Skip to content

Colleges › Louisiana › Southern University at New Orleans

Southern University at New Orleans

Southern University at New Orleans is a public campus in New Orleans proper — federal locale codes class it as urban. It is one of the nation's historically Black colleges and universities — a federally recognized designation.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$15,247
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
$16,748
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only two of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Southern University at New Orleans — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$14,8102023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$5k$10k$15k200820232008: $9,5172009: $7,8002010: $8,0492011: $6,6472012: $8,4742013: $7,7112014: $5,6212015: $10,9452016: $7,3352017: $7,0972018: $7,6322019: $12,1262020: $14,3012021: $18,2952022: $15,2602023: $14,810$14,810
$5k$10k$15k200820232008: $9,5172009: $7,8002010: $8,0492011: $6,6472012: $8,4742013: $7,7112014: $5,6212015: $10,9452016: $7,3352017: $7,0972018: $7,6322019: $12,1262020: $14,3012021: $18,2952022: $15,2602023: $14,810$14,810

Average net price at Southern University at New Orleans rose from $9,517 (2008) to $14,810 (2023).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$9,517
2009$7,800
2010$8,049
2011$6,647
2012$8,474
2013$7,711
2014$5,621
2015$10,945
2016$7,335
2017$7,097
2018$7,632
2019$12,126
2020$14,301
2021$18,295
2022$15,260
2023$14,810
IPEDS 16 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$23,9052024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$10k$15k$20k$25k200920242009: $11,7552010: $12,6882011: $13,4332012: $8,8782013: $10,8892014: $10,3002015: $10,9092016: $11,5152017: $12,7782018: $12,7022019: $13,2012020: $16,7622021: $19,4432022: $20,9822023: $20,8932024: $23,905$23,905
$10k$15k$20k$25k200920242009: $11,7552010: $12,6882011: $13,4332012: $8,8782013: $10,8892014: $10,3002015: $10,9092016: $11,5152017: $12,7782018: $12,7022019: $13,2012020: $16,7622021: $19,4432022: $20,9822023: $20,8932024: $23,905$23,905

Total cost at Southern University at New Orleans rose from $11,755 (2009) to $23,905 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$11,755
2010$12,688
2011$13,433
2012$8,878
2013$10,889
2014$10,300
2015$10,909
2016$11,515
2017$12,778
2018$12,702
2019$13,201
2020$16,762
2021$19,443
2022$20,982
2023$20,893
2024$23,905
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition (in-state vs out-of-state)

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

In-stateOut-of-state
$5k$10k$15k200020232000: $1,9892001: $1,9892002: $2,0482003: $2,2662004: $2,9042006: $2,9582007: $2,9702008: $2,9702013: $4,9112014: $5,2182015: $5,8272016: $6,4212017: $6,4212018: $7,0332019: $7,1692020: $7,0592021: $7,0592022: $7,4712023: $7,490$7,490 in2000: $5,7272001: $5,7272002: $5,7862003: $6,0042004: $6,6422006: $6,6962007: $6,7082008: $6,7082013: $4,9112014: $6,5172015: $5,8272016: $15,3222017: $15,3222018: $15,9342019: $16,0702020: $15,9602021: $15,9602022: $16,3712023: $16,390$16,390 out
$5k$10k$15k200020232000: $1,9892001: $1,9892002: $2,0482003: $2,2662004: $2,9042006: $2,9582007: $2,9702008: $2,9702013: $4,9112014: $5,2182015: $5,8272016: $6,4212017: $6,4212018: $7,0332019: $7,1692020: $7,0592021: $7,0592022: $7,4712023: $7,490$7,490 in2000: $5,7272001: $5,7272002: $5,7862003: $6,0042004: $6,6422006: $6,6962007: $6,7082008: $6,7082013: $4,9112014: $6,5172015: $5,8272016: $15,3222017: $15,3222018: $15,9342019: $16,0702020: $15,9602021: $15,9602022: $16,3712023: $16,390$16,390 out

Tuition — data
YearIn-stateOut-of-state
2000$1,989$5,727
2001$1,989$5,727
2002$2,048$5,786
2003$2,266$6,004
2004$2,904$6,642
2006$2,958$6,696
2007$2,970$6,708
2008$2,970$6,708
2013$4,911$4,911
2014$5,218$6,517
2015$5,827$5,827
2016$6,421$15,322
2017$6,421$15,322
2018$7,033$15,934
2019$7,169$16,070
2020$7,059$15,960
2021$7,059$15,960
2022$7,471$16,371
2023$7,490$16,390
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Southern University at New Orleans reports published tuition by residency: $8,054 in-state versus $16,954 out-of-state — a $8,900 gap that makes state lines part of the decision. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Southern University at New Orleans reports 1,055 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

13.1% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Southern University at New Orleans within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
13.1%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

5%10%15%20%25%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 8.1%entered 1992: 9.7%entered 1993: 5.8%entered 1994: 14.3%entered 1995: 10.5%entered 1996: 9.2%entered 1997: 9.5%entered 1998: 14%entered 1999: 14%entered 2000: 11.4%entered 2001: 8.2%entered 2002: 5%entered 2003: 7.7%entered 2004: 4%entered 2006: 17.5%entered 2007: 11.2%entered 2008: 11.7%entered 2009: 14.4%entered 2010: 16.3%entered 2011: 20.4%entered 2012: 25%entered 2013: 21.2%entered 2014: 18.8%entered 2015: 19%entered 2016: 17%entered 2017: 17.9%entered 2018: 13.1%13.1%
10%20%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 8.1%entered 1992: 9.7%entered 1993: 5.8%entered 1994: 14.3%entered 1995: 10.5%entered 1996: 9.2%entered 1997: 9.5%entered 1998: 14%entered 1999: 14%entered 2000: 11.4%entered 2001: 8.2%entered 2002: 5%entered 2003: 7.7%entered 2004: 4%entered 2006: 17.5%entered 2007: 11.2%entered 2008: 11.7%entered 2009: 14.4%entered 2010: 16.3%entered 2011: 20.4%entered 2012: 25%entered 2013: 21.2%entered 2014: 18.8%entered 2015: 19%entered 2016: 17%entered 2017: 17.9%entered 2018: 13.1%13.1%

The six-year graduation rate at Southern University at New Orleans fell from 8.1% (entered 1991) to 4% (entered 2004).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1991 cohort8.1%
1992 cohort9.7%
1993 cohort5.8%
1994 cohort14.3%
1995 cohort10.5%
1996 cohort9.2%
1997 cohort9.5%
1998 cohort14%
1999 cohort14%
2000 cohort11.4%
2001 cohort8.2%
2002 cohort5%
2003 cohort7.7%
2004 cohort4%
2006 cohort17.5%
2007 cohort11.2%
2008 cohort11.7%
2009 cohort14.4%
2010 cohort16.3%
2011 cohort20.4%
2012 cohort25%
2013 cohort21.2%
2014 cohort18.8%
2015 cohort19%
2016 cohort17%
2017 cohort17.9%
2018 cohort13.1%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1991–2018

Median debt at exit (completers vs non-completers)

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

CompletedLeft without degree
$0$10k$20k$30kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $7,986Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $9,028Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $10,619Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $11,367Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $10,581Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $11,700Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $12,200Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $12,250Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $11,672Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $11,813Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $13,810Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $14,649Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $15,153Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $18,991Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $22,250Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $24,113Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $26,883Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $29,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $29,983Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $30,921Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $31,031Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $30,918Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $31,000$31,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $2,923Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $3,312Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $3,113Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $2,969Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $3,313Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $4,000Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $4,625Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $3,750Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $4,500Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $5,250Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $5,392Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $6,648Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $7,081Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $10,000Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $10,250Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $11,011Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $11,670Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $11,000Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $11,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $11,250$11,250 left
$0$10k$20k$30kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $7,500Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $7,986Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $9,028Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $10,619Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $11,367Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $10,581Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $11,700Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $12,200Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $12,250Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $11,672Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $11,813Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $13,810Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $14,649Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $15,153Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $18,991Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $22,250Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $24,113Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $26,883Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $29,500Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $29,983Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $30,921Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $31,031Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $30,918Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $31,000$31,000 completedLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): $2,625Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $2,923Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02): $3,312Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $3,113Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04): $2,969Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05): $3,313Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06): $4,000Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07): $4,625Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08): $3,750Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09): $4,500Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $5,500Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $5,250Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): $5,392Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): $6,648Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $7,081Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15): $10,000Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16): $10,250Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17): $11,011Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18): $11,670Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $11,000Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20): $11,000Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21): $11,250$11,250 left

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearCompletedLeft without degree
Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)$7,500$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 1998 and 1999 (FY1998/99)$7,986$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)$9,028$2,625
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)$10,619$2,923
Left school in fiscal years 2001 and 2002 (FY2001/02)$11,367$3,312
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)$10,581$3,113
Left school in fiscal years 2003 and 2004 (FY2003/04)$11,700$2,969
Left school in fiscal years 2004 and 2005 (FY2004/05)$12,200$3,313
Left school in fiscal years 2005 and 2006 (FY2005/06)$12,250$4,000
Left school in fiscal years 2006 and 2007 (FY2006/07)$11,672$4,625
Left school in fiscal years 2007 and 2008 (FY2007/08)$11,813$3,750
Left school in fiscal years 2008 and 2009 (FY2008/09)$13,810$4,500
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$14,649$5,500
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$15,153$5,250
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)$18,991$5,392
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)$22,250$6,648
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$24,113$7,081
Left school in fiscal years 2014 and 2015 (FY2014/15)$26,883$10,000
Left school in fiscal years 2015 and 2016 (FY2015/16)$29,500$10,250
Left school in fiscal years 2016 and 2017 (FY2016/17)$29,983$11,011
Left school in fiscal years 2017 and 2018 (FY2017/18)$30,921$11,670
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$31,031$11,000
Left school in fiscal years 2019 and 2020 (FY2019/20)$30,918$11,000
Left school in fiscal years 2020 and 2021 (FY2020/21)$31,000$11,250
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN / WDRAW_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$29,148
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$33,646
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$34,042
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Southern University at New Orleans admitted 5,149 of 6,526 applicants in Fall 2024. The 78.9% rate describes that application pool.

78.9%
acceptance rate · Fall 2024 admissions cycle
Test-optional (considered) · Fall 2024
400SAT range (section 25th/75th sums): 820–10501600

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

Southern University at New Orleans reported scores as considered but not required for the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. For Southern University at New Orleans’s enrolled SAT submitters, Reading and Writing was 410–540 and Math was 410–510 (25th–75th percentiles). The section-percentile sums 820–1050 are not composite-score percentiles. These are not admission cutoffs.

Check current requirements with admissions.

Score25th50th75th
SAT Reading & Writing410480540
SAT Math410430510
ACT Composite151720

25th / 75th: a quarter of enrolled submitters scored below the first number, a quarter above the second. These are not cutoffs.

Only students who submitted scores are counted — at test-optional schools, many enrolled students aren't in this table.

Percentiles are among enrolled students who submitted scores (Fall 2024 admissions cycle).

In the Fall 2024 cycle, Southern University at New Orleans received 6,526 applications and admitted 5,149 (78.9%), with 163 enrolling.

Acceptance rate

78.9%Fall 2024Skip to data table

The share of applicants offered a spot — lower means more selective; read it alongside the score ranges below.

20%40%60%80%100%201020242010: 48.9%2011: 20.2%2012: 17.4%2013: 48.9%2014: 20.7%2015: 21.4%2016: 11.5%2017: 24.7%2018: 30.1%2019: 60.3%2020: 72%2021: 79.3%2022: 93.5%2023: 60.2%2024: 78.9%78.9%
25%50%75%100%201020242010: 48.9%2011: 20.2%2012: 17.4%2013: 48.9%2014: 20.7%2015: 21.4%2016: 11.5%2017: 24.7%2018: 30.1%2019: 60.3%2020: 72%2021: 79.3%2022: 93.5%2023: 60.2%2024: 78.9%78.9%

Acceptance rate — data
YearAcceptance rate
Fall 201048.9%
Fall 201120.2%
Fall 201217.4%
Fall 201348.9%
Fall 201420.7%
Fall 201521.4%
Fall 201611.5%
Fall 201724.7%
Fall 201830.1%
Fall 201960.3%
Fall 202072%
Fall 202179.3%
Fall 202293.5%
Fall 202360.2%
Fall 202478.9%
IPEDS Fall cycles 2010–2024

SAT range (section sums, 25th–75th)

820–1050Fall 2024 · submittersSkip to data table

Sums of the reading/writing and math percentiles among enrolled submitters — not percentiles of total SAT scores or admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA600800100012002016 REDESIGN2013202420162013: 8402014: 6602015: 6052024: 8208202013: 12902014: 10102015: 8702024: 10501050
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA600800100012002016 REDESIGN2013202420162013: 8402014: 6602015: 6052024: 8208202013: 12902014: 10102015: 8702024: 10501050

SAT range (section sums) — data
Year25th75th
Fall 20138401290
Fall 20146601010
Fall 2015605870
Fall 20248201050
IPEDS Fall 2013–2024, submitters only

ACT middle 50%

15–20Fall 2024 · submittersSkip to data table

The middle half of enrolled ACT submitters, using published composite-score percentiles — not admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA14161820201020242010: 132011: 172012: 172013: 152014: 152015: 152016: 162017: 152018: 152019: 152020: 152022: 152023: 142024: 15152010: 162011: 202012: 202013: 182014: 182015: 182016: 192017: 182018: 182019: 182020: 182022: 182023: 182024: 2020
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA1520201020242010: 132011: 172012: 172013: 152014: 152015: 152016: 162017: 152018: 152019: 152020: 152022: 152023: 142024: 15152010: 162011: 202012: 202013: 182014: 182015: 182016: 192017: 182018: 182019: 182020: 182022: 182023: 182024: 2020

ACT middle 50% — data
Year25th75th
Fall 20101316
Fall 20111720
Fall 20121720
Fall 20131518
Fall 20141518
Fall 20151518
Fall 20161619
Fall 20171518
Fall 20181518
Fall 20191518
Fall 20201518
Fall 20221518
Fall 20231418
Fall 20241520
IPEDS Fall 2010–2024, submitters only

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

1,055Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

1k2k2k3k200220242002: 2,7962003: 2,7942004: 2,8242006: 1,7192007: 2,1332008: 2,4122009: 2,5192010: 2,5342011: 2,5982012: 2,1242013: 1,7822014: 1,6582015: 1,9102016: 1,7452017: 1,8992018: 1,7262019: 1,6902020: 1,4392021: 1,2932022: 1,1442023: 1,0952024: 1,0551,055
1k2k200220242002: 2,7962003: 2,7942004: 2,8242006: 1,7192007: 2,1332008: 2,4122009: 2,5192010: 2,5342011: 2,5982012: 2,1242013: 1,7822014: 1,6582015: 1,9102016: 1,7452017: 1,8992018: 1,7262019: 1,6902020: 1,4392021: 1,2932022: 1,1442023: 1,0952024: 1,0551,055

Undergraduate enrollment at Southern University at New Orleans fell from 1,719 (Fall 2006) to 1,055 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 20022,796
Fall 20032,794
Fall 20042,824
Fall 20061,719
Fall 20072,133
Fall 20082,412
Fall 20092,519
Fall 20102,534
Fall 20112,598
Fall 20122,124
Fall 20131,782
Fall 20141,658
Fall 20151,910
Fall 20161,745
Fall 20171,899
Fall 20181,726
Fall 20191,690
Fall 20201,439
Fall 20211,293
Fall 20221,144
Fall 20231,095
Fall 20241,055
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

52%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

30%40%50%60%200320232003: 49%2006: 40%2007: 43%2008: 47%2009: 48%2010: 47%2011: 61%2012: 52%2013: 56%2014: 57%2015: 47%2016: 52%2017: 48%2018: 52%2019: 42%2020: 32%2021: 46%2022: 48%2023: 52%52%2005: Fall 2005: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years
30%40%50%60%200320232003: 49%2006: 40%2007: 43%2008: 47%2009: 48%2010: 47%2011: 61%2012: 52%2013: 56%2014: 57%2015: 47%2016: 52%2017: 48%2018: 52%2019: 42%2020: 32%2021: 46%2022: 48%2023: 52%52%2005: Fall 2005: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years

First-year retention at Southern University at New Orleans rose from 40% (Fall 2006) to 52% (Fall 2023).

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2003 cohort49%
Fall 2005 cohort—
Fall 2006 cohort40%
Fall 2007 cohort43%
Fall 2008 cohort47%
Fall 2009 cohort48%
Fall 2010 cohort47%
Fall 2011 cohort61%
Fall 2012 cohort52%
Fall 2013 cohort56%
Fall 2014 cohort57%
Fall 2015 cohort47%
Fall 2016 cohort52%
Fall 2017 cohort48%
Fall 2018 cohort52%
Fall 2019 cohort42%
Fall 2020 cohort32%
Fall 2021 cohort46%
Fall 2022 cohort48%
Fall 2023 cohort52%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2003–2023
More about Southern University at New Orleans

Faculty pay at Southern University at New Orleans averages $82,776 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes Southern University at New Orleans as a primarily residential campus of 1,055 undergraduates — and 52% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

Southern University at New Orleans's SAT section-percentile sums are 820–1050 — their midpoint is below the LA four-year benchmark. These are not total-score percentiles. Put your own practice estimate on Southern University at New Orleans's range with the SAT calculator, or bring a saved GPA from the grade tools.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Southern University at New Orleans compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Acceptance rate

Fall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS

Southern University at New Orleans78.9%
Louisiana median77.7%
National median76.8%

Tuition (in-state)

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Southern University at New Orleans$8,054
Louisiana median$10,272
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Southern University at New Orleans's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Southern University at New Orleans$34,042
Louisiana median$47,477
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Southern University at New Orleans, Louisiana and national reference values
Metric & basisSouthern University at New OrleansLouisiana medianNational median
Acceptance rateFall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS78.9%77.7%76.8%
Tuition (in-state)Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$8,054$10,272$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$34,042$47,477$53,781

Published earnings by bachelor's field of study

For Southern University at New Orleans, these are federal subject groups (CIP), not departments. Median is the middle annual income.

Southern University at New Orleans federal-aid recipients · graduated 2017–18 or 2018–19 · income measured 2022 or 2023 · inflation-adjusted to 2024 dollars. Definitions and limits.

View 8 fields & earnings
Bachelor's field of study (CIP category)Median earnings, 4 yrs after completion
Social Work$49,709
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$47,390
Health and Medical Administrative Services$44,788
Criminal Justice and Corrections$44,723
Biology, General$44,350
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$44,226
Business Administration, Management and Operations$42,068
Psychology, General$39,139

These 8 fields listed for Southern University at New Orleans measure earnings after completion. The $34,042 institution-level snapshot above measures earnings after entry; it is not the same cohort or a total for these fields. 12 additional Southern University at New Orleans fields have earnings withheld under federal privacy rules.

Frequently asked questions

What test-score data does Southern University at New Orleans report?

Southern University at New Orleans's enrolled submitters had SAT section-percentile sums of 820–1050 in Fall 2024. These are not total-score percentiles or a GPA requirement.

What is Southern University at New Orleans's acceptance rate?

78.9% in the Fall 2024 cycle — 5,149 admitted from 6,526 applicants.

How much does Southern University at New Orleans cost?

In-state tuition is $8,054; out-of-state students pay $16,954. Fees, housing and aid move the real total in both directions.

What earnings data does Southern University at New Orleans report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $34,042. Major figures measure four years after completion. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in Louisiana

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Field-of-study cohort dates are shown with the table. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →