campus of 614 undergraduates — and 34% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

Texas College reported open admission in Fall 2024. Check today’s entry requirements.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Texas College compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Texas College$10,008
Texas median$13,498
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Texas College's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Texas College$33,752
Texas median$54,132
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Texas College, Texas and national reference values
Metric & basisTexas CollegeTexas medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$10,008$13,498$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$33,752$54,132$53,781

Published earnings by bachelor's field of study

For Texas College, these are federal subject groups (CIP), not departments. Median is the middle annual income.

Texas College federal-aid recipients · graduated 2017–18 or 2018–19 · income measured 2022 or 2023 · inflation-adjusted to 2024 dollars. Definitions and limits.

View 4 fields & earnings
Bachelor's field of study (CIP category)Median earnings, 4 yrs after completion
Business/Commerce, General$48,433
Business Administration, Management and Operations$44,386
Criminal Justice and Corrections$43,156
Biology, General$37,296

These 4 fields listed for Texas College measure earnings after completion. The $33,752 institution-level snapshot above measures earnings after entry; it is not the same cohort or a total for these fields. 13 additional Texas College fields have earnings withheld under federal privacy rules.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Texas College cost?

At Texas College, tuition is $10,008. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Texas College report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $33,752. Major figures measure four years after completion. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Texas

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Field-of-study cohort dates are shown with the table. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →