Skip to content

Colleges › Illinois › University of Chicago

University of Chicago

University of Chicago is a private campus in Chicago proper — federal locale codes class it as urban. International students are a visible presence at University of Chicago — 17.6% of its 7,569 undergraduates come from outside the U.S.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
not reported
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
$770
$48–75k
$12,816
$75–110k
$54,800
over $110k

Only three of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at University of Chicago — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$14,8602023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$15k$20k$25k200820232008: $23,1292009: $24,2182010: $25,7972011: $26,7612012: $25,3352013: $26,2802014: $25,8832015: $19,5102016: $25,4552017: $26,1602018: $27,3152019: $28,5172020: $22,6902021: $20,5312022: $18,9672023: $14,860$14,860
$15k$20k$25k200820232008: $23,1292009: $24,2182010: $25,7972011: $26,7612012: $25,3352013: $26,2802014: $25,8832015: $19,5102016: $25,4552017: $26,1602018: $27,3152019: $28,5172020: $22,6902021: $20,5312022: $18,9672023: $14,860$14,860

Average net price at University of Chicago fell from $23,129 (2008) to $14,860 (2023).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$23,129
2009$24,218
2010$25,797
2011$26,761
2012$25,335
2013$26,280
2014$25,883
2015$19,510
2016$25,455
2017$26,160
2018$27,315
2019$28,517
2020$22,690
2021$20,531
2022$18,967
2023$14,860
IPEDS 16 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$90,3602024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$50k$60k$70k$80k$90k200920242009: $52,4502010: $55,1952011: $57,5902012: $59,9502013: $62,4252014: $64,9882015: $67,5722016: $70,1002017: $72,7172018: $75,7352019: $78,5552020: $81,5312021: $81,5312022: $84,1262023: $86,8562024: $90,360$90,360
$60k$80k200920242009: $52,4502010: $55,1952011: $57,5902012: $59,9502013: $62,4252014: $64,9882015: $67,5722016: $70,1002017: $72,7172018: $75,7352019: $78,5552020: $81,5312021: $81,5312022: $84,1262023: $86,8562024: $90,360$90,360

Total cost at University of Chicago rose from $52,450 (2009) to $90,360 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$52,450
2010$55,195
2011$57,590
2012$59,950
2013$62,425
2014$64,988
2015$67,572
2016$70,100
2017$72,717
2018$75,735
2019$78,555
2020$81,531
2021$81,531
2022$84,126
2023$86,856
2024$90,360
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$20k$30k$40k$50k$60k$70k200020232000: $24,8072001: $26,4752002: $27,8252003: $29,2382004: $30,7292005: $32,2652006: $34,0052007: $35,8682008: $38,4922013: $47,5142014: $49,3802015: $51,3512016: $53,6492017: $56,0342018: $58,2302019: $60,5522020: $60,5522021: $62,2412022: $64,2602023: $66,939$66,939
$20k$40k$60k200020232000: $24,8072001: $26,4752002: $27,8252003: $29,2382004: $30,7292005: $32,2652006: $34,0052007: $35,8682008: $38,4922013: $47,5142014: $49,3802015: $51,3512016: $53,6492017: $56,0342018: $58,2302019: $60,5522020: $60,5522021: $62,2412022: $64,2602023: $66,939$66,939

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2000$24,807
2001$26,475
2002$27,825
2003$29,238
2004$30,729
2005$32,265
2006$34,005
2007$35,868
2008$38,492
2013$47,514
2014$49,380
2015$51,351
2016$53,649
2017$56,034
2018$58,230
2019$60,552
2020$60,552
2021$62,241
2022$64,260
2023$66,939
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

University of Chicago reports published tuition of $70,662 in this record. University of Chicago's $70,662 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

University of Chicago reports 7,569 undergraduate students. Enrollment is a headcount, not a measure of teaching access.

95.9% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at University of Chicago within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
95.9%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

80%85%90%95%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 83.4%entered 1992: 84.1%entered 1993: 81.2%entered 1994: 85%entered 1995: 84.2%entered 1996: 89.2%entered 1997: 87.1%entered 1998: 86.8%entered 1999: 90.9%entered 2000: 89.1%entered 2001: 90.2%entered 2002: 91.8%entered 2003: 91.5%entered 2004: 92.9%entered 2005: 91.9%entered 2006: 92%entered 2007: 92.7%entered 2008: 92.9%entered 2009: 91.7%entered 2010: 94.2%entered 2011: 92.8%entered 2012: 94.2%entered 2013: 94.7%entered 2014: 96%entered 2015: 95.9%entered 2016: 95.6%entered 2017: 94.9%entered 2018: 95.9%95.9%
80%85%90%95%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 83.4%entered 1992: 84.1%entered 1993: 81.2%entered 1994: 85%entered 1995: 84.2%entered 1996: 89.2%entered 1997: 87.1%entered 1998: 86.8%entered 1999: 90.9%entered 2000: 89.1%entered 2001: 90.2%entered 2002: 91.8%entered 2003: 91.5%entered 2004: 92.9%entered 2005: 91.9%entered 2006: 92%entered 2007: 92.7%entered 2008: 92.9%entered 2009: 91.7%entered 2010: 94.2%entered 2011: 92.8%entered 2012: 94.2%entered 2013: 94.7%entered 2014: 96%entered 2015: 95.9%entered 2016: 95.6%entered 2017: 94.9%entered 2018: 95.9%95.9%

The six-year graduation rate at University of Chicago rose from 83.4% (entered 1991) to 95.9% (entered 2018).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1991 cohort83.4%
1992 cohort84.1%
1993 cohort81.2%
1994 cohort85%
1995 cohort84.2%
1996 cohort89.2%
1997 cohort87.1%
1998 cohort86.8%
1999 cohort90.9%
2000 cohort89.1%
2001 cohort90.2%
2002 cohort91.8%
2003 cohort91.5%
2004 cohort92.9%
2005 cohort91.9%
2006 cohort92%
2007 cohort92.7%
2008 cohort92.9%
2009 cohort91.7%
2010 cohort94.2%
2011 cohort92.8%
2012 cohort94.2%
2013 cohort94.7%
2014 cohort96%
2015 cohort95.9%
2016 cohort95.6%
2017 cohort94.9%
2018 cohort95.9%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1991–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$5k$10k$15kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $13,644Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $14,500Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $14,782Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $14,500Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $14,250Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $14,500Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $14,500Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $14,208Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $14,360Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $14,000Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $14,500Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $13,292Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $11,625Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $11,685Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $10,998Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $11,295Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $11,800Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $12,229Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $14,250Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $15,900Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $17,000Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $16,378Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $14,601Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $15,000$15,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $5,980Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $8,042Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $9,058Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,700Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $6,100Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $5,225Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $4,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $4,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $4,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,800Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $6,300Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $6,300Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $6,500Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $11,417Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $10,692Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $7,310Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $6,500$6,500 left
$5k$10k$15kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $13,644Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $14,500Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $14,782Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $14,500Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $14,250Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $14,500Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $14,500Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $14,208Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $14,360Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $14,000Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $14,500Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $13,292Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $11,625Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $11,685Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $10,998Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $11,295Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $11,800Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $12,229Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $14,250Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $15,900Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $17,000Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $16,378Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $14,601Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $15,000$15,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $5,980Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $8,042Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $9,058Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $6,625Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $5,700Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $6,100Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $5,225Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $4,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $4,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $4,500Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,800Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $6,300Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $6,300Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $6,500Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $11,417Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $10,692Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $7,310Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $6,500$6,500 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)$13,644$6,125
Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)$14,500$5,980
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)$14,782$6,125
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)$14,500$6,125
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)$14,250$8,042
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)$14,500$9,058
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)$14,500$6,625
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)$14,208$6,125
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)$14,360$5,700
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)$14,000$6,125
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$14,500$6,100
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$13,292$5,225
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$11,625$4,500
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$11,685$4,500
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$10,998$4,500
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$11,295$4,800
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$11,800$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$12,229$6,300
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$14,250$6,300
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$15,900$6,500
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$17,000$11,417
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$16,378$10,692
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$14,601$7,310
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$15,000$6,500
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$80,870
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$87,164
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$91,885
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

University of Chicago admitted 1,955 of 43,612 applicants in Fall 2024. The 4.5% rate describes that application pool.

4.5%
acceptance rate · Fall 2024 admissions cycle
Test-optional (considered) · Fall 2024
400SAT range (section 25th/75th sums): 1510–15801600

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

University of Chicago reported scores as considered but not required for the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. For University of Chicago’s enrolled SAT submitters, Reading and Writing was 740–780 and Math was 770–800 (25th–75th percentiles). The section-percentile sums 1510–1580 are not composite-score percentiles. These are not admission cutoffs.

Check current requirements with admissions.

Score25th50th75th
SAT Reading & Writing740760780
SAT Math770790800
ACT Composite343535

25th / 75th: a quarter of enrolled submitters scored below the first number, a quarter above the second. These are not cutoffs.

Only students who submitted scores are counted — at test-optional schools, many enrolled students aren't in this table.

Percentiles are among enrolled students who submitted scores (Fall 2024 admissions cycle).

In the Fall 2024 cycle, University of Chicago received 43,612 applications and admitted 1,955 (4.5%), with 1,726 enrolling.

Acceptance rate

4.5%Fall 2024Skip to data table

The share of applicants offered a spot — lower means more selective; read it alongside the score ranges below.

0%10%20%30%40%200120242001: 43.8%2002: 41.5%2003: 39.6%2004: 40%2005: 40.3%2006: 40.2%2007: 38.5%2008: 27.9%2009: 27.3%2010: 18.8%2011: 16.3%2012: 13.2%2013: 8.8%2014: 8.8%2015: 8.4%2016: 7.9%2017: 8.7%2018: 7.3%2019: 6.2%2020: 7.3%2021: 6.5%2022: 5.4%2023: 4.8%2024: 4.5%4.5%
0%20%40%200120242001: 43.8%2002: 41.5%2003: 39.6%2004: 40%2005: 40.3%2006: 40.2%2007: 38.5%2008: 27.9%2009: 27.3%2010: 18.8%2011: 16.3%2012: 13.2%2013: 8.8%2014: 8.8%2015: 8.4%2016: 7.9%2017: 8.7%2018: 7.3%2019: 6.2%2020: 7.3%2021: 6.5%2022: 5.4%2023: 4.8%2024: 4.5%4.5%

Read University of Chicago's change from 43.8% to 4.5% as a share of applications, not an explanation of admissions decisions. This describes Fall 2001 to Fall 2024.

Acceptance rate — data
YearAcceptance rate
Fall 200143.8%
Fall 200241.5%
Fall 200339.6%
Fall 200440%
Fall 200540.3%
Fall 200640.2%
Fall 200738.5%
Fall 200827.9%
Fall 200927.3%
Fall 201018.8%
Fall 201116.3%
Fall 201213.2%
Fall 20138.8%
Fall 20148.8%
Fall 20158.4%
Fall 20167.9%
Fall 20178.7%
Fall 20187.3%
Fall 20196.2%
Fall 20207.3%
Fall 20216.5%
Fall 20225.4%
Fall 20234.8%
Fall 20244.5%
IPEDS Fall cycles 2001–2024

SAT range (section sums, 25th–75th)

1510–1580Fall 2024 · submittersSkip to data table

Sums of the reading/writing and math percentiles among enrolled submitters — not percentiles of total SAT scores or admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA13001400150016002016 REDESIGN2001202420162001: 13102002: 13102003: 13002004: 13302005: 13502006: 13702007: 13202008: 13102009: 13702010: 14002011: 14002012: 14002013: 14402014: 14352015: 14402016: 14502017: 14802018: 14702019: 15002020: 15002021: 15102022: 15002023: 15102024: 151015102001: 14902002: 15002003: 15102004: 15302005: 15302006: 15602007: 15302008: 15302009: 15602010: 15602011: 15702012: 15702013: 15902014: 16002015: 16002016: 16002017: 15802018: 15702019: 15702020: 15702021: 15802022: 15802023: 15702024: 15801580
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA13001400150016002016 REDESIGN2001202420162001: 13102002: 13102003: 13002004: 13302005: 13502006: 13702007: 13202008: 13102009: 13702010: 14002011: 14002012: 14002013: 14402014: 14352015: 14402016: 14502017: 14802018: 14702019: 15002020: 15002021: 15102022: 15002023: 15102024: 151015102001: 14902002: 15002003: 15102004: 15302005: 15302006: 15602007: 15302008: 15302009: 15602010: 15602011: 15702012: 15702013: 15902014: 16002015: 16002016: 16002017: 15802018: 15702019: 15702020: 15702021: 15802022: 15802023: 15702024: 15801580

SAT range (section sums) — data
Year25th75th
Fall 200113101490
Fall 200213101500
Fall 200313001510
Fall 200413301530
Fall 200513501530
Fall 200613701560
Fall 200713201530
Fall 200813101530
Fall 200913701560
Fall 201014001560
Fall 201114001570
Fall 201214001570
Fall 201314401590
Fall 201414351600
Fall 201514401600
Fall 201614501600
Fall 201714801580
Fall 201814701570
Fall 201915001570
Fall 202015001570
Fall 202115101580
Fall 202215001580
Fall 202315101570
Fall 202415101580
IPEDS Fall 2001–2024, submitters only

ACT middle 50%

34–35Fall 2024 · submittersSkip to data table

The middle half of enrolled ACT submitters, using published composite-score percentiles — not admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA28303234200120242001: 282002: 312003: 272004: 282005: 292006: 292007: 282008: 282009: 282010: 302011: 312012: 312013: 322014: 322015: 322016: 322017: 322018: 332019: 332020: 342021: 332022: 342023: 342024: 34342001: 322002: 322003: 322004: 332005: 332006: 332007: 332008: 332009: 332010: 342011: 342012: 342013: 352014: 352015: 352016: 352017: 352018: 352019: 352020: 352021: 352022: 352023: 352024: 3535
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA3035200120242001: 282002: 312003: 272004: 282005: 292006: 292007: 282008: 282009: 282010: 302011: 312012: 312013: 322014: 322015: 322016: 322017: 322018: 332019: 332020: 342021: 332022: 342023: 342024: 34342001: 322002: 322003: 322004: 332005: 332006: 332007: 332008: 332009: 332010: 342011: 342012: 342013: 352014: 352015: 352016: 352017: 352018: 352019: 352020: 352021: 352022: 352023: 352024: 3535

ACT middle 50% — data
Year25th75th
Fall 20012832
Fall 20023132
Fall 20032732
Fall 20042833
Fall 20052933
Fall 20062933
Fall 20072833
Fall 20082833
Fall 20092833
Fall 20103034
Fall 20113134
Fall 20123134
Fall 20133235
Fall 20143235
Fall 20153235
Fall 20163235
Fall 20173235
Fall 20183335
Fall 20193335
Fall 20203435
Fall 20213335
Fall 20223435
Fall 20233435
Fall 20243435
IPEDS Fall 2001–2024, submitters only

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

7,569Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

4k5k6k7k200220242002: 4,2152003: 4,3252004: 4,5322005: 4,6382006: 4,7902007: 4,8982008: 5,0272009: 5,1012010: 5,2582011: 5,3772012: 5,6122013: 5,6972014: 5,7292015: 5,8692016: 5,9782017: 6,2982018: 6,6002019: 6,8002020: 7,0102021: 7,5582022: 7,5112023: 7,5402024: 7,5697,569
4k5k6k7k200220242002: 4,2152003: 4,3252004: 4,5322005: 4,6382006: 4,7902007: 4,8982008: 5,0272009: 5,1012010: 5,2582011: 5,3772012: 5,6122013: 5,6972014: 5,7292015: 5,8692016: 5,9782017: 6,2982018: 6,6002019: 6,8002020: 7,0102021: 7,5582022: 7,5112023: 7,5402024: 7,5697,569

Undergraduate enrollment at University of Chicago rose from 4,215 (Fall 2002) to 7,569 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 20024,215
Fall 20034,325
Fall 20044,532
Fall 20054,638
Fall 20064,790
Fall 20074,898
Fall 20085,027
Fall 20095,101
Fall 20105,258
Fall 20115,377
Fall 20125,612
Fall 20135,697
Fall 20145,729
Fall 20155,869
Fall 20165,978
Fall 20176,298
Fall 20186,600
Fall 20196,800
Fall 20207,010
Fall 20217,558
Fall 20227,511
Fall 20237,540
Fall 20247,569
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

99%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

96%98%100%200220232002: 95%2003: 95%2004: 97%2005: 98%2006: 98%2007: 98%2008: 98%2009: 98%2010: 99%2011: 99%2012: 99%2013: 99%2014: 100%2015: 99%2016: 99%2017: 99%2018: 99%2019: 100%2020: 99%2021: 99%2022: 99%2023: 99%99%
96%98%100%200220232002: 95%2003: 95%2004: 97%2005: 98%2006: 98%2007: 98%2008: 98%2009: 98%2010: 99%2011: 99%2012: 99%2013: 99%2014: 100%2015: 99%2016: 99%2017: 99%2018: 99%2019: 100%2020: 99%2021: 99%2022: 99%2023: 99%99%

First-year retention at University of Chicago has held near 99% from Fall 2002 to Fall 2023.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2002 cohort95%
Fall 2003 cohort95%
Fall 2004 cohort97%
Fall 2005 cohort98%
Fall 2006 cohort98%
Fall 2007 cohort98%
Fall 2008 cohort98%
Fall 2009 cohort98%
Fall 2010 cohort99%
Fall 2011 cohort99%
Fall 2012 cohort99%
Fall 2013 cohort99%
Fall 2014 cohort100%
Fall 2015 cohort99%
Fall 2016 cohort99%
Fall 2017 cohort99%
Fall 2018 cohort99%
Fall 2019 cohort100%
Fall 2020 cohort99%
Fall 2021 cohort99%
Fall 2022 cohort99%
Fall 2023 cohort99%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2002–2023
More about University of Chicago

Faculty pay at University of Chicago averages $237,672 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes University of Chicago as a primarily residential campus of 7,569 undergraduates — and 99.3% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

University of Chicago's SAT section-percentile sums are 1510–1580 — their midpoint is above the IL four-year benchmark. These are not total-score percentiles. Put your own practice estimate on University of Chicago's range with the SAT calculator, or bring a saved GPA from the grade tools.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How University of Chicago compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Acceptance rate

Fall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS

University of Chicago4.5%
Illinois median77%
National median76.8%

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

University of Chicago$70,662
Illinois median$31,360
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

University of Chicago's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

University of Chicago$91,885
Illinois median$58,572
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
University of Chicago, Illinois and national reference values
Metric & basisUniversity of ChicagoIllinois medianNational median
Acceptance rateFall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS4.5%77%76.8%
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$70,662$31,360$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$91,885$58,572$53,781

Published earnings by bachelor's field of study

For University of Chicago, these are federal subject groups (CIP), not departments. Median is the middle annual income.

University of Chicago federal-aid recipients · graduated 2017–18 or 2018–19 · income measured 2022 or 2023 · inflation-adjusted to 2024 dollars. Definitions and limits.

View 13 fields & earnings
Bachelor's field of study (CIP category)Median earnings, 4 yrs after completion
Computer Science$178,068
Mathematics$172,826
Economics$159,578
Statistics$130,189
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$96,510
Public Policy Analysis$94,237
Political Science and Government$87,869
English Language and Literature, General$78,169
Research and Experimental Psychology$73,483
Philosophy$71,709
History$64,330
Clinical, Counseling and Applied Psychology$59,898
Biology, General$59,794

These 13 fields listed for University of Chicago measure earnings after completion. The $91,885 institution-level snapshot above measures earnings after entry; it is not the same cohort or a total for these fields. 39 additional University of Chicago fields have earnings withheld under federal privacy rules.

Frequently asked questions

What test-score data does University of Chicago report?

University of Chicago's enrolled submitters had SAT section-percentile sums of 1510–1580 in Fall 2024. These are not total-score percentiles or a GPA requirement.

What is University of Chicago's acceptance rate?

4.5% in the Fall 2024 cycle — 1,955 admitted from 43,612 applicants.

How much does University of Chicago cost?

At University of Chicago, tuition is $70,662. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does University of Chicago report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $91,885. Major figures measure four years after completion. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Illinois

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Field-of-study cohort dates are shown with the table. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →