Skip to content

Colleges › New York › Jewish Theological Seminary of America

Jewish Theological Seminary of America

Jewish Theological Seminary of America is a private campus in New York proper — federal locale codes class it as urban. The school reports a Jewish affiliation in its federal filings.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$18,385
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
$26,934
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
$36,829
over $110k

Only three of the five income brackets were filed for the same year at Jewish Theological Seminary of America — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$43,1952023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$0$20k$40k200820232008: $13,6052009: $9,8772010: $24,8942011: $4,9322012: $7,0592013: $30,8922014: $35,7962015: $36,2252016: $43,2662017: $50,7942018: $40,1292019: $46,4762020: $34,8492021: $48,4022022: $29,7442023: $43,195$43,195
$0$20k$40k200820232008: $13,6052009: $9,8772010: $24,8942011: $4,9322012: $7,0592013: $30,8922014: $35,7962015: $36,2252016: $43,2662017: $50,7942018: $40,1292019: $46,4762020: $34,8492021: $48,4022022: $29,7442023: $43,195$43,195

Average net price at Jewish Theological Seminary of America rose from $13,605 (2008) to $43,195 (2023).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$13,605
2009$9,877
2010$24,894
2011$4,932
2012$7,059
2013$30,892
2014$35,796
2015$36,225
2016$43,266
2017$50,794
2018$40,129
2019$46,476
2020$34,849
2021$48,402
2022$29,744
2023$43,195
IPEDS 16 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$85,9452024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$40k$60k$80k200920242009: $31,5002010: $31,5002011: $32,4402012: $31,1502013: $32,1302014: $58,2782015: $62,6282016: $62,2742017: $72,1202018: $74,5042019: $75,0412020: $79,5122021: $70,1742022: $86,9642023: $80,5792024: $85,945$85,945
$40k$60k$80k200920242009: $31,5002010: $31,5002011: $32,4402012: $31,1502013: $32,1302014: $58,2782015: $62,6282016: $62,2742017: $72,1202018: $74,5042019: $75,0412020: $79,5122021: $70,1742022: $86,9642023: $80,5792024: $85,945$85,945

Total cost at Jewish Theological Seminary of America rose from $31,500 (2009) to $85,945 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$31,500
2010$31,500
2011$32,440
2012$31,150
2013$32,130
2014$58,278
2015$62,628
2016$62,274
2017$72,120
2018$74,504
2019$75,041
2020$79,512
2021$70,174
2022$86,964
2023$80,579
2024$85,945
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$20k$40k$60k200020232000: $8,8202001: $9,4402002: $10,1002003: $10,7002004: $11,3402005: $11,9002006: $13,3702007: $14,1402008: $15,0002013: $18,4602014: $19,3802015: $20,3402016: $52,6602017: $54,6842018: $56,7782019: $59,1122020: $58,7032021: $66,0642022: $68,3652023: $65,545$65,545
$20k$40k$60k200020232000: $8,8202001: $9,4402002: $10,1002003: $10,7002004: $11,3402005: $11,9002006: $13,3702007: $14,1402008: $15,0002013: $18,4602014: $19,3802015: $20,3402016: $52,6602017: $54,6842018: $56,7782019: $59,1122020: $58,7032021: $66,0642022: $68,3652023: $65,545$65,545

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2000$8,820
2001$9,440
2002$10,100
2003$10,700
2004$11,340
2005$11,900
2006$13,370
2007$14,140
2008$15,000
2013$18,460
2014$19,380
2015$20,340
2016$52,660
2017$54,684
2018$56,778
2019$59,112
2020$58,703
2021$66,064
2022$68,365
2023$65,545
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Jewish Theological Seminary of America reports published tuition of $67,357 in this record. Jewish Theological Seminary of America's $67,357 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Jewish Theological Seminary of America reports 172 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

90.3% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at Jewish Theological Seminary of America within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
90.3%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

40%60%80%100%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 43.5%entered 1992: 73.7%entered 1993: 64.3%entered 1994: 100%entered 1996: 74.5%entered 1997: 73.1%entered 1998: 75%entered 1999: 84.4%entered 2000: 94.4%entered 2001: 90.6%entered 2002: 87.8%entered 2003: 88.1%entered 2004: 88.1%entered 2005: 96.2%entered 2006: 90.7%entered 2007: 97.5%entered 2008: 78.3%entered 2009: 87.5%entered 2010: 75.5%entered 2011: 80.5%entered 2012: 81.6%entered 2013: 90.9%entered 2014: 89.5%entered 2015: 87.2%entered 2016: 81%entered 2017: 86.8%entered 2018: 90.3%90.3%
40%60%80%100%entered 1991entered 2018entered 1991: 43.5%entered 1992: 73.7%entered 1993: 64.3%entered 1994: 100%entered 1996: 74.5%entered 1997: 73.1%entered 1998: 75%entered 1999: 84.4%entered 2000: 94.4%entered 2001: 90.6%entered 2002: 87.8%entered 2003: 88.1%entered 2004: 88.1%entered 2005: 96.2%entered 2006: 90.7%entered 2007: 97.5%entered 2008: 78.3%entered 2009: 87.5%entered 2010: 75.5%entered 2011: 80.5%entered 2012: 81.6%entered 2013: 90.9%entered 2014: 89.5%entered 2015: 87.2%entered 2016: 81%entered 2017: 86.8%entered 2018: 90.3%90.3%

The six-year graduation rate at Jewish Theological Seminary of America rose from 74.5% (entered 1996) to 90.3% (entered 2018).

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
1991 cohort43.5%
1992 cohort73.7%
1993 cohort64.3%
1994 cohort100%
1996 cohort74.5%
1997 cohort73.1%
1998 cohort75%
1999 cohort84.4%
2000 cohort94.4%
2001 cohort90.6%
2002 cohort87.8%
2003 cohort88.1%
2004 cohort88.1%
2005 cohort96.2%
2006 cohort90.7%
2007 cohort97.5%
2008 cohort78.3%
2009 cohort87.5%
2010 cohort75.5%
2011 cohort80.5%
2012 cohort81.6%
2013 cohort90.9%
2014 cohort89.5%
2015 cohort87.2%
2016 cohort81%
2017 cohort86.8%
2018 cohort90.3%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 1991–2018

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2013–14 or 2014–15
$58,656
6 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$92,751
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Jewish Theological Seminary of America admitted 70 of 144 applicants in Fall 2024. The 48.6% rate describes that application pool.

48.6%
acceptance rate · Fall 2024 admissions cycle
Test-optional (considered) · Fall 2024
400SAT range (section 25th/75th sums): 1440–15801600

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

Jewish Theological Seminary of America reported scores as considered but not required for the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. For Jewish Theological Seminary of America’s enrolled SAT submitters, Reading and Writing was 720–790 and Math was 720–790 (25th–75th percentiles). The section-percentile sums 1440–1580 are not composite-score percentiles. These are not admission cutoffs.

Check current requirements with admissions.

Score25th50th75th
SAT Reading & Writing720750790
SAT Math720750790

25th / 75th: a quarter of enrolled submitters scored below the first number, a quarter above the second. These are not cutoffs.

Only students who submitted scores are counted — at test-optional schools, many enrolled students aren't in this table.

Percentiles are among enrolled students who submitted scores (Fall 2024 admissions cycle).

In the Fall 2024 cycle, Jewish Theological Seminary of America received 144 applications and admitted 70 (48.6%), with 41 enrolling.

Acceptance rate

48.6%Fall 2024Skip to data table

The share of applicants offered a spot — lower means more selective; read it alongside the score ranges below.

50%60%200120242001: 59.3%2002: 53.3%2003: 60.5%2004: 67.5%2005: 67.5%2006: 53.5%2007: 60.8%2008: 59.7%2009: 61.8%2010: 52.7%2011: 52.3%2012: 51.9%2013: 55%2014: 61.9%2015: 51.9%2016: 57.3%2017: 52.7%2018: 46.8%2019: 59.5%2020: 58.3%2021: 50.4%2022: 50.8%2023: 45.1%2024: 48.6%48.6%
50%60%200120242001: 59.3%2002: 53.3%2003: 60.5%2004: 67.5%2005: 67.5%2006: 53.5%2007: 60.8%2008: 59.7%2009: 61.8%2010: 52.7%2011: 52.3%2012: 51.9%2013: 55%2014: 61.9%2015: 51.9%2016: 57.3%2017: 52.7%2018: 46.8%2019: 59.5%2020: 58.3%2021: 50.4%2022: 50.8%2023: 45.1%2024: 48.6%48.6%

The share admitted at Jewish Theological Seminary of America declined from 59.3% to 48.6%; this does not establish why. This describes Fall 2001 to Fall 2024.

Acceptance rate — data
YearAcceptance rate
Fall 200159.3%
Fall 200253.3%
Fall 200360.5%
Fall 200467.5%
Fall 200567.5%
Fall 200653.5%
Fall 200760.8%
Fall 200859.7%
Fall 200961.8%
Fall 201052.7%
Fall 201152.3%
Fall 201251.9%
Fall 201355%
Fall 201461.9%
Fall 201551.9%
Fall 201657.3%
Fall 201752.7%
Fall 201846.8%
Fall 201959.5%
Fall 202058.3%
Fall 202150.4%
Fall 202250.8%
Fall 202345.1%
Fall 202448.6%
IPEDS Fall cycles 2001–2024

SAT range (section sums, 25th–75th)

1440–1580Fall 2024 · submittersSkip to data table

Sums of the reading/writing and math percentiles among enrolled submitters — not percentiles of total SAT scores or admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA120013001400150016002016 REDESIGN2003202420162003: 12852004: 12282005: 12282006: 12502007: 12802008: 12302009: 12602010: 12702011: 12502012: 12502013: 12452014: 12502015: 12902016: 12902017: 13202018: 13402019: 13432020: 13702021: 13462022: 14662023: 14402024: 144014402003: 14252004: 14332005: 14332006: 12802007: 14202008: 14202009: 13602010: 14302011: 14602012: 14602013: 14002014: 14502015: 14552016: 14152017: 14402018: 15202019: 14682020: 15402021: 14882022: 15382023: 15592024: 15801580
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA1200140016002016 REDESIGN2003202420162003: 12852004: 12282005: 12282006: 12502007: 12802008: 12302009: 12602010: 12702011: 12502012: 12502013: 12452014: 12502015: 12902016: 12902017: 13202018: 13402019: 13432020: 13702021: 13462022: 14662023: 14402024: 144014402003: 14252004: 14332005: 14332006: 12802007: 14202008: 14202009: 13602010: 14302011: 14602012: 14602013: 14002014: 14502015: 14552016: 14152017: 14402018: 15202019: 14682020: 15402021: 14882022: 15382023: 15592024: 15801580

SAT range (section sums) — data
Year25th75th
Fall 200312851425
Fall 200412281433
Fall 200512281433
Fall 200612501280
Fall 200712801420
Fall 200812301420
Fall 200912601360
Fall 201012701430
Fall 201112501460
Fall 201212501460
Fall 201312451400
Fall 201412501450
Fall 201512901455
Fall 201612901415
Fall 201713201440
Fall 201813401520
Fall 201913431468
Fall 202013701540
Fall 202113461488
Fall 202214661538
Fall 202314401559
Fall 202414401580
IPEDS Fall 2003–2024, submitters only

ACT middle 50%

33–35Fall 2023 · submittersSkip to data table

The middle half of enrolled ACT submitters, using published composite-score percentiles — not admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA253035200320232003: 282004: 252005: 252006: 292007: 292008: 272009: 302010: 282011: 292012: 292013: 302014: 272015: 282016: 282017: 292018: 302019: 302020: 322021: 322022: 332023: 33332003: 322004: 292005: 292006: 302007: 312008: 322009: 322010: 322011: 332012: 332013: 322014: 312015: 322016: 322017: 322018: 342019: 332020: 342021: 342022: 342023: 3535
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA253035200320232003: 282004: 252005: 252006: 292007: 292008: 272009: 302010: 282011: 292012: 292013: 302014: 272015: 282016: 282017: 292018: 302019: 302020: 322021: 322022: 332023: 33332003: 322004: 292005: 292006: 302007: 312008: 322009: 322010: 322011: 332012: 332013: 322014: 312015: 322016: 322017: 322018: 342019: 332020: 342021: 342022: 342023: 3535

ACT middle 50% — data
Year25th75th
Fall 20032832
Fall 20042529
Fall 20052529
Fall 20062930
Fall 20072931
Fall 20082732
Fall 20093032
Fall 20102832
Fall 20112933
Fall 20122933
Fall 20133032
Fall 20142731
Fall 20152832
Fall 20162832
Fall 20172932
Fall 20183034
Fall 20193033
Fall 20203234
Fall 20213234
Fall 20223334
Fall 20233335
IPEDS Fall 2003–2023, submitters only

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

172Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

140160180200200220242002: 1952003: 1862004: 1962005: 2052006: 1952007: 1802008: 1902009: 1772010: 1762011: 1702013: 1612014: 1562015: 1522016: 1562017: 1582018: 1462019: 1432020: 1322021: 1442022: 1492023: 1722024: 1721722012: Fall 2012: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years
125150175200200220242002: 1952003: 1862004: 1962005: 2052006: 1952007: 1802008: 1902009: 1772010: 1762011: 1702013: 1612014: 1562015: 1522016: 1562017: 1582018: 1462019: 1432020: 1322021: 1442022: 1492023: 1722024: 1721722012: Fall 2012: not shown — the filed value contradicts adjacent years

Undergraduate enrollment at Jewish Theological Seminary of America has wandered from Fall 2013 to Fall 2024 — up to 172 at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 172.

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 2002195
Fall 2003186
Fall 2004196
Fall 2005205
Fall 2006195
Fall 2007180
Fall 2008190
Fall 2009177
Fall 2010176
Fall 2011170
Fall 2012—
Fall 2013161
Fall 2014156
Fall 2015152
Fall 2016156
Fall 2017158
Fall 2018146
Fall 2019143
Fall 2020132
Fall 2021144
Fall 2022149
Fall 2023172
Fall 2024172
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

96%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

80%90%100%200220232002: 77%2003: 87%2004: 93%2005: 96%2006: 100%2007: 100%2008: 89%2009: 98%2010: 96%2011: 98%2012: 97%2013: 97%2014: 100%2015: 97%2016: 91%2017: 92%2018: 97%2019: 79%2020: 100%2021: 98%2022: 100%2023: 96%96%
80%90%100%200220232002: 77%2003: 87%2004: 93%2005: 96%2006: 100%2007: 100%2008: 89%2009: 98%2010: 96%2011: 98%2012: 97%2013: 97%2014: 100%2015: 97%2016: 91%2017: 92%2018: 97%2019: 79%2020: 100%2021: 98%2022: 100%2023: 96%96%

First-year retention at Jewish Theological Seminary of America rose from 77% (Fall 2002) to 96% (Fall 2023).

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2002 cohort77%
Fall 2003 cohort87%
Fall 2004 cohort93%
Fall 2005 cohort96%
Fall 2006 cohort100%
Fall 2007 cohort100%
Fall 2008 cohort89%
Fall 2009 cohort98%
Fall 2010 cohort96%
Fall 2011 cohort98%
Fall 2012 cohort97%
Fall 2013 cohort97%
Fall 2014 cohort100%
Fall 2015 cohort97%
Fall 2016 cohort91%
Fall 2017 cohort92%
Fall 2018 cohort97%
Fall 2019 cohort79%
Fall 2020 cohort100%
Fall 2021 cohort98%
Fall 2022 cohort100%
Fall 2023 cohort96%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2002–2023
More about Jewish Theological Seminary of America

Faculty pay at Jewish Theological Seminary of America averages $152,352 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes Jewish Theological Seminary of America as a primarily residential campus of 172 undergraduates — and 95.7% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

Jewish Theological Seminary of America's SAT section-percentile sums are 1440–1580 — their midpoint is above the NY four-year benchmark. These are not total-score percentiles. Put your own practice estimate on Jewish Theological Seminary of America's range with the SAT calculator, or bring a saved GPA from the grade tools.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Jewish Theological Seminary of America compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Acceptance rate

Fall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS

Jewish Theological Seminary of America48.6%
New York median70.1%
National median76.8%

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Jewish Theological Seminary of America$67,357
New York median$17,408
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Jewish Theological Seminary of America's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Jewish Theological Seminary of America$92,751
New York median$60,236
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Jewish Theological Seminary of America, New York and national reference values
Metric & basisJewish Theological Seminary of AmericaNew York medianNational median
Acceptance rateFall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS48.6%70.1%76.8%
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$67,357$17,408$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$92,751$60,236$53,781

Frequently asked questions

What test-score data does Jewish Theological Seminary of America report?

Jewish Theological Seminary of America's enrolled submitters had SAT section-percentile sums of 1440–1580 in Fall 2024. These are not total-score percentiles or a GPA requirement.

What is Jewish Theological Seminary of America's acceptance rate?

48.6% in the Fall 2024 cycle — 70 admitted from 144 applicants.

How much does Jewish Theological Seminary of America cost?

At Jewish Theological Seminary of America, tuition is $67,357. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Jewish Theological Seminary of America report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $92,751. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in New York

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →