Skip to content

Colleges › South Carolina › American College of the Building Arts

American College of the Building Arts

American College of the Building Arts is a private campus in Charleston proper — federal locale codes class it as urban.

Compare this schoolFind colleges

What could it cost?

Start with net price after grants, then read the published costs. Each chart names its academic year and the students it covers.

Net price by family income (partial)

key chart

Average annual cost after grants for each family-income band. These group averages are not personal price quotes.

IPEDS Income brackets, 2022–23
family-income band
$26,389
family income
under $30k
not reported
$30–48k
not reported
$48–75k
not reported
$75–110k
not reported
over $110k

Only one of the five income brackets was filed for the same year at American College of the Building Arts — this isn't a full distribution.

Average net price

$30,4032023–24Skip to data table

Average annual attendance cost after grants for the reported student group. Your own aid offer and costs may differ.

$26k$27k$28k$29k$30k201920232019: $29,8262020: $28,8802021: $29,5792022: $26,3892023: $30,403$30,403
$26k$28k$30k201920232019: $29,8262020: $28,8802021: $29,5792022: $26,3892023: $30,403$30,403

Average net price at American College of the Building Arts has held near $30,403 from 2019 to 2023.

Average net price — data
YearNet price
2019$29,826
2020$28,880
2021$29,579
2022$26,389
2023$30,403
IPEDS 5 federal reports, 2019–2023

Total cost of attendance

$38,0732024–25Skip to data table

Estimated annual attendance budget before grants, including tuition, fees, housing, food and books. Not every expense is billed by the school.

$32k$34k$36k$38k202020242020: $37,3842021: $32,0532022: $36,0672023: $38,9842024: $38,073$38,073
$33k$35k$38k202020242020: $37,3842021: $32,0532022: $36,0672023: $38,9842024: $38,073$38,073

Total cost at American College of the Building Arts has held near $38,073 from 2020 to 2024.

Total cost of attendance — data
YearCost
2020$37,384
2021$32,053
2022$36,067
2023$38,984
2024$38,073
IPEDS Academic-year cost 2020–2024

Tuition & fees

Skip to data table

Published tuition and fees before grants. Housing, food, books and other attendance costs are separate.

$19k$20k$21k$22k201920232019: $20,5722020: $20,5722021: $20,5722022: $20,5722023: $20,572$20,572
$19k$20k$21k$22k201920232019: $20,5722020: $20,5722021: $20,5722022: $20,5722023: $20,572$20,572

Tuition & fees — data
YearTuition & fees
2019$20,572
2020$20,572
2021$20,572
2022$20,572
2023$20,572
IPEDS Published price 2019–20 to 2023–24 (not adjusted for inflation)
Cost, size & completion summary

Cost, size & completion

American College of the Building Arts reports published tuition of $21,500 in this record. American College of the Building Arts's $21,500 tuition excludes other attendance costs; aid can reduce the bill. Scorecard snapshot: 2026-06-10; historical charts show their own years.

American College of the Building Arts reports 155 undergraduates. This count does not measure class size or advising access.

62.1% of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants completed at American College of the Building Arts within six years (2026-06-10 release). This measure excludes other student groups.

Do students finish — and what comes after?

Graduation, debt and earnings cover different groups. Read each chart's entering class or fiscal period; they are not one group's journey.

Six-year graduation rate

key chart
62.1%entered Fall 2018Skip to data table

The share of first-time, full-time bachelor's entrants who completed at this institution within six years. Other students are not included.

55%60%65%entered 2013entered 2018entered 2013: 66.7%entered 2014: 66.7%entered 2015: 55.2%entered 2016: 53.3%entered 2017: 64%entered 2018: 62.1%62.1%
55%60%65%entered 2013entered 2018entered 2013: 66.7%entered 2014: 66.7%entered 2015: 55.2%entered 2016: 53.3%entered 2017: 64%entered 2018: 62.1%62.1%

The six-year graduation rate at American College of the Building Arts has wandered from Fall 2013 to Fall 2018 entering cohorts — up to 66.7% at the peak — but ends near where it began, at 62.1%.

A six-year rate can only describe a class that entered six or more years ago — by definition the last point on the line is that old.

Six-year graduation rate — data
YearGraduated within 6 yrs
2013 cohort66.7%
2014 cohort66.7%
2015 cohort55.2%
2016 cohort53.3%
2017 cohort64%
2018 cohort62.1%
IPEDS Entering cohorts 2013–2018

What does the admissions record show?

Rates and score ranges describe a past admissions cycle. Submitted scores are not cutoffs or a prediction of admission.

Admissions snapshot & test policies

American College of the Building Arts admitted 56 of 126 applicants in Fall 2024. The 44.4% rate describes that application pool.

44.4%
acceptance rate · Fall 2024 admissions cycle
Test-optional (considered) · Fall 2024
400SAT range (section 25th/75th sums): 1130–12901600

Not sure where you stand? Estimate your GPA →

Admissions

American College of the Building Arts reported scores as considered but not required for the Fall 2024 admissions cycle. For American College of the Building Arts’s enrolled SAT submitters, Reading and Writing was 560–640 and Math was 570–650 (25th–75th percentiles). The section-percentile sums 1130–1290 are not composite-score percentiles. These are not admission cutoffs.

Check current requirements with admissions.

Score25th50th75th
SAT Reading & Writing560590640
SAT Math570600650
ACT Composite202427

25th / 75th: a quarter of enrolled submitters scored below the first number, a quarter above the second. These are not cutoffs.

Only students who submitted scores are counted — at test-optional schools, many enrolled students aren't in this table.

Percentiles are among enrolled students who submitted scores (Fall 2024 admissions cycle).

In the Fall 2024 cycle, American College of the Building Arts received 126 applications and admitted 56 (44.4%), with 53 enrolling.

Acceptance rate

44.4%Fall 2024Skip to data table

The share of applicants offered a spot — lower means more selective; read it alongside the score ranges below.

40%60%80%2019202420202021: 89.9%2022: 76.7%2023: 62.1%2024: 44.4%44.4%2019: Fall 2019: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2020: Fall 2020: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)
40%60%80%201920242021: 89.9%2022: 76.7%2023: 62.1%2024: 44.4%44.4%2019: Fall 2019: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)2020: Fall 2020: not shown — cohort under 30 (federal suppression threshold)

The share admitted at American College of the Building Arts declined from 89.9% to 44.4%; this does not establish why. This describes Fall 2021 to Fall 2024.

Acceptance rate — data
YearAcceptance rate
Fall 2019—
Fall 2020—
Fall 202189.9%
Fall 202276.7%
Fall 202362.1%
Fall 202444.4%
IPEDS Fall cycles 2019–2024

SAT range (section sums, 25th–75th)

1130–1290Fall 2024 · submittersSkip to data table

Sums of the reading/writing and math percentiles among enrolled submitters — not percentiles of total SAT scores or admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA1000110012001300201920242019: 10402020: 9962021: 10302022: 10432023: 10502024: 113011302019: 12002020: 12262021: 12102022: 11952023: 12302024: 12901290
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA1000110012001300201920242019: 10402020: 9962021: 10302022: 10432023: 10502024: 113011302019: 12002020: 12262021: 12102022: 11952023: 12302024: 12901290

SAT range (section sums) — data
Year25th75th
Fall 201910401200
Fall 20209961226
Fall 202110301210
Fall 202210431195
Fall 202310501230
Fall 202411301290
IPEDS Fall 2019–2024, submitters only

ACT middle 50%

20–27Fall 2024 · submittersSkip to data table

The middle half of enrolled ACT submitters, using published composite-score percentiles — not admission cutoffs.

TEST-OPTIONAL ERA15202530201920242019: 162020: 192021: 212022: 212023: 182024: 20202019: 202020: 292021: 262022: 242023: 262024: 2727
TEST-OPTIONAL ERA15202530201920242019: 162020: 192021: 212022: 212023: 182024: 20202019: 202020: 292021: 262022: 242023: 262024: 2727

ACT middle 50% — data
Year25th75th
Fall 20191620
Fall 20201929
Fall 20212126
Fall 20222124
Fall 20231826
Fall 20242027
IPEDS Fall 2019–2024, submitters only

What is the campus like?

Enrollment counts a campus population; retention follows first-years returning. Their dates and populations are shown separately.

Undergraduate enrollment

155Fall 2024Skip to data table

Reported undergraduate enrollment. This count does not measure class size or teaching access.

100120140160201920242019: 942020: 932021: 1212022: 1412023: 1402024: 155155
100120140160201920242019: 942020: 932021: 1212022: 1412023: 1402024: 155155

Undergraduate enrollment at American College of the Building Arts rose from 94 (Fall 2019) to 155 (Fall 2024).

Undergraduate enrollment — data
YearUndergraduates
Fall 201994
Fall 202093
Fall 2021121
Fall 2022141
Fall 2023140
Fall 2024155
IPEDS Fall headcounts 2019–2024

First-year retention (full-time)

75%Fall 2023 cohortSkip to data table

The share of the reported first-time student group who returned the following year. This rate does not explain why others left.

60%70%80%90%100%201820232018: 64%2019: 60%2020: 73%2021: 80%2022: 100%2023: 75%75%
60%80%100%201820232018: 64%2019: 60%2020: 73%2021: 80%2022: 100%2023: 75%75%

First-year retention at American College of the Building Arts rose from 64% (Fall 2018) to 75% (Fall 2023).

First-year retention — data
YearRetention
Fall 2018 cohort64%
Fall 2019 cohort60%
Fall 2020 cohort73%
Fall 2021 cohort80%
Fall 2022 cohort100%
Fall 2023 cohort75%
IPEDS Full-time cohorts 2018–2023
More about American College of the Building Arts

Faculty pay at American College of the Building Arts averages $106,152 a year, annualized from reported monthly pay. Carnegie classes American College of the Building Arts as a primarily nonresidential campus — most of its 155 undergraduates live off campus, and 75% of the reported first-time, full-time student group returned for a second year.

American College of the Building Arts's SAT section-percentile sums are 1130–1290 — their midpoint is above the SC four-year benchmark. These are not total-score percentiles. Put your own practice estimate on American College of the Building Arts's range with the SAT calculator, or bring a saved GPA from the grade tools.

Why some charts are marked “key chart”
key chart

Start with three useful questions: what costs were reported for families in your income band, how many first-time full-time students finished, and what federal debt borrowers held when leaving.

How American College of the Building Arts compares

State and national medians cover active bachelor-primary institutions, mixing public and private schools. Tuition uses in-state rates at public schools. These are broad reference points, not a ranking of similar schools or your likely bill.

Scorecard dates identify the release snapshot, not a shared measurement year. Earnings describe federally aided students who were working and not enrolled ten years after entry; cohorts and populations differ from the admissions and tuition figures.

Acceptance rate

Fall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS

American College of the Building Arts44.4%
South Carolina median72.5%
National median76.8%

Tuition

Scorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid

American College of the Building Arts$21,500
South Carolina median$17,440
National median$19,591
View comparison data & dates
American College of the Building Arts, South Carolina and national reference values
Metric & basisAmerican College of the Building ArtsSouth Carolina medianNational median
Acceptance rateFall 2024 admissions cycle · IPEDS44.4%72.5%76.8%
TuitionScorecard 2026-06-10 snapshot · published tuition before aid$21,500$17,440$19,591

Frequently asked questions

What test-score data does American College of the Building Arts report?

American College of the Building Arts's enrolled submitters had SAT section-percentile sums of 1130–1290 in Fall 2024. These are not total-score percentiles or a GPA requirement.

What is American College of the Building Arts's acceptance rate?

44.4% in the Fall 2024 cycle — 56 admitted from 126 applicants.

How much does American College of the Building Arts cost?

At American College of the Building Arts, tuition is $21,500. Tuition is not the total cost of attendance; aid can reduce your bill.

Similar colleges in South Carolina

Run your own numbers

Data: IPEDS ADM2024 (Fall 2024 admissions, provisional) · IPEDS HD2024/IC2024 directory · College Scorecard 2026-06-10 release (institution and field-of-study files; earnings from Treasury records). Retrieved 2026-09-01. Chart dates follow this institution's available observations; the release date is not an academic year or an earnings year. Some records end earlier than others. Read the date and population definitions.

Find schools by the numbers →