Skip to content

Colleges › New York › Circle in the Square Theatre School

Circle in the Square Theatre School

Circle in the Square Theatre School is a private campus in New York proper — federal locale codes class it as urban. International students are a visible presence at Circle in the Square Theatre School — 20.5% of its 39 undergraduates come from outside the U.S.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$29,537
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only one of the five income brackets was filed for the same year at Circle in the Square Theatre School — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$28,0892023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$30k$40k200820232008: $23,2442009: $33,3872010: $33,5882011: $33,4082012: $35,0872013: $40,9402014: $37,9282015: $38,5392016: $40,8622017: $44,6402018: $38,8702019: $46,2982020: $47,4652021: $31,0302022: $29,5372023: $28,089$28,089
$30k$40k200820232008: $23,2442009: $33,3872010: $33,5882011: $33,4082012: $35,0872013: $40,9402014: $37,9282015: $38,5392016: $40,8622017: $44,6402018: $38,8702019: $46,2982020: $47,4652021: $31,0302022: $29,5372023: $28,089$28,089

Average net price at Circle in the Square Theatre School rose from $23,244 (2008) to $28,089 (2023).

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2008$23,244
2009$33,387
2010$33,588
2011$33,408
2012$35,087
2013$40,940
2014$37,928
2015$38,539
2016$40,862
2017$44,640
2018$38,870
2019$46,298
2020$47,465
2021$31,030
2022$29,537
2023$28,089
IPEDS 16 federal reports, 2008–2023

Total cost of attendance

$41,9902024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$35k$40k$45k200920242009: $33,1252010: $34,3752011: $35,1252012: $36,1252013: $38,5752014: $40,9402015: $39,8452016: $40,8202017: $41,6902018: $44,6402019: $46,2652020: $46,7652021: $47,4652022: $41,5152023: $42,5002024: $41,990$41,990
$35k$40k$45k200920242009: $33,1252010: $34,3752011: $35,1252012: $36,1252013: $38,5752014: $40,9402015: $39,8452016: $40,8202017: $41,6902018: $44,6402019: $46,2652020: $46,7652021: $47,4652022: $41,5152023: $42,5002024: $41,990$41,990

Total cost at Circle in the Square Theatre School rose from $33,125 (2009) to $41,990 (2024).

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2009$33,125
2010$34,375
2011$35,125
2012$36,125
2013$38,575
2014$40,940
2015$39,845
2016$40,820
2017$41,690
2018$44,640
2019$46,265
2020$46,765
2021$47,465
2022$41,515
2023$42,500
2024$41,990
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2009–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$10k$15k$20k$25k200020232000: $8,2502001: $8,3502002: $8,5002003: $8,7502004: $9,6502005: $10,0002006: $10,0002007: $10,5252008: $10,5252013: $14,5402014: $15,5402015: $16,0402016: $17,0402017: $17,5402018: $18,0402019: $18,5402020: $19,5402021: $21,5402022: $22,5652023: $24,085$24,085
$10k$15k$20k$25k200020232000: $8,2502001: $8,3502002: $8,5002003: $8,7502004: $9,6502005: $10,0002006: $10,0002007: $10,5252008: $10,5252013: $14,5402014: $15,5402015: $16,0402016: $17,0402017: $17,5402018: $18,0402019: $18,5402020: $19,5402021: $21,5402022: $22,5652023: $24,085$24,085

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2000$8,250
2001$8,350
2002$8,500
2003$8,750
2004$9,650
2005$10,000
2006$10,000
2007$10,525
2008$10,525
2013$14,540
2014$15,540
2015$16,040
2016$17,040
2017$17,540
2018$18,040
2019$18,540
2020$19,540
2021$21,540
2022$22,565
2023$24,085
IPEDS Published price 2000–01 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

Circle in the Square Theatre School reports published tuition of $25,610 in this record. Circle in the Square Theatre School's $25,610 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

Circle in the Square Theatre School reports 39 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Median debt at exit

Historical student groups
key chart
Skip to data table

Median federal student loan debt when students left school, shown separately for those who completed and those who did not.

$10k$12k$14k$16k$18kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $12,125Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $10,100Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $13,250Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $18,000Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $14,667Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $16,000Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $12,000$12,000Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)
$10k$13k$15k$18kLeft school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98): $12,125Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01): $10,100Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03): $13,250Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10): $18,000Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11): $14,667Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14): $16,000Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19): $12,000$12,000Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13): not shown — below the federal reporting threshold (30 borrowers)

Each point combines two years. Neighboring points share one year, so changes should be read with that overlap in mind.

These two-year windows closed before today's students borrowed — they describe past cohorts, not the current price of a degree.

Median debt at exit — data
YearMedian debt
Left school in fiscal years 1997 and 1998 (FY1997/98)$12,125
Left school in fiscal years 1999 and 2000 (FY1999/00)—
Left school in fiscal years 2000 and 2001 (FY2000/01)$10,100
Left school in fiscal years 2002 and 2003 (FY2002/03)$13,250
Left school in fiscal years 2009 and 2010 (FY2009/10)$18,000
Left school in fiscal years 2010 and 2011 (FY2010/11)$14,667
Left school in fiscal years 2011 and 2012 (FY2011/12)—
Left school in fiscal years 2012 and 2013 (FY2012/13)—
Left school in fiscal years 2013 and 2014 (FY2013/14)$16,000
Left school in fiscal years 2018 and 2019 (FY2018/19)$12,000
NSLDS GRAD_DEBT_MDN, merged FY periods · via College Scorecard

Earnings after entry

Historical student groups

Median annual earnings after entering college, for federally aided students who were working and not enrolled when measured.

Entered: academic years 2011–12 or 2012–13
$27,696
8 years after entry
Entered: academic years 2009–10 or 2010–11
$39,899
10 years after entry

Each figure covers a different group of students who entered college in the stated years. Earnings were measured in the same two years; these are not one group followed over time.

Measured in 2020–21, adjusted for inflation to 2022 dollars. Each figure pools two entering academic years.

Treasury Pooled entering cohorts · Scorecard 2020–21 historical file

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

Circle in the Square Theatre School admitted 81 of 1,012 applicants in Fall 2024. The 8% rate describes that application pool.

8%
acceptance rate · Fall 2024 admissions cycle
Tests not considered · Fall 2024

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

Circle in the Square Theatre School did not consider scores in the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. No score range is displayed for Circle in the Square Theatre School under that historical policy.

Check current requirements with admissions.

In the Fall 2024 cycle, Circle in the Square Theatre School received 1,012 applications and admitted 81 (8%), with 4 enrolling.

Acceptance rate

8%Fall 2024Skip to data table

The share of applicants offered a spot — lower means more selective; read it alongside the score ranges below.

0%25%50%75%100%200220242002: 100%2003: 9.2%2004: 22.8%2005: 30.6%2006: 22.9%2007: 32.4%2008: 29.6%2009: 34.2%2010: 26.8%2011: 52.2%2012: 53.5%2013: 93.1%2014: 87.2%2015: 63.3%2016: 50%2017: 52.2%2018: 38.5%2019: 66.7%2020: 12.1%2021: 33.3%2022: 10.6%2023: 3.8%2024: 8%8%
0%50%100%200220242002: 100%2003: 9.2%2004: 22.8%2005: 30.6%2006: 22.9%2007: 32.4%2008: 29.6%2009: 34.2%2010: 26.8%2011: 52.2%2012: 53.5%2013: 93.1%2014: 87.2%2015: 63.3%2016: 50%2017: 52.2%2018: 38.5%2019: 66.7%2020: 12.1%2021: 33.3%2022: 10.6%2023: 3.8%2024: 8%8%

Circle in the Square Theatre School's admission rate fell from 100% to 8%. The rate alone cannot explain the change. This describes Fall 2002 to Fall 2024.

Acceptance rate — data
YearAcceptance rate
Fall 2002100%
Fall 20039.2%
Fall 200422.8%
Fall 200530.6%
Fall 200622.9%
Fall 200732.4%
Fall 200829.6%
Fall 200934.2%
Fall 201026.8%
Fall 201152.2%
Fall 201253.5%
Fall 201393.1%
Fall 201487.2%
Fall 201563.3%
Fall 201650%
Fall 201752.2%
Fall 201838.5%
Fall 201966.7%
Fall 202012.1%
Fall 202133.3%
Fall 202210.6%
Fall 20233.8%
Fall 20248%
IPEDS Fall cycles 2002–2024

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

39Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

20406080100200220242002: 912003: 942004: 962005: 952006: 872007: 882008: 922009: 922010: 882011: 902012: 782013: 782014: 692015: 592016: 642017: 602018: 482019: 362020: 252021: 352022: 432023: 502024: 3939
255075100200220242002: 912003: 942004: 962005: 952006: 872007: 882008: 922009: 922010: 882011: 902012: 782013: 782014: 692015: 592016: 642017: 602018: 482019: 362020: 252021: 352022: 432023: 502024: 3939

Undergraduate enrollment at Circle in the Square Theatre School fell from 91 (Fall 2002) to 39 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 200291
Fall 200394
Fall 200496
Fall 200595
Fall 200687
Fall 200788
Fall 200892
Fall 200992
Fall 201088
Fall 201190
Fall 201278
Fall 201378
Fall 201469
Fall 201559
Fall 201664
Fall 201760
Fall 201848
Fall 201936
Fall 202025
Fall 202135
Fall 202243
Fall 202350
Fall 202439
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2002–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

100%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

70%80%90%100%200220232002: 79%2003: 90%2004: 80%2005: 72%2006: 80%2007: 100%2008: 81%2009: 81%2010: 75%2011: 85%2012: 85%2013: 79%2014: 83%2015: 71%2016: 100%2017: 88%2018: 100%2019: 67%2020: 100%2021: 100%2022: 100%2023: 100%100%
70%80%90%100%200220232002: 79%2003: 90%2004: 80%2005: 72%2006: 80%2007: 100%2008: 81%2009: 81%2010: 75%2011: 85%2012: 85%2013: 79%2014: 83%2015: 71%2016: 100%2017: 88%2018: 100%2019: 67%2020: 100%2021: 100%2022: 100%2023: 100%100%

First-year retention at Circle in the Square Theatre School rose from 79% (Fall 2002) to 100% (Fall 2023).

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2002 cohort79%
Fall 2003 cohort90%
Fall 2004 cohort80%
Fall 2005 cohort72%
Fall 2006 cohort80%
Fall 2007 cohort100%
Fall 2008 cohort81%
Fall 2009 cohort81%
Fall 2010 cohort75%
Fall 2011 cohort85%
Fall 2012 cohort85%
Fall 2013 cohort79%
Fall 2014 cohort83%
Fall 2015 cohort71%
Fall 2016 cohort100%
Fall 2017 cohort88%
Fall 2018 cohort100%
Fall 2019 cohort67%
Fall 2020 cohort100%
Fall 2021 cohort100%
Fall 2022 cohort100%
Fall 2023 cohort100%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2002–2023
More about Circle in the Square Theatre School

10% of Circle in the Square Theatre School's undergraduates carry Pell grants — the standard federal marker of lower-income enrollment.

Circle in the Square Theatre School reported not considering test scores in Fall 2024, when its admission rate was 8%. Review Circle in the Square Theatre School's current requirements before applying; use the GPA calculator for your semester numbers.

Circle in the Square Theatre School is a two-year institution — degrees run to the associate level — and Circle in the Square Theatre School's page reads accordingly: admissions, cost, and outcomes.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How Circle in the Square Theatre School compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Acceptance rate

Fall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS

Circle in the Square Theatre School8%
New York median70.1%
National median76.8%

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

Circle in the Square Theatre School$25,610
New York median$17,408
National median$19,591

Median earnings (10 yr)

Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot

Circle in the Square Theatre School's snapshot: calendar years and dollar basis unverified.

Circle in the Square Theatre School$39,899
New York median$60,236
National median$53,781
View comparison data & dates
Circle in the Square Theatre School, New York and national reference values
Metric & basisCircle in the Square Theatre SchoolNew York medianNational median
Acceptance rateFall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS8%70.1%76.8%
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$25,610$17,408$19,591
Median earnings (10 yr)Ten years after entry · Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot$39,899$60,236$53,781

Frequently asked questions

What test-score data does Circle in the Square Theatre School report?

Circle in the Square Theatre School did not consider scores in Fall 2024: 8% admitted. Check current requirements.

What is Circle in the Square Theatre School's acceptance rate?

8% in the Fall 2024 cycle — 81 admitted from 1,012 applicants.

How much does Circle in the Square Theatre School cost?

At Circle in the Square Theatre School, tuition is $25,610. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

What earnings data does Circle in the Square Theatre School report?

Median earnings ten years after entry: $39,899. Source and date limits.

Similar colleges in New York

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →