Skip to content

Colleges › Arizona › Aspen University

Aspen University

Aspen University is a for-profit campus in Phoenix proper — federal locale codes class it as urban. The federal record classifies this institution as distance-education-only. Check its official site for teaching locations, visits and any in-person requirements.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2021–22
family-income band
$14,895
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only one of the five income brackets was filed for the same year at Aspen University — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$14,8952021–22Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$14k$16k$18k$20k201220212012: $21,3262013: $15,7742017: $14,4922019: $14,2152020: $15,9522021: $14,895$14,895
$15k$18k$20k201220212012: $21,3262013: $15,7742017: $14,4922019: $14,2152020: $15,9522021: $14,895$14,895

Average net price at Aspen University has held near $14,895 from 2019 to 2021.

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2012$21,326
2013$15,774
2017$14,492
2019$14,215
2020$15,952
2021$14,895
IPEDS 6 federal reports, 2012–2021

Total cost of attendance

$17,5562022–23Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$16k$18k$20k$22k201320222013: $23,1102014: $17,4422018: $17,1272020: $16,1252021: $17,8242022: $17,556$17,556
$18k$20k$23k201320222013: $23,1102014: $17,4422018: $17,1272020: $16,1252021: $17,8242022: $17,556$17,556

Total cost at Aspen University has held near $17,556 from 2020 to 2022.

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2013$23,110
2014$17,442
2018$17,127
2020$16,125
2021$17,824
2022$17,556
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2013–2022

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$4k$5k$6k201320232013: $6,1502014: $4,6502015: $3,7502016: $4,2002017: $4,2302018: $3,9202019: $3,9202020: $5,1102021: $5,1102022: $5,3552023: $6,264$6,264
$4k$5k$6k201320232013: $6,1502014: $4,6502015: $3,7502016: $4,2002017: $4,2302018: $3,9202019: $3,9202020: $5,1102021: $5,1102022: $5,3552023: $6,264$6,264

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2013$6,150
2014$4,650
2015$3,750
2016$4,200
2017$4,230
2018$3,920
2019$3,920
2020$5,110
2021$5,110
2022$5,355
2023$6,264
IPEDS Published price 2013–14 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Reported tuition is $6,870 before grants and other attendance costs. At Aspen University, aid and other costs change the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Enrollment sits at 1,466 — Aspen University is one of the smaller campuses on this site.

27.3% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Aspen University within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$5k$8k$10k$13k$15kLeft school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $14,188Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $13,071Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $12,135Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $15,756$15,756 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $6,250Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $7,993Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $6,292Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $5,349Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $6,574Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $7,110Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $7,401Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $6,221Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $6,250$6,250 left
$5k$10k$15kLeft school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $14,188Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $13,071Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $12,135Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $15,756$15,756 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $6,250Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $7,993Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $6,292Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $5,349Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $6,574Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $7,110Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $7,401Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $6,221Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $6,250$6,250 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)—$6,250
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)—$7,993
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)—$6,292
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)—$5,349
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)—$6,574
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$14,188$7,110
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$13,071$7,401
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$12,135$6,221
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$15,756$6,250
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$29,448
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$45,002
8 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Admissions

Aspen University’s Fall 2024 filing reports open admission. No selective rate is shown; check Aspen University’s current entry requirements.

No charts are available for this topic in this school's published record.

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

1,466Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

02k4k6k200920242009: 1452010: 1092011: 1232012: 3102013: 1622014: 2312015: 8022016: 1,5192017: 3,1302018: 3,3892019: 4,5332020: 6,3732021: 6,2992022: 4,0672023: 2,3962024: 1,4661,466
02k4k6k200920242009: 1452010: 1092011: 1232012: 3102013: 1622014: 2312015: 8022016: 1,5192017: 3,1302018: 3,3892019: 4,5332020: 6,3732021: 6,2992022: 4,0672023: 2,3962024: 1,4661,466

Undergraduate enrollment at Aspen University rose from 145 (Fall 2009) to 1,466 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 2009145
Fall 2010109
Fall 2011123
Fall 2012310
Fall 2013162
Fall 2014231
Fall 2015802
Fall 20161,519
Fall 20173,130
Fall 20183,389
Fall 20194,533
Fall 20206,373
Fall 20216,299
Fall 20224,067
Fall 20232,396
Fall 20241,466
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2009–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

50%Fall 2021 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

0%25%50%75%100%200820212008: 33%2009: 0%2011: 0%2012: 100%2018: 80%2019: 61%2020: 37%2021: 50%50%
0%50%100%200820212008: 33%2009: 0%2011: 0%2012: 100%2018: 80%2019: 61%2020: 37%2021: 50%50%

First-year retention at Aspen University fell from 80% (Fall 2018) to 50% (Fall 2021).

Aspen University's entering classes are small — single students move the line, so read Aspen University's swings gently.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2008 cohort33%
Fall 2009 cohort0%
Fall 2011 cohort0%
Fall 2012 cohort100%
Fall 2018 cohort80%
Fall 2019 cohort61%
Fall 2020 cohort37%
Fall 2021 cohort50%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2008–2021
More about Aspen University

9.8% of Aspen University's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment.

The Fall 2024 record classifies Aspen University as open admission. Review current entry requirements and the cost and outcome measures separately.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Aspen University compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Aspen University$6,870
Arizona median$15,667
National median$19,591
View comparison data & dates
Aspen University, Arizona and national reference values
Metric & basisAspen UniversityArizona medianNational median
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$6,870$15,667$19,591

Published earnings by bachelor's field of study

For Aspen University, these are federal subject groups (CIP), not departments. Median is the middle annual income.

Aspen University federal-aid recipients · graduated 2017–18 or 2018–19 · income measured 2022 or 2023 · inflation-adjusted to 2024 dollars. Definitions and limits.

View 3 fields & earnings
Bachelor's field of study (CIP category)Median earnings, 4 yrs after completion
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$109,265
Business Administration, Management and Operations$75,828
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$43,285

These 3 fields listed for Aspen University measure earnings four years after completion; the figures do not isolate the effect of choosing a field. 3 additional Aspen University fields have earnings withheld under federal privacy rules.

Frequently asked questions

How much does Aspen University cost?

At Aspen University, tuition is $6,870. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

Similar colleges in Arizona

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Field-of-study cohort dates are shown with the table. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →