Skip to content

Colleges › California › Stanford University

Stanford University

Stanford University is a private campus in suburban Stanford, CA. The institution reports a hospital in its federal directory record.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
not reported
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
$1,323
$48–75k
$8,816
$75–110k
$50,452
over $110k

Only three of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Stanford University — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$13,8072023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$8k$10k$13k$15k$18k200820232008: $13,7422009: $16,3612010: $16,8352011: $17,2152012: $15,7132013: $14,5592014: $13,8572015: $14,1552016: $13,2612017: $12,2652018: $11,4962019: $12,8942020: $7,2002021: $10,8512022: $12,1362023: $13,807$13,807
$10k$15k200820232008: $13,7422009: $16,3612010: $16,8352011: $17,2152012: $15,7132013: $14,5592014: $13,8572015: $14,1552016: $13,2612017: $12,2652018: $11,4962019: $12,8942020: $7,2002021: $10,8512022: $12,1362023: $13,807$13,807

Average net price at Stanford University has wandered from 2008 to 2023 — up to $17,215 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at $13,807.

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$13,742
2009$16,361
2010$16,835
2011$17,215
2012$15,713
2013$14,559
2014$13,857
2015$14,155
2016$13,261
2017$12,265
2018$11,496
2019$12,894
2020$7,200
2021$10,851
2022$12,136
2023$13,807
IPEDS 16 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$87,8332024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$50k$60k$70k$80k$90k200920242009: $51,7602010: $54,0092011: $55,9182012: $57,7552013: $58,4082014: $60,3112015: $62,3632016: $64,4772017: $66,6962018: $69,1092019: $71,5872020: $74,5702021: $70,8692022: $78,8982023: $82,1622024: $87,833$87,833
$60k$80k200920242009: $51,7602010: $54,0092011: $55,9182012: $57,7552013: $58,4082014: $60,3112015: $62,3632016: $64,4772017: $66,6962018: $69,1092019: $71,5872020: $74,5702021: $70,8692022: $78,8982023: $82,1622024: $87,833$87,833

Total cost at Stanford University rose from $51,760 (2009) to $87,833 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$51,760
2010$54,009
2011$55,918
2012$57,755
2013$58,408
2014$60,311
2015$62,363
2016$64,477
2017$66,696
2018$69,109
2019$71,587
2020$74,570
2021$70,869
2022$78,898
2023$82,162
2024$87,833
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$30k$40k$50k$60k200020232000: $24,7162001: $25,9172002: $27,2042003: $28,5632004: $29,8472005: $31,2002006: $32,9942007: $35,0892008: $36,7982013: $43,6832014: $45,1952015: $46,3202016: $47,9402017: $49,6172018: $51,3542019: $53,5292020: $56,1692021: $56,1692022: $58,4162023: $62,484$62,484
$40k$60k200020232000: $24,7162001: $25,9172002: $27,2042003: $28,5632004: $29,8472005: $31,2002006: $32,9942007: $35,0892008: $36,7982013: $43,6832014: $45,1952015: $46,3202016: $47,9402017: $49,6172018: $51,3542019: $53,5292020: $56,1692021: $56,1692022: $58,4162023: $62,484$62,484

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2000$24,716
2001$25,917
2002$27,204
2003$28,563
2004$29,847
2005$31,200
2006$32,994
2007$35,089
2008$36,798
2013$43,683
2014$45,195
2015$46,320
2016$47,940
2017$49,617
2018$51,354
2019$53,529
2020$56,169
2021$56,169
2022$58,416
2023$62,484
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Stanford University reports published tuition of $65,910 in this record. Stanford University's $65,910 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Stanford University reports 7,554 undergraduate students. Enrollment is a headcount, not a measure of teaching access.

91.9% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Stanford University within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
91.9%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

90%92%94%96%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 92.4%entered 1992: 92.5%entered 1993: 90.4%entered 1994: 93.1%entered 1995: 93.3%entered 1996: 92.5%entered 1997: 94.1%entered 1998: 95.3%entered 1999: 94%entered 2000: 95.2%entered 2001: 95.2%entered 2002: 94.4%entered 2003: 94.9%entered 2004: 94.7%entered 2005: 96.1%entered 2006: 95.2%entered 2007: 95.8%entered 2008: 94.6%entered 2009: 93.8%entered 2010: 93.9%entered 2011: 94.3%entered 2012: 94.4%entered 2013: 94.3%entered 2014: 95.2%entered 2015: 95.6%entered 2016: 95.1%entered 2017: 92.8%entered 2018: 91.9%91.9%
90%92%94%96%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 92.4%entered 1992: 92.5%entered 1993: 90.4%entered 1994: 93.1%entered 1995: 93.3%entered 1996: 92.5%entered 1997: 94.1%entered 1998: 95.3%entered 1999: 94%entered 2000: 95.2%entered 2001: 95.2%entered 2002: 94.4%entered 2003: 94.9%entered 2004: 94.7%entered 2005: 96.1%entered 2006: 95.2%entered 2007: 95.8%entered 2008: 94.6%entered 2009: 93.8%entered 2010: 93.9%entered 2011: 94.3%entered 2012: 94.4%entered 2013: 94.3%entered 2014: 95.2%entered 2015: 95.6%entered 2016: 95.1%entered 2017: 92.8%entered 2018: 91.9%91.9%

The six-year graduation rate at Stanford University has held near 91.9% from Fall 1991 to Fall 2018 entering cohorts.

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1991 cohort92.4%
1992 cohort92.5%
1993 cohort90.4%
1994 cohort93.1%
1995 cohort93.3%
1996 cohort92.5%
1997 cohort94.1%
1998 cohort95.3%
1999 cohort94%
2000 cohort95.2%
2001 cohort95.2%
2002 cohort94.4%
2003 cohort94.9%
2004 cohort94.7%
2005 cohort96.1%
2006 cohort95.2%
2007 cohort95.8%
2008 cohort94.6%
2009 cohort93.8%
2010 cohort93.9%
2011 cohort94.3%
2012 cohort94.4%
2013 cohort94.3%
2014 cohort95.2%
2015 cohort95.6%
2016 cohort95.1%
2017 cohort92.8%
2018 cohort91.9%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1991–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$3k$5k$8k$10k$13kLeft school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $9,563Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $9,000Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $8,026Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $7,436Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $7,123Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $10,263Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $11,000Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $11,110Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $12,051Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $12,000Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $11,447Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $11,341Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $11,750Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $12,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $12,000$12,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $7,550Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $6,140Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $3,417Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $3,475Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $4,563Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $4,428Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,600Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $7,307Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $7,638Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $7,700Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $8,037Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $6,500$6,500 left
$3k$5k$8k$10k$13kLeft school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $9,563Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $9,000Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $8,026Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $7,436Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $6,125Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $7,123Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $10,263Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $11,000Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $11,110Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $12,051Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $12,000Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $11,447Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $11,341Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $11,750Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $12,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $12,000$12,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $7,550Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $6,140Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $3,417Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $3,475Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $3,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $4,563Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $4,428Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $4,600Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $7,307Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $7,638Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $7,700Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $8,037Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $6,500$6,500 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)$9,563$7,550
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)$9,000$6,140
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)$8,026$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)$7,436$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)$5,500$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)$6,125$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)$6,125$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$6,125$3,417
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$6,125$3,475
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$7,123$3,500
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$7,500$4,563
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$10,263$4,428
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$11,000$4,600
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$11,110$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$12,051$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$12,000$7,307
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$11,447$7,638
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$11,341$7,700
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$11,750$8,037
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$12,000$7,500
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$12,000$6,500
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$102,887
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$109,851
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$124,080
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Stanford University admitted 2,067 of 57,326 applicants in Fall 2024. The 3.6% rate describes that application pool.

3.6%
acceptance rate · Fall 2024 admissions cycle
Test-optional (considered) · Fall 2024
400SAT range (section 25th/75th sums): 1510–15801600

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

Stanford University reported scores as considered but not required for the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. For Stanford University’s enrolled SAT submitters, Reading and Writing was 740–780 and Math was 770–800 (25th–75th percentiles). The section-percentile sums 1510–1580 are not composite-score percentiles. These are not admission cutoffs.

Check current requirements with admissions.

Verified 2026-09-04: Stanford requires SAT or ACT scores for first-year and transfer applicants. Stanford undergraduate admissions →

Score25th50th75th
SAT Reading & Writing740760780
SAT Math770790800
ACT Composite343535

25th / 75th: a quarter of enrolled submitters scored below the first number, a quarter above the second. These are not cutoffs.

Only students who submitted scores are counted — at test-optional schools, many enrolled students aren't in this table.

Percentiles are among enrolled students who submitted scores (Fall 2024 admissions cycle).

In the Fall 2024 cycle, Stanford University received 57,326 applications and admitted 2,067 (3.6%), with 1,693 enrolling.

Acceptance rate

3.6%Fall 2024Skip to data table

The share of applicants offered a spot — lower means more selective; read it alongside the score ranges below.

2.5%5%7.5%10%12.5%200120242001: 12.6%2002: 12.7%2003: 12.6%2004: 13%2005: 12%2006: 10.9%2007: 10.3%2008: 9.5%2009: 8%2010: 7.3%2011: 7.1%2012: 6.6%2013: 5.7%2014: 5.1%2015: 5%2016: 4.8%2017: 4.7%2018: 4.4%2019: 4.3%2020: 5.2%2021: 4%2022: 3.7%2023: 3.9%2024: 3.6%3.6%
5%10%200120242001: 12.6%2002: 12.7%2003: 12.6%2004: 13%2005: 12%2006: 10.9%2007: 10.3%2008: 9.5%2009: 8%2010: 7.3%2011: 7.1%2012: 6.6%2013: 5.7%2014: 5.1%2015: 5%2016: 4.8%2017: 4.7%2018: 4.4%2019: 4.3%2020: 5.2%2021: 4%2022: 3.7%2023: 3.9%2024: 3.6%3.6%

Stanford University's admission rate fell from 12.6% to 3.6%. The rate alone cannot explain the change. This describes Fall 2001 to Fall 2024.

Acceptance rate — data
YearAcceptance rate
Fall 200112.6%
Fall 200212.7%
Fall 200312.6%
Fall 200413%
Fall 200512%
Fall 200610.9%
Fall 200710.3%
Fall 20089.5%
Fall 20098%
Fall 20107.3%
Fall 20117.1%
Fall 20126.6%
Fall 20135.7%
Fall 20145.1%
Fall 20155%
Fall 20164.8%
Fall 20174.7%
Fall 20184.4%
Fall 20194.3%
Fall 20205.2%
Fall 20214%
Fall 20223.7%
Fall 20233.9%
Fall 20243.6%
IPEDS Fall cycles 2001–2024

SAT range (section sums, 25th–75th)

1510–1580Fall 2024 · submittersSkip to data table

Sums of the reading/writing and math percentiles among enrolled submitters — not percentiles of total SAT scores or admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA1400150016002016 REDESIGN2001202420162001: 13602002: 13502003: 13402004: 13702005: 13602006: 13402007: 13402008: 13302009: 13402010: 13602011: 13602012: 13802013: 13802014: 13802015: 13902016: 13802017: 13902018: 14202019: 14402020: 14202021: 14702022: 15002023: 15102024: 151015102001: 15502002: 15402003: 15602004: 15502005: 15502006: 15402007: 15502008: 15402009: 15402010: 15502011: 15502012: 15702013: 15702014: 15702015: 15802016: 15802017: 15402018: 15702019: 15702020: 15702021: 15702022: 15802023: 15802024: 15801580
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA1400150016002016 REDESIGN2001202420162001: 13602002: 13502003: 13402004: 13702005: 13602006: 13402007: 13402008: 13302009: 13402010: 13602011: 13602012: 13802013: 13802014: 13802015: 13902016: 13802017: 13902018: 14202019: 14402020: 14202021: 14702022: 15002023: 15102024: 151015102001: 15502002: 15402003: 15602004: 15502005: 15502006: 15402007: 15502008: 15402009: 15402010: 15502011: 15502012: 15702013: 15702014: 15702015: 15802016: 15802017: 15402018: 15702019: 15702020: 15702021: 15702022: 15802023: 15802024: 15801580

SAT range (section sums) — data
Year25th75th
Fall 200113601550
Fall 200213501540
Fall 200313401560
Fall 200413701550
Fall 200513601550
Fall 200613401540
Fall 200713401550
Fall 200813301540
Fall 200913401540
Fall 201013601550
Fall 201113601550
Fall 201213801570
Fall 201313801570
Fall 201413801570
Fall 201513901580
Fall 201613801580
Fall 201713901540
Fall 201814201570
Fall 201914401570
Fall 202014201570
Fall 202114701570
Fall 202215001580
Fall 202315101580
Fall 202415101580
IPEDS Fall 2001–2024, submitters only

ACT middle 50%

34–35Fall 2024 · submittersSkip to data table

The middle half of enrolled ACT submitters, using published composite-score percentiles — not admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA28303234200120242001: 282002: 282003: 282004: 292005: 292006: 282007: 292008: 302009: 302010: 312011: 302012: 312013: 312014: 312015: 312016: 312017: 322018: 322019: 322020: 312021: 342022: 332023: 342024: 34342001: 332002: 332003: 342004: 342005: 332006: 332007: 332008: 342009: 342010: 342011: 342012: 342013: 342014: 342015: 352016: 352017: 352018: 352019: 352020: 352021: 352022: 352023: 352024: 3535
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA3035200120242001: 282002: 282003: 282004: 292005: 292006: 282007: 292008: 302009: 302010: 312011: 302012: 312013: 312014: 312015: 312016: 312017: 322018: 322019: 322020: 312021: 342022: 332023: 342024: 34342001: 332002: 332003: 342004: 342005: 332006: 332007: 332008: 342009: 342010: 342011: 342012: 342013: 342014: 342015: 352016: 352017: 352018: 352019: 352020: 352021: 352022: 352023: 352024: 3535

ACT middle 50% — data
Year25th75th
Fall 20012833
Fall 20022833
Fall 20032834
Fall 20042934
Fall 20052933
Fall 20062833
Fall 20072933
Fall 20083034
Fall 20093034
Fall 20103134
Fall 20113034
Fall 20123134
Fall 20133134
Fall 20143134
Fall 20153135
Fall 20163135
Fall 20173235
Fall 20183235
Fall 20193235
Fall 20203135
Fall 20213435
Fall 20223335
Fall 20233435
Fall 20243435
IPEDS Fall 2001–2024, submitters only

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

7,554Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

7k7k8k200220242002: 7,3602003: 7,0542004: 6,5002005: 6,5762006: 6,3912007: 6,5202008: 6,5022009: 6,5642010: 6,8872011: 6,9272012: 6,9992013: 6,9802014: 7,0182015: 6,9942016: 7,0322017: 7,0562018: 7,0832019: 6,9942020: 6,3662021: 7,6452022: 7,7612023: 7,8412024: 7,5547,554
7k7k8k200220242002: 7,3602003: 7,0542004: 6,5002005: 6,5762006: 6,3912007: 6,5202008: 6,5022009: 6,5642010: 6,8872011: 6,9272012: 6,9992013: 6,9802014: 7,0182015: 6,9942016: 7,0322017: 7,0562018: 7,0832019: 6,9942020: 6,3662021: 7,6452022: 7,7612023: 7,8412024: 7,5547,554

Undergraduate enrollment at Stanford University has held near 7,554 from Fall 2002 to Fall 2024.

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 20027,360
Fall 20037,054
Fall 20046,500
Fall 20056,576
Fall 20066,391
Fall 20076,520
Fall 20086,502
Fall 20096,564
Fall 20106,887
Fall 20116,927
Fall 20126,999
Fall 20136,980
Fall 20147,018
Fall 20156,994
Fall 20167,032
Fall 20177,056
Fall 20187,083
Fall 20196,994
Fall 20206,366
Fall 20217,645
Fall 20227,761
Fall 20237,841
Fall 20247,554
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

98%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

85%90%95%100%200220232002: 97%2003: 98%2004: 98%2005: 98%2006: 98%2007: 98%2008: 98%2009: 98%2010: 98%2011: 98%2012: 99%2013: 98%2014: 98%2015: 98%2016: 98%2017: 99%2018: 99%2019: 86%2020: 98%2021: 98%2022: 98%2023: 98%98%
85%90%95%100%200220232002: 97%2003: 98%2004: 98%2005: 98%2006: 98%2007: 98%2008: 98%2009: 98%2010: 98%2011: 98%2012: 99%2013: 98%2014: 98%2015: 98%2016: 98%2017: 99%2018: 99%2019: 86%2020: 98%2021: 98%2022: 98%2023: 98%98%

First-year retention at Stanford University has held near 98% from Fall 2002 to Fall 2023.

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2002 cohort97%
Fall 2003 cohort98%
Fall 2004 cohort98%
Fall 2005 cohort98%
Fall 2006 cohort98%
Fall 2007 cohort98%
Fall 2008 cohort98%
Fall 2009 cohort98%
Fall 2010 cohort98%
Fall 2011 cohort98%
Fall 2012 cohort99%
Fall 2013 cohort98%
Fall 2014 cohort98%
Fall 2015 cohort98%
Fall 2016 cohort98%
Fall 2017 cohort99%
Fall 2018 cohort99%
Fall 2019 cohort86%
Fall 2020 cohort98%
Fall 2021 cohort98%
Fall 2022 cohort98%
Fall 2023 cohort98%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2002–2023
More about Stanford University

Faculty pay at Stanford University averages $302,376 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes Stanford University as a primarily residential campus of 7,554 undergraduates — and 98.2% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

Stanford University's SAT section-percentile sums are 1510–1580 — their midpoint is above the CA four-year benchmark. These are not total-score percentiles. Put your own practice estimate on Stanford University's range with the SAT calculator, or bring a saved GPA from the grade tools.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Stanford University compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Acceptance rate

Fall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS

Stanford University3.6%
California median74.4%
National median76.8%

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Stanford University$65,910
California median$23,000
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Stanford University's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Stanford University$124,080
California median$64,778
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Stanford University, California and national reference values
Metric & basisStanford UniversityCalifornia medianNational median
Acceptance rateFall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS3.6%74.4%76.8%
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$65,910$23,000$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$124,080$64,778$53,781

Published earnings by bachelor's field of study

For Stanford University, these are federal subject groups (CIP), not departments. Median is the middle annual income.

Stanford University federal-aid recipients · graduated 2017–18 or 2018–19 · income measured 2022 or 2023 · inflation-adjusted to 2024 dollars. Definitions and limits.

View 10 fields & earnings
Bachelor's field of study (CIP category)Median earnings, 4 yrs after completion
Computer Science$214,907
Cognitive Science$131,650
Mechanical Engineering$117,072
Engineering, Other$115,206
Economics$112,700
Science, Technology and Society$107,375
International Relations and National Security Studies$91,075
English Language and Literature, General$82,036
Human Biology$81,529
Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies$45,519

These 10 fields listed for Stanford University measure earnings after completion. The $124,080 institution-level snapshot above measures earnings after entry; it is not the same cohort or a total for these fields. 41 additional Stanford University fields have earnings withheld under federal privacy rules.

Frequently asked questions

What test-score data does Stanford University report?

Stanford University's enrolled submitters had SAT section-percentile sums of 1510–1580 in Fall 2024. These are not total-score percentiles or a GPA requirement.

What is Stanford University's acceptance rate?

3.6% in the Fall 2024 cycle — 2,067 admitted from 57,326 applicants.

How much does Stanford University cost?

At Stanford University, tuition is $65,910. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Stanford University report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $124,080. Major figures measure four years after completion. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in California

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Field-of-study cohort dates are shown with the table. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →